Open Letter to Splinterlands Team

Open Letter to Splinterlands Team

Premise

On the recent Town Hall, Splinterlands Team announced/hinted a new product is in the works.
Based on my understanding,there are 2 names that we need to know:

  1. Invennium
    Technology stack that will enable the traditional games to enter web3 ecosystem (NFT, token integration)
  2. Arcade Colony
    Name of platform where the games that utilize Invennium sit on.

Concern

I have bittersweet feeling regarding Invennium / Arcade Colony. So, I feel like I have to say it

From my understanding, GLS ecosystem is built under technology stack that became Invennium. So, basically GLS technology stack + additional feature that other games might need = Invennium. I don't know how much additional works are needed to extend the GLS functionality to address the need of all games (Invennium), instead of just 1 type of games. It all depend on the scope. Therefore, I have slight worry.

During layoff about half year ago, we were told back then that we won't step into new territory until we deliver the debt (products) that we have sold. And here we are, Invennium, Arcade Colony. And notice that we haven't delivered the products from half year ago. I know stuff is coming, but not yet. Our debt still not fully paid, not even close.
We were just talking about not spreading too thin just half year ago. Aren't we too greedy with what we want?

On, the flip side, I am excited about the prospect of the Invennium, I think it has huge potential.

Next, I have concern regarding the creation of new token. At this point, I am disappointed with creation of new token, new ecosystem. But before I say/assume things, I am currently waiting for the whitepaper of Arcade Colony / Invennium. I want to see how it benefit SPS / Splinterlands ecosystem. I know it is said that 'That is how we get eyes from outside splinterlands and still get paid'. But it's not enough.
The only thing I heard of is the airdrop of the said token. But how many %? We don't know. But we can see on GLS platform, we got 5%, and it is only for staked SPS. If we defend SPS price, and put it on LP, then shame on us, we get nothing.

So, before the release of the whitepaper, I just want to remind the team that our ecosystem is bleeding. And despite lots of people dumping everything, we also have lots of people who help defending the current ecosystem. Splinterlands team get funding from those people buying CL packs, TD packs, GLS packs, Promo card. We buy SPS, DEC, License, to help maintaining this ecosystem so it doesn't completely crash to the point of no return. And if Splinterlands use that funding to create new ecosystem, and say, hey we gonna give you 5% of that new token and on top of that only to SPS staker, please think more carefully.
At this point, this is the extent of concern I can point out. We will know more when whitepaper for Arcade Colony / Invennium is out.

Disclaimer

All of this concern is based on what is being hinted in the Splinterlands Official Discord. It doesn't mean the premise of my concern will be 100% accurate.

Why now?

I usually don't want to say things based on assumption. It is often better to analyze and have a mindset after official post , in this case, whitepaper, is out. However, in this case, it is important for this to be known before whitepaper is out, since it will be hard for whitepaper to be changed once it is officially released.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency