Uni Lifestyle: The practicals were not well adapted to my Course of study.

pexels-cottonbro-studio-4865515.jpg

Throughout the time I spent in University, I thoroughly anticipated anything that has to do with gaining practical knowledge about a particular field of study, especially when it's something that is related to Banking and Finance, the course I studied at University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus.

As a Banking and Finance student who lived within school premises, I was surrounded by other students studying Law, Medicine, Architecture, Surveying, etc. I enjoyed hearing stories of their experience whenever they do practicals that are related to their field of study. And, they did a whole lot of those.

  • Law students usually do their mooting exercise in moot Court and it was likened to handling a proper case in a court of law.

  • Architecture students start from their first year in Uni to learn so much about how to use AutoCAD and other software which are used by Architects in a practical sense.

  • Estate Surveying students usually dress up in their colourful vests and walk into jingles around school premises to do whatever they do there. Haha.

  • Medical students? You know them and their practicals. The school environment is like a playground for medical students. They learn so much during their course of study and they also go to University teaching hospitals for lectures.

As for those of us in Business Administration, a Faculty consisting of Banking and Finance, Accounting, Marketing and Business Management departments, all we got were theory after theory. I'm not even kidding, out of the four years meant for the course of study, we didn't offer any course related to the course of our respective course of study until our penultimate year.

Thinking back to how the course was structured, a lot of us didn't know what a chequebook looked like throughout our study duration. It's not even funny. It was a very disturbing discovery and it came with some sort of anxiety as we came closer to our graduation. I say 'we' here just to be kind... I know my stuff even if they weren't part of the school syllabus.

However, if you think I made any of these up, I strongly suggest you think again.

How on Earth are we going to fit into the outside world as graduates of Banking and Finance or Accounting without gaining sufficient practical knowledge of the fieldwork?

That's the question that many of us kept asking ourselves, repeatedly. Up to this very moment, I still wish the practical side of my course of study was integrated into our academic syllabus.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Pexels

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency