This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Unveiling My Favorite Earth Strategy To Counter Some Modern Meta

earth.png

Note: All battles were played manually and without the use of any Battle Helper

Introduction


Hello there! @saydie here, playing Splinterlands everyday!

Another week comes with another Community Engagement Challenge and this time, the topic that was given to us was our favorite strategy in battles so, within this post, I would like to show one of my Earth strategy to counter the some modern meta and that is by utilizing the use of Ava the Undaunted and her Weapon's Training ability. I just hope that many of the modern players will see my strategy and find the means to counter it but anyways, let me show you how my strategy works.

Rebel.png

Core Cards of My Strategy


Summoner1st2nd3nd4th


My strategy relies on the use of 5 cards which is composed of 1 summoner and 4 splinters while the rest of the remaining cards will be based on the remaining mana cap and the rulesets in play. Depending on the battle, the positioning of this cards will also change but anyways, my strategy revolves around the following cards:

  • Summoner: Immortalis - Using Immortalis will reduce the health of all the opponent units by -1 and at the same time, it gives all my cards the Void ability that will reduce any magic damage that my monsters receive but what makes this card a really must have is it's Shatter ability that will easily melt all the armor of the opponent in just 1 attack.
  • Mycelic Slipspawn - Usually, I placed this card at the back but in battles where Eternal Tofu was used, I would place it at the front instead of using a melee monster to avoid receiving damage from Thorns. At the same time, it has Taunt which forces all the abled units of the opponent to only attack this card and when monsters such as Venka the Vile which have a max damage of 7 attack this card, it will only receive 1 damage as it will be absorbed through its Forcefield. It also has Slow which is great in reducing the speed of the opponent.
  • Thane Newsong - This card might not have any damage but this card can provide both Strengthen and Swiftness which increases the health and speed of all my cards as long as this card remains in play as well as Headwinds which reduces the range damage of all enemy units.
  • Ava the Undaunted - Is what I would say the core of this team which would give attack on my non- damage unit by the means of Weapon's Training. At the same time, it can attack even at the first position since it has the Close Range ability and when attacking non- damage units, it can inflict double the damage by using Oppress which is very important when facing cards like Grimbardun Smith.

  • Clockwork Aide for the last piece of my strategy, we have Clockwork Aide which like Thane Newsong, also give +1 health and speed while at the same time, it also has Rust which will reduce the armor of all opponent units, given that this card remains in play.

Some non- damage alternatives I have were Scavo Hireling and Chaos Agent but for most of my battles, this 5 cards were the staple.

Rebel.png

Sample Battle

Battle 1: Against Eternal Tofu

image.png

ConditionsDescription

03- Modern Diamond.png
Diamond League
Modern Format
55 Mana Cap
Available Elements:5-Life.png Life, 3-Earth.png Earth, 4-Death.png Death
aim-true.png
Aim True
00-melee.png Melee and 00-ranged.png Range attacks always hit their target.
spreading-fury.png
What Doesn't Kill You
All Monsters have the enrage.png Enrage ability.


As you can see in this battle, I was against an opponent that uses Eternal Tofu so as much as possible, I avoid using melee monster aside from Mycelic Infantry which has the Shield ability. For the rest was a team of range monsters which is sure to hit their attacks with Aim True as part of the active ruleset and since I have increased my speed by +2 and nerfed the speed of the opponent by -1, I can attack the opponent way faster and inflict some significant damage which ended on the defeat of the opponent's Mycelic Slipspawn in round 1.

image.png


Fast forward to round 6, both my Mycelic Infantry and Mycelic Slipspawn gets defeated but 3 of the core cards of my strategy has survived the battle and even if the opponent use either Venka the Vile or Mantaroth on this battle, I believed that the chance for me to win was still extremely high.

battle.png

Click Battle to replay the match.


Battle 2: Against Grimbardun Smith and Rage Combo

image.png

ConditionsDescription

03- Modern Diamond.png
Diamond League
Modern Format
50 Mana Cap
Available Elements:02-Water.png Water, 3-Earth.png Earth, 4-Death.png Death, 6-Dragon.png Dragon
aim-true.png
Aim True
00-melee.png Melee and 00-ranged.png Range attacks always hit their target.
healed-out.png
Healed Out
All healing abilities are removed from Monsters and Summoners.


This time, it was a battle between Weapon's Training given that the opponent uses Rage that can give magic attack to non- damage units which in this case was Grimbardun Smith and Baakjira which were all cards with Void ability but since majority of my units uses range attacks, I was able to deal significant damage to Grimbardun Smith on the first round and defeat it on the second round, At the same time, the opponent using Rage backfires because its 5 damage will only inflict 1 damage to Mycelic Slipspawn with its Forcefield active.

image.png

Fast forward to round 6, both my Mycelic Infantry and Mycelic Slipspawn gets defeated but 3 of the core cards of my strategy has survived the battle and even if the opponent use either Venka the Vile or Mantaroth on this battle, I believed that the chance for me to win was still extremely high.

image.png

Furthermore, having Ava the Undaunted has allowed for me to defeat the opponent faster with its Oppress melting all the remaining health of Baakjira as even when non- damage units were trained, Oppress will still inflict double damage to them.

battle.png

Click Battle to replay the match.

Rebel.png

Closing


This concludes my strategy to counter some of the modern meta lineups. By any means it was not a perfect strategy but would definitely has a winning chance when you accurately predict what lineup your opponent will use. At the same time, using Weapon's Training to give attack on cards makes the battle more fun. I really hope that this strategy would not be know with other but no matter what I do, its just a matter of time.

That was it for this post. Thank you and see you at the next one.

Rebel.png

Previous Battles

Stampede.pngSuper Sneak.pngOlivia the Brook.png
To read previous articles, just click on the image of the article that you want to read.

All the image that I edited here belongs to Splinterlands.

Card abilities and rulesets from Splintercards

All the battle links provided comes from my personal accounts and from the scholar account that I am using from Balthazar Guild.

Thank you for reading my post. If you're interested to play Splinterlands, you can join by clicking the images below and follow me on Twitter and 3Speak for timely Splinterlands updates.

GameTwitter3SpeakInleo
Splinterlands.pngTwitter_crimepoet1.png3Speak_saydie.pnginleo.png

saydie.gif