My BATTLE MAGE SECRET Weekly Challenge! Even Stevens




Hello there, this is my entry to the new "Battle Mage Secret Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate or know more about the challenge, click here. This week we have to formulate a strategy with the Even Stevens ruleset.



RULESET: Even Stevens


With the Even Stevens ruleset, only units with even mana costs may be used.



The Even Stevens ruleset is very simple and easy to understand as only monsters with even mana costs can be used. Keep in mind, this doesn't apply to the summoners.

Let's see how this ruleset affects my lineup and how I strategies for the following battle. But first, let's focus on my lineup in detail.

My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Summoner
Keyla Frendul
Position 1
Chain Golem
Position 2
Djinn Oshannus
Position 3
Coral Wraith
Position 4
Doctor Blight
Position 5
Ice Pixie
Position 6
Kulu Swimhunter




This was a 34-mana cap battle and it had the following rulesets:

  • Even Stevens - Only monsters with even mana costs may be used in battles.

  • Aim True - Attacks always hit their target.

Water, Earth and Life elements were active during this battle. The even stevens ruleset made the battle interesting as I had only even mana costing units available to choose from.

I used the Keyla Frendul as my summoner who gave all my units +1 armour and +1 speed.


I used the Chain Golem as my tank. It costs 8 mana but comes with the 'Void' and 'Shield' abilities which were very useful during this battle as I was expecting magic attacks from my opponents as well. These two abilities make it one of the best tanks in the game. It dealt 3 melee attack damage as well. So, it was a good choice in this position overall.

Djinn Oshannus came in the next position. It is another powerful attacker and defender. I used it as a secondary tank in this lineup. It also comes with a 'void' ability. This one deals with 2 magic attacks and has 5 speed. Combined with its 'phase' ability it becomes a tough target to get rid of for my enemy.

In the next position, Coral Wraith was placed. This deals with 2 magic attacks as well but only costs 4 mana. However, it comes with a relatively lower health of 4. It also comes with a 'sneak' ability that attacks from the last position rather than the front. This adds a surprise element to my attacks.

Doctor Blight came in the next position. It is one of the best legendary units for me. I had a level 2 which dealt 1 magic attack and had only 4 hp but it came with interesting abilities. Affliction and Poison make it very dangerous for my enemy tank and camouflage hides it from enemy attacks until it gets in the first position and I had enough protection at the front of my lineup so it was a nice addition to my lineup.

Ice Pixie was placed in the fifth position. Costing only 2 mana it deals 1 magic attack and has 1 shield of its own. It also has flying ability which was not that useful during this battle because of the 'Aim True' ruleset.

Last but not least was Kulu Swimhunter, the only ranged attacker in my lineup. It also costs 4 mana and dealt 2 ranged attack damage with good speed and comes with a decent health of 6. But it had no abilities of its own.

Now that my lineup was set let's talk about my strategy for this game.



My Strategy

As this was a 34 mana cap battle I wanted to make the front of my lineup strong and use the weaker and cheaper units at the middle of the lineup.

I went with the Keyla Frendul as it gave extra armour and increased speed. I used two strong tanks at the front: Chain Golem and Djinn Oshannus. Both of those made a good defensive stand at the front of the lineup.

My focus was to use magic attacks as much as I could. But some of the mages were odd mana costs and were unavailable so I went with a ranged attacker at the back who also had a decent health that can protect this other end of the lineup.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube. Battle Link



My Opponent went with a strange lineup putting their tank at the end of the lineup where it can't even attack as it was a melee attacker. Not sure what they tried to achieve by that.

I guess they were banking on its 'Taunt' ability only and didn't focus much on increasing attacking strength.

Even after my primary tank died, my secondary tank took its place and cemented the whole lineup. Djinn Oshannus was still standing there after the end of the battle. In the end, I got an easy win.





Conclusion

Even Stevens is not the most interesting ruleset and is very easy to understand. You need to look at the active elements and come up with a plan by looking at your deck and what cards you have available at your disposal.

Combining it with other rulesets sometimes you don't have enough to work with, especially with a limited number of active elements. I resort back to the fundamentals of the game. Using strong tanks, shielding my weaker units properly somewhere in the middle of the lineup. Using extra armour to protect them even more etc. Sometimes getting back to the basics is better. And this ruleset is one of those. Let me know how you deal with the Even Stevens ruleset.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referral link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency