My Favourite Summer Drink: Pina Colada

A few days ago, @ecency-star released a prompt asking us to write about our favourite summer drink, I actually have more than one, so I think I'll mention the summer drink of choice, and then the alternative to that if the first isn't an option.

RULES

❗Read the rules very CAREFULLY!

Create the post in the Ecency Support Community

The post should be at least 100 words length

Share the link to that post in your entry

Use the hashtags #ecencycontest, foodie

Comment on this post with the link to your entry

Only 1 entry per person

No plagiarism!

❗❗❗ DEADLINE: July 7 ❗❗❗

Here's The Post If You'd Like To Get Involved.



Source


Pina Colada
I don't know what it is about them, but I've never really been a fan of cocktails. While there are a couple I've had and liked, most of them taste too weird. I have always wanted to branch out and give a few of them a chance, but the average price of one in the pub is anywhere from 8 - 10 Euros, so I can't justify going out on a whim and trying one that I've never had before. However, there is one that I get if I ever see it on the menu.

My sister, who hasn't posted or been here since posting her intro @karazard used to manage a small bar here in our hometown, it could seat about 40 - 50 people and was situated upstairs in a pretty popular pub. She had a few taps for pints, but the main draw for this place was the cocktails, made from scratch in front of you. They were pretty reasonably priced, and there was such a vast selection of them. I didn't go wild trying many, but I did get a Pina Colada from her, and my god, it was so nice and well worth the money.

It was so easy to drink, so I found that I had to be really careful with them because before you know it you're drunk, on what essentially tasted like drinking tropical juice with a kick. She stopped working there when we went into lockdown and after all was said and done, she never returned to the place, mainly because management decided that instead of making the cocktails from scratch they would buy pre-made ones and sell them instead, while charging the same price.

After that, we all got into making our own, and while it is expensive for all of the ingredients, it is well worth the money and can liven up any party haha, there was a bit of a stigma about drinking these fruity drinks, and some of the lads would give a weird stare at these flamboyant beverages.

I couldn't care less about the looks though, because it's the nicest drink I've ever had.



Source


The Close Contender
When Pina Colada isn't on the menu and it is a sweltering day, the only option is - and the best way to quench an unquenchable thirst - an ice-cold pint of lager.

My drink of choice is Heineken, while it gets a bad rap from the more sophisticated beer connoisseurs, I love it. I don't think it tastes like a dirty wheely bin, and another thing, it doesn't give me a hangover.

If I drink Budweiser - which is muck - I get a banging headache. The same goes for Carlsberg. I don't know what it is about those two, but after drinking them I wake up feeling rough.

Heineken all the way, extra points if it's in a bottle. There's just something about the crisp taste while sitting in the back garden, or the beer garden of a pub. When I buy a few, I always go for bottles. Cans are great and all, but I've had a few too many fag butts hiding in the cans to enjoy them anymore. There is nothing as horrible as a soggy broken-up skin and loose tobacco swirling around your mouth, a traumatic event made even worse when the can is almost full, and it's three times worse if the party is still going and you're limited on drink.



Source


They're my choices anyway, Pina Coladas or an ice-cold pint - or bottle - of Heinomite.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency