A Legitimate Silver III at Last!

After playing Splinterlands for more than five months, finally, I reached Silver III four days ago. The time of rushing every end of season, hunting for bargain cards to rent just to fill up the lacking collection power is over!

Utilizing my 268 SPS, I added a total of 3,800 collection power by purchasing bargain legendary and epic cards. I used the remaining amount to level up two common cards. These are the cards I bought with their corresponding DEC value and market price:

Legendary Cards

" " \"image.png\"""

As you can see, the prices of these cards though they did not recover their October prices, at least they bounced a little. Only the price of Djinn Oshannus did not change much, only up 1.42%. In the case of the other legendary cards, Harklaw got the highest score with 21.70% increase, followed by Djinn Biljka up 17.99%, and Ifrit Rising up 14.94%. Of course, there is no certainty that such bounce can be sustained. We still have to observe in the coming weeks or maybe months if the downtrend is already done.

Epic Cards

" "image.png""

As for Epic cards that I bought, their prices remain relatively stable. I still remember the month that I exchanged my extra Axemaster with both Lava Launcher and Djinn Renova. At that time, Axemaster is worth $7.10. Now despite the current price decline of Splinterland cards, Axemaster is still up 32.95% with its current market price at $9.44. Unlike Lava Launcher and Djinn Renova, at that time their prices were $3.70 and $3.40 respectively. After three months, Lava Launcher declined 80.54% and Djinn Renova is down 78.82%.

Leveled Up Common Cards

"image.png"

So far, the legendary cards I bought covered a total of 3,000 collection power plus 400 from my epic cards. What I did with the remaining SPS, I purchased an additional of 500 collection power to level up two common cards, Pelacor Deceiver and Pelacor Mercenary. This is my way of preparing my deck to battle in Silver II and up. I want to see how the healing ability of Pelacor Mercenary and the backfire ability of Pelacor Deceiver work in actual battle. And the only way to do that is by upgrading both of them to level 6, for only in that level that they can obtain those abilities.

Though the price of SPS is down when I bought the above cards, still, I am satisfied to see my account reaching Silver III. Last November, when my collection power was just 7,730, the total value of my cards was $359.36. Now that I reached 15,000 collection power, my card value is now down to just $157.16. Despite such decline, I consider the tradeoff between my 268 SPS with 3,800 collection power a worthy achievement. The next target is 40,000 collection power to be eligible to play @ Silver II. My current position is still very far from that 2022 goal of 100,000 collection power to reach Gold III.

Now that I reached my immediate goal, it doesn’t mean that I will no longer utilize the rental market. It does mean instead that I will no longer rely on fluctuating prices during the last day of the season. But in terms of battle utility, there are still indispensable cards that I need to rent if I don’t want to keep my winning rate drop drastically. I consider the following cards very helpful in battle: Halfling Alchemist, Creeping Ooze, and Fungus Fiend:

"image.png"

Halfling Alchemist is very useful in battle. With just two mana, his ability to cut in half the weapon of the enemy has been repeatedly proven to be the determining factor in the final outcome of the game. As for Creeping Ooze, there are also many cases that his ability to reduce the speed of all enemy monsters has given great advantage to his team. Fungus Fiend is my replacement for Furious Chicken for the price of the latter most of the time is too high. I would rather choose to rent other zero cards, which are cheaper like Scorch Fiend, Soul Fiend, and Torrent Fiend. My favorite is Fungus Fiend for I usually prefer to play using the earth team.

Reaching Silver III, I can now relax and just enjoy playing the game anytime I like, whether it’s at the start, middle, or end of the season. I can focus now in increasing both my DEC and SPS collection. Whatever SPS I will receive from the airdrop will go straight to the staking pool.

If reading this article got you curious about Splinterlands and its game economy, why not give it a try? Here's my code.

Grace and peace!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
50 Comments
Ecency