My Favourite Winter Foods

@ecency-star released a post, asking us to write about our favourite winter foods, so I thought it'd be cool to write down a couple of things I like to have around Christmas.

Here's The Post If You'd Like To Check It Out And Get Involved.



Source


My Favourite Meal
So, around this time of year, it's usually cold, and in this climate, starchy foods are a good one to go for. While this winter hasn't been as cold in Ireland as most of them are, it's still a darn sight colder than the summer - even though it was fairly wet and miserable.

Christmas dinner is the big one, and being a week to Christmas Eve, I can almost taste it. Roast dinners aren't something we really do that often, maybe once every month or so.

Every Christmas we get together, and for each one, up till now, I've gone to my partner's house on Christmas Eve to exchange presents and hang out with her family before going back home. Then we usually meet up on St. Stephens Day

This Christmas will be different though, as we opted to split to holiday between both of our families, especially since it's the baby's first one and everyone would like to see him. So, this year we'll be spending time in her family home and staying here Christmas Eve, then we'll go to my family home on Christmas day in the afternoon. It'll be nice having dinner together, and it's a lot of fun being able to have a few drinks while everyone lends a hand preparing the meal.

There's plenty of prep that goes into things like the veg, and ensuring that it all gets peeled, chopped, and cooked at the same time so everything comes out together.

The meal is great, especially since it's laid out in a way that people can help themselves to more of certain things they prefer. The main thing I like about this meal though, is the social aspect of it, where everyone sits/ stands around the kitchen, with some music in the background while having some fun.


Mince Pies


Souce

As a dessert, or treat, I like having some mince pies, they only really come out around Christmas, so it's definitely one to add to this list. They're filled with dried fruits, and sometimes brandy, rum, or cognac.

Nobody else in my household actually likes them, but around Christmas time if my dad is down in the shop he'll pick up a small box of them and over the course of a week I'll snack on them. Usually, you can get 12 in a box, but I wouldn't be able to eat them all by myself, so usually a box of 6 is the best option.

You can heat them up too and have a bit of cream with them, which enhances it a bit and makes it really nice. But, typically I'd just have them as they are from the pack.

They remind me of being in my nan's house as a kid around this time of year.


Baby Guinness


Source

On the drinks menu, this is one of my favourites. While I do occasionally have one of these at other times of the year, they taste much nicer in the winter.

It's a shot, Tia Maria makes up the majority of the drink, but using a spoon flipped upside down you can pour Baileys into the shot carefully which settles on top of the Tia Maria creating what looks to be a small glass of Guinness, hence the name.

I remember last year, a bunch of us were down in the pub having a few drinks and near the end of the night, I decided to go and get some shots in. Sure enough, while carrying the tray, I realised how drunk I was and staggered just as I got to the table. One shot spilt onto the tray, but I dished the other ones out to the others. Using a straw - and I'm not proud of this - I drank my shot out of the filthy old tray. Want not, waste not. Under any other circumstances, I would have passed on that one, but in my state of mind, I didn't care.

Speaking of Bailey's, I got a bottle for 12 Euros yesterday and think I'll have a cheeky glass later, with a few ice cubes to get it nice and cold.


They're a few of my favourite things to have around this time of year, and have been - can't wait to - enjoy these foods and drinks as the big day approaches.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency