BATTLE MAGE SECRETS Weekly Challenge! Odd Ones Out Ruleset | Splinterlands

OddOnesOut.png

BATTLE MAGE SECRETS Weekly Challenge

RULESET: Odd Ones Out

Description:

Only units with odd mana costs may be used.

Summoners are not affected by this rule.


In battles with the Odd Ones Out Ruleset, only units with odd mana costs may be used, but summoner cards are not affected by this ruleset.

In battles with the Odd Ones Out Ruleset, my most preferred units are Water Unit, Life Unit, and Dragon Unit because my odd mana cost cards in these units are more powerful. I can say that I love the Ones Out Ruleset, especially when one of the Water or Life units is available int battles. The abilities I use most in this ruleset are Taunt Ability, Triage Ability, Repair Ability, Resurrect Ability, Opportunity Ability and Sneak Ability but I can also use other abilities depending on other rulesets in battle.

Abilities

  • Taunt Ability : All enemy Units target this Unit (if they are able to).
  • Triage Ability : Heals the friendly back-line Unit that has taken the most damage by a third of max health.
  • Repair Ability : Restores a third of max armor to the friendly Unit whose armor has taken the most damage.
  • Resurrect Ability : When a friendly Unit dies it is brought back to life with 1 Health. This ability can only trigger once per battle.
  • Opportunity Ability : Units with the Opportunity ability may attack from any position and will target the enemy Unit with the lowest health.
  • Sneak Ability : Targets the last Unit on the enemy Team instead of the first Unit.

These abilities are really powerful abilities and the ones I use the most in battles with the Odd Ones Out ruleset.

Today I will share one of my most interesting battles with Odd Ones Out Ruleset, I hope you like it.

BATTLE

summoners.png

battle10092023.png
Battle Link

Battle Ruleset

ruleset10092023.png

  • Melee Mayhem: Melee attack Monsters can attack from any position.
  • Odd Ones Out: Only Monsters with odd Mana costs may be used in battles.
  • Active Units : Fire, Water, Earth, and Life
  • Mana Cap : 31

MY STRATEGY

Before starting the battle, when I reviewed the last 5 battles of the opposing player and considered the ruleset of the battle, I guessed that the opposing player would prefer LUX VEGA as a Summoner and determined my strategy accordingly. Since the battle also has the Melee Mayhem ruleset, I will use Melee Attack Monsters in this battle, similarly, I guessed the opposing player would also prefer Melee Attack Monsters.

Since I thought Armor and Speed would be very important in this battle, I first chose Kelya Frendul as Summoner so that all monsters in my team would have an extra +1 Armor and +1 Speed. Kelya Frendul is a Summoner that gives +1 Armor and +1 Speed to all friendly monsters.

In the first position I will put Cruel Sethropod as it has 4 armor. In the second position, I will put Noa the Just, who has Rust Ability, so that I will reduce the armor of all monsters on the opposing team by 2, and thus Melee Attack Monsters in my team will be able to destroy the targets more easily. I will also put Kulu Mastermind with Weapons Training Ability in the third position, so Noa the Just will have melee attack power.

In the fourth position I will put River Hellondale, who has the Resurrect Ability and the Inspire Ability, both abilities I thought would be of great benefit to the team in this battle. And in the last position I will put Tide Biter with Reflection Shield Ability. I took into consideration the possibility that the opposing team might have monsters with Thorns Ability, so I added Tide Biter to the team.

  • Thorns Ability : When hit with a Melee attack, does 2 Melee damage back to the attacker.

LINE UP

KELYAFRENDULStats.png
Source

Summoner : KELYA FRENDUL

Kelya Frendul is a Water Summoner that gives +1 Armor and +1 Speed to all friendly monsters. I chose Kelya Frendul as the summoner because I thought the extra +1 armor and +1 speed would greatly benefit my team in this battle.

CRUELSETHROPODStats.png
Source

Position 1 : CRUEL SETHROPOD

Cruel Sethropod is a Monster that can attack the target with Melee Attacks. I put Cruel Sethropod in the first position since it has 4 armor.

NOATHEJUSTStats.png
Source

Position 2 : NOA THE JUST

Noa the Just has no attack power, but have Rust Ability and Dodge Ability at level 2. Also, Noa the Just is a great advantage to have 6 speed, 5 armor and 6 health. The most important reason I added Noa the Just to my team was that it has Rust Ability, thus all monsters on the opposing team would have their armor reduced by -2. I put Noa the Just in second position.

  • Rust Ability : Reduces the Armor of all enemy Units by 2.
  • Dodge Ability : Has a 25% higher chance of evading Melee or Ranged attacks.

KULUMASTERMINDStats.png
Source

Position 3 : KULU MASTERMIND

Kulu Mastermind is a Monster that can attack the target with Melee Attacks and has Weapons Training Ability, Opportunity Ability and Shield Ability at level 2. I put Kulu Mastermind in the third position because that way Noa the Just would have 2 Melee Attacks.

  • Weapons Training Ability : Adjacent Units gain half this Unit's attack if they have no attack themselves.
  • Opportunity Ability : Units with the Opportunity ability may attack from any position and will target the enemy Unit with the lowest health.
  • Shield Ability : Reduces damage from Melee and Ranged attacks by 50%.

RIVERHELLONDALEStats.png
Source

Position 4 : RIVER HELLONDALE

River Hellondale is a Monster that can attack the target with Magic Attacks and has Resurrect Ability and Inspire Ability at level 2. I added River Hellondale to the team because I thought both of its abilities would be of great benefit to my team in this battle and I put River Hellondale in fourth position.

  • Resurrect Ability : When a friendly Unit dies it is brought back to life with 1 Health. This ability can only trigger once per battle.
  • Inspire Ability : Gives all friendly Units +1 Melee attack.

TIDEBITERStats.png
Source

Position 5 : TIDE BITER

Tide Biter is a Monster that can attack the target with Melee Attacks and has Reach Ability, and Reflection Shield Ability at level 3. The most important reason why I added Tide Biter to my team was that it had the Reflection Shield Ability, and since it had 4 speed, I put Tide Biter in the last position.

  • Reach Ability : Melee attack Units with the Reach ability may attack from the second position on the team.
  • Reflection Shield Ability : This Unit doesn't take damage from Blast, Magic Reflect, Thorns, or Return Fire.

BATTLE COMMENTS

battle10092023.png
Battle Link

To be honest, the opposing player's strategy was also very good, but I was glad that the opposing player did not use Rust Ability and Protect Ability because otherwise it would be very difficult for me to win this battle.

  • Protect Ability : All friendly Units gain +2 Armor.
  • Rust Ability : Reduces the Armor of all enemy Units by 2.

Round 1

In the first round, all monsters attacked their targets very effectively, especially Axemaster's attacks were very brutal, so Cruel Sethropod was destroyed very easily, but thanks to the Resurrect Ability, it was brought back to life with 1 health. Also, Uraeus on the opposing team was destroyed, but it was also brought back to life with 1 health thanks to the Resurrect Ability. It was admirable that all the monsters hit and missed their targets in the first round.

Round 2

round2.png

In the second round, the fact that the monsters in the opposing team did not have armor was a big disadvantage for them, while the fact that the monsters on my team had armor was a big advantage for my team. Although the benefit of armor in this battle was not very obvious in the first round, it was much more obvious in the second round. In other words, the fact that the monsters on the opposing team had no armor made it much easier to destroy them, so in the second round, 3 monsters from the opposing team were destroyed and only 1 monster from my team could be destroyed.

Round 3

round3.png

In the third round, all monsters hit their targets, in other words, none of them missed, although no monster from my team could be destroyed, but 2 more monsters from the opposing team were destroyed. This clearly showed how important and useful armor was in such battles. At the end of the third round, only Axemaster remained in the opposing team and since Axemaster could not attack while in the first position, the result of the battle was obvious.

Round 4

roun4.png

In the fourth round, it was not difficult to destroy Axemaster, first Noa the Just hit, then Kulu Mastermind hit and Axemaster was also destroyed, so my team managed to win a very tough battle.

round42.png

The battle lasted 4 rounds, my strategy worked very well in this battle so my team managed to win a very challenging battle. Frankly, having all the monsters on my team have an extra +1 armor and reducing the armor of all the monsters on the opposing team by -2 gave my team a great advantage in this battle and made my team's job much easier. That's why in these types of battles, I attach great importance to giving extra armor to all monsters on my team and reducing the armor of monsters on the opposing team. It was a really interesting battle and I recommend you to watch this great and quite challenging battle from the Battle Link. I hope you will like it.

BATTLE RESULTS

battleresults.png

What are your thoughts on the battle and my strategy? I would be glad if you write your thoughts in the comments.

Battle Link

Would you like to join Splinterlands? Here is my reference link




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency