My BATTLE MAGE SECRET Weekly Challenge! Going the Distance




Hello there, this is my entry to the new "Battle Mage Secret Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate or know more about the challenge, click here. This week we have to formulate a strategy with the Going the Distance ruleset.



RULESET: Going the Distance


With the Going the Distance ruleset, only the monsters with Ranged attacks can be used.



The 'Going the Distance' ruleset is very easy to understand as only units with ranged attacks can be used in the battle.

But you can even use units which have multiple attacks but one of them has to be a ranged attack. So, the close-range ability is super useful during this ruleset.

Let's see how this ruleset affects my lineup and how I strategies for the following battle. But first, let's focus on my lineup.

My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Summoner
Keyla Frendul
Position 1
Drybone Raider
Position 2
Gargoya Devil
Position 3
Kulu Swimhunter
Position 4
Swamp Spitter
Position 5
Supply Runner
Position 6
Coastal Nymph




This was a 49-mana cap battle and it had two rulesets:

  • Going the Distance - Only Monsters with Ranged Attack may be used in battles.

  • Silenced Summoners - Summoners do not give any stat buffs or debuffs or grant/use any abilities.

Only the 'Water' and 'Dragon' elements were active during this battle. I went with the Water element and used the Keyla Frendul as my summoner.


I used the Drybone Raider as my tank. It comes with a strong attacking strength as it is a multi-attacker doing both melees and ranged attacks. Although the ranged attack is not useful in the first position its 'Double Strike' and 'Shatter' abilities are very useful.

Next in my lineup was Gargoya Devil, this one as you already guess is a ranged attacker as well...lol. It had the 'Close Range' ability which is super useful in this ruleset. I didn't have many units with the close-range ability but this one was so important. It only costs 7 mana and does 3 ranged attacks.

In the next position, I placed the Kulu Swimhunter. This only costs 4 mana but comes with good speed and 2 ranged attacks. It also has a relatively good amount of health. However, it has no abilities.

Swamp Spitter was the next unit in my lineup. It costs 7 mana but is a very powerful attacker. Also dealing 2 ranged attacks with good speed. This only also comes with an interesting ability called 'repair' which can restore the armour of the friendly monster who has taken the most damage.

Another useful unit was Supply Runner which came in the fifth position. It also has the 'swiftness' ability which increased the speed of all friendly monsters. Only costing mana and dealing 2 ranged attacks with swift speed, this was very useful and helped a lot in my battle.

Last but not least was the Coastal Nymph, probably one of the strongest attacks in this lineup. It dealt with whooping 4 ranged attacks and has a decent amount of health. This one also comes with 3 armour so it protected my back lineup effectively.

Now that my lineup was set let's talk about my strategy for this game.



My Strategy

Since this was a 49 mana cap battle, I had the luxury to use heavy attackers but the ruleset and limited no of active elements made our job a little tougher.

I used units with good speed and attacking strength and wanted to boost my way through my opponent's defences. I used the Supply runner which increased the speed of all the friendly monsters.

Using Gargoya Devil was part of my strategy as well as it had the 'close range' ability. I wanted to use more elements like this but the limited choice of options did not let me in this battle.

I used beefy units at the end of the lineup so I can protect my weaker units snuck in the middle of the lineup.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube. Battle Link



My opponent used the Lily Shieldpaw as their summoner as they wanted to use dragon units in their lineup. They used the Zyvax Vuul as their tank which had a lot of health but it can't even attack from that position.

Round 1 ended with that tank getting eliminated while my Drybone Raider was still doing well.


Rounds 2 and 3 were even worse for my opponent, my opponent even failed to take down my tank. This was a complete failure from my opponent. They just collapsed with no scope of winning the battle. I registered a very easy win in this battle.




Conclusion

Going the Distance is probably one of my least favourite rulesets in the game. This is due to the fact I use ranged attackers the least but this ruleset is very easy to understand. Usage of 'Close range' ability monsters should be a priority, especially at the front of the lineup.

I resort to the fundamentals of the game at this ruleset. I use a strong tank and maybe a secondary tank as well to make the frontline as strong as possible and attack from the middle and end of the lineup as much as you like.

Let me know if this ruleset bothers you or if you just ignore it and go back to the fundamentals and don't do anything special.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referral link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency