My BATTLE MAGE SECRET Weekly Challenge! Lost Legendaries


Hello there, this is my entry to the new "Battle Mage Secret Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate or know more about the challenge, click here. This week we have to formulate a strategy with the Lost Legendaries ruleset.



RULESET: Lost Legendaries


With the Lost Legendaries ruleset, as the name suggests, the legendary monsters cannot be used in our battles. But legendary summoners are still active.



The 'Lost Legendary' ruleset is easy to understand as we only have common, rares and epic monsters available to use in our lineup. However, the legendary monsters can be used which is a great relief for some.

I have been over-dependent on legendaries and every time this ruleset comes it becomes a little challenging for me. There are some very powerful legendary units in every element but some epics and rares are equally strong in specific situations. I just go back to the fundamentals of the game whenever I encounter this ruleset.

Let's see how this ruleset affects my lineup and how I strategies for the following battle. But first, let's focus on my lineup.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Summoner
Owster Rotwell
Position 1
Elven Defender
Position 2
Magi Necrosi
Position 3
Venari Bonesmith
Position 4
Elven Mystic
Position 5
Weirding Warrior
Position 6
Silent Sha-vi

It was only a 32-mana cap battle and had Lost Legendaries ruleset only.

Only the Death element was active during this battle. All these things made the options very limited for both of the players. I went with the Owster Rotwell summoners which give 'magic-reflect' ability to all the friendly units that are a great counter to magic attackers.





I used the Elven Defender as my tank. It was the best I could get with all the restrictions applied to this battle. It costs 8 but came with 4 armour and 8 health supplemented with a 'shield' ability which makes it a good defensive unit. Not only defence, but it also attacks with 2 melee attack damage and can play a good attacking role too.

Next in my lineup was Magi Necrosi. It was the best-attacking option in my lineup. It dealt 3 magic attacks with great speed and comes with two interesting abilities, snipe and camouflage. the only downside was its relatively lower health of 5 hp while costing 6 mana to use.

Another magic attacker was placed in the next position called Venari Bonesmith. He is an impressive mage having the 'life-leech' ability which makes it last much longer by increasing its health every time it hits its target. Also, the poison ability is very useful, especially against strong tank in the front of the enemy lineup.

Elven Mystic came in the next position, costing just 4 mana, it was a useful unit in my lineup. Although it did 1 magic attack damage but its 'silence' ability is nice and can be very effective along with melee and ranged attackers.

The only ranged attacker in my lineup was Weirding Warrior. It was a cheap unit costing just 2 mana and had 2 health points. It comes with the 'shatter' ability which will remove the armour in one hit and is incredibly useful while facing a strong tank.

Last but not least was Silent Sha-Vi, a fierce attacker that deals 3 melee attackers with the sneak ability which attacks the end of the lineup and many weaker units are placed at the end of the lineup, especially in lower leagues.

Now that my lineup was set let's talk about my strategy for this game.



My Strategy

I didn't have a lot of mana to work with and with just the 'Death' element, the options were very limited. I went back to the fundamentals of the game and used a strong tank at the front of the lineup. Elven Defender had both attacking and defensive capabilities.

I supported my tank with heavy magic attack damage from the back while I had countermeasures put in place to deal with the same. My summoner gave each of the units the 'magic relfect' ability which is very effective against magic attackers.

I didn't want to use all of the mages so I had a healthy mix of all three attack types. The Silent Sha-vi at the end of the lineup added to the attacking strength of my team.

This strategy, as you will see, worked in my favour and gave me an easy win in the end.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube. Battle Link



My opponent went with Cursed Windeku as their primary tank but used the Venari Marksrat in front to make use of its 'martyr' ability and increase Windeku's stats. It was a good strategy but they lacked defenses.

They got extra protection from Ravenhood Warden which was placed at the end of the lineup and that was a bad decision from them as I had the Silent Sha-v capable of attacking it.


My mages were very effective too and took down the weaker units quickly while when they tried to attack with magic damage I had the 'magic reflect' ability which perfectly countered their attacks.

With the Ravenhood Warden eliminated early in round 2, the extra protection vanished and it became much easier for my units to attack the enemy lineup.


Their Cursed Vindeku tried to defend the lineup for a long but the backline got eliminated soon and only in Round 3 the Windeku was eliminated too giving me a smooth victory. Was an easy win and it never looked like I was in trouble.



Conclusion

Lost Legendaries is an interesting ruleset, it forces you to choose your lineup very carefully, and a slight mistake will change the course of the outcome easily. For me, it gets slightly challenging as I use many Legendary units in my lineups.
I used a relatively strong tank at the front in the form of Elven Defender and went back to the fundamentals of the game by using weak but more attacking units after the tank.

I used a 'sneaky' monster too which attacked the last unit in the enemy camp and most often than not players have weaker units at the end which can be a good strategy as well. It has always been a challenging ruleset for me.

Let me know if this ruleset bothers you or if you just ignore it and go back to the fundamentals and don't do anything special.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referral link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency