What counts as sustainable practices in our day-to-day life?

nature-7038455_640.jpg

Radical environmentalists always push back on a lot of things that they say cause harm to the environment. I still haven't seen an interesting environmentalist who I would like to listen to as he/she takes a deeper dive into these issues to discuss what's going on, what's going wrong, and the things that have to be done to make the environment happy.

What I know for a fact is that I've done my research to know what counts as good practice in our day-to-day lives so we won't end up causing harm to the environment. What would those practices be? I may be wrong, but I've been doing some things and cutting down on some other things in my attempt to play a part in making my environment sustainable for me, for those living in it, and for the next generations who would live in it.

Anyone who pays attention would notice that there have been claims by radical environmentalists about the coming of an environmental apocalypse. Is that the truth or are they making these things up to make themselves feel relevant? I know nothing about that. However, what I know is that the climate change that we are experiencing right now isn't exactly tilting in a favorable direction.

Over here in Nigeria, we've been facing an unreal level of heat since January. Some say "Nigeria has always been a hot weather country". Well, y'all are on point about that. However, the level of heat we are feeling right now is the highest I've experienced since I was born.

So, I'm not yet fully convinced about the message that the extremists send on the environmental apocalypse front. However, it doesn't stop me from doing what I consider to be right in my attempt to make my environment sustainable.


Some things I do to make my environment sustainable;

1. Treating water as a precious resource: I've been lucky or maybe unlucky to have lived across several parts of Nigeria where water scarcity was the order of the day. Right from the place I grew up, we usually had to go buy water from places that have water pumping machines. Back then in Anambra, we paid #5 to get a gallon of water. Fast forward to right now in 2024, I've been paying #150 for a gallon of water since January.

tap-2809040_640.jpg

People who haven't experienced water scarcity would be very quick to waste water, but I've had to be very economical with the way I use water. I remember going to the beach at some point last year and I couldn't stop wondering why water is so scarce in some parts of the Country. A little bit of rainfall will always help, right? This has also made me have more appreciation for rain whenever it's raining.

2. Proper Waste Management: I read that a complete avoidance of plastic is important. It's also said that nylon materials are not good for the environment. To be honest with you, I can't get away with not using any of those in my part of the world. The only drinkable water that I can take over here is sachet water which is packaged in a transparent nylon material. The alternative to that would be bottled water which I take when I'm outdoors or travelling. That too is packaged in plastics.

The whole "ban plastic" campaign wouldn't fly at this very moment in my part of the world. What I do on my part is to make sure I don't litter my environment with any of these materials. I have a disposable waste basket in my home and I always throw it out, at least 4 times each week. This makes my environment clean, makes the air safe, and keeps germs far away.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop or comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Pixabay
Additional Image is also taken from Pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency