My BATTLE MAGE SECRET Weekly Challenge! Fog of War




Hello there, this is my entry to the new "Battle Mage Secret Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate or know more about the challenge, click here. This week we have to formulate a strategy with the Fog Of War ruleset.



RULESET: Fog of War


With the Fog of War ruleset, All units lose the Sneak, Snipe and Opportunity abilities.



Fog of War ability is easy to understand as all units will lose their Sneak, Snipe or Opportunity ability. This will make the battle have a more normal flow of attacks. As monsters will likely attack from the first position rather than surprise with their attacks.

But keep in mind that the Scattershot ability still works in this ruleset.

Let's see how this ruleset affects my lineup and how I strategies for the following battle. But first, let's focus on my lineup.

My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Summoner
Obsidian
Position 1
Biceratops
Position 2
Djinn Bilijka
Position 3
Queen Mycelia
Position 4
Doctor Blight
Position 5
Madcap Magus
Position 6
Spirit Hoarder




This was a 36-mana cap battle and it had the following rulesets:

  • Fog of War - Monsters lose the Sneak, Snipe and Opportunity abilities.

  • Little League - Only monsters and summoners that cost 4 mana or less may be used in battles.

Fire, Earth and life elements were active during this battle. I went with the Earth element and wanted to use a heavy magic attack. So, I used the Obsidian as my summoner which increased the magic damage of all mages to +1.


I used the Biceratops as my tank. Since one of the rulesets was Little League, this was one of the best defensive units I had available at the time. Although it cost only 4 mana, it still does 3 melee damage and comes with 2 armour of its own. So, it was not a bad choice for the tank in this battle.

In the next position, I placed the Djinn Bilijka. It was a magic attacker dealing 2 magic damage on its own and came with the Void ability which takes reduced damage from magic attackers. Only costing 3 mana it was a nice addition to my lineup.

Next was the Queen Mycelia, another mage that only dealt 1 magic attack damage but the best part about this unit was its 'Protect' ability which gives 2 extra armour to all the friendly units.

Doctor Blight came in the next position, this one had 3 interesting abilities: Affliction, Camouflage and Poison. Poison and affliction are very useful in any battle. This only had 4 health but can't be directly attacked unless it comes in the first position.

In the fifth position, I placed the Madcap Magus, this one also costs 4 units and dealt 1 magic attack damage. This only had 2 health but the 'Life Leech' ability help it to draw health from its target and makes it last much longer.

Last but not least was the Spirit Hoarder, another mage which dealt only 1 magic attack damage. This one only costs 3 mana but comes with the Triage ability that heals the friendly back-line monster who has taken the most damage. Also, its Dispel ability is useful against stronger tanks which received some buffs during the battle.

Now that my lineup was set let's talk about my strategy for this game.



My Strategy

This was a 36-mana cap battle but had the Little League as one of the rulesets so I couldn't run out of mana. This ruleset forced me to decide between going full-on with the attacking strength.

I knew that my opponent won't be having stronger tanks at the front and I can probably overwhelm them with heavy magic attacks. That's why I went with the Obsidian and the majority of my units were mages to utilize the summoner magic attack buff.

I didn't focus much on improving the defences, my focus was to eliminate the opponent camp as soon as I can.

In hindsight, I left my back line a little weaker which was not a concern as the ruleset was Fog of War. I was trusting in my attacking strength.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube. Battle Link



My opponent also went with a similar strategy. They used the Obsidian as their summoner as well. Almost used similar units as well.

They used the Hill Giant as their tank which got eliminated earlier in round 1 along with another unit. My tank couldn't last long as well. Got eliminated in round 1 only.


Round 2 proved to be decisive, my opponent lost 2 mages at the start of the round. Both of our Queen Mycelia were in the first position and mine died after an attack from the enemy units. This round ended with the demise of their Queen Mycleia as well.


Round 3 was no way close, it was 1v3 where I got 3 mages ready to attack and my opponent was only left with one. This granted me an easy win in the end.



Conclusion

Fog of War is interesting rulest. It makes the game somewhat simpler as you can expect very few surprises to the flow of the attacks.

Placing stronger tanks in the front of the lineup is a good strategy in this case.

I resort to the fundamentals of the game at this ruleset. I used a strong tank at the front of the lineup.

Combining it with other rulesets sometimes you don't have enough to work with, especially with limited active elements. I resort back to the fundamentals of the game. Using strong tanks, shielding my weaker units properly somewhere in the middle of the lineup. Using extra armour to protect them even more etc. Sometimes getting back to the basics is better. And this ruleset is one of those. Let me know how you deal with the Fog of War ruleset.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referral link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency