Splinterlands Raffle Server - A prospering community

Splinterlands is great for a great many reasons and one of them being the community and community run projects. One I'd like to talk about today is the 'Splinterlands Raffle Server' run by @brybro27 aka brybro-"Mr.Monopoly" on his discord server which can be found at https://discord.gg/9BpXxb4w

I was able to catch up with him online prior to publishing this piece and he was generous enough to answer a few questions, here's what he had to say.

I started the raffle because of two reasons. First, I thought it would be a fun opportunity for people to obtain Splinterlands assets without having to spend the full price for them. Some people love to gamble and try to win things, like myself, so I figured I'd give it a shot to create a raffle community. Second, and probably the most obvious one, I thought raffling items would be a great way to sell the assets I own, or other's peoples assets in that matter as well.

When starting it, I really didn't know what to expect in terms of growth and popularity. My initial plans when starting was to do a raffle every day of the week in celebration of the Untamed Packs being sold out. It took my first raffle a whole week to sell out, so that made me quickly understand that the raffles weren't going to be easy to sell when starting off. However, after doing nine different raffles, and having a discord server with over 100 members, raffles take about a day or two to sell out, depending on the raffle.

He has just completed his 9th raffle draw, 8 of which I have been apart of. What makes this raffle draw so great is there are normally multiple prizes to be won of various degrees of value and tix can be purchased in a multitude of ways from fiat via paypal, DEC and WAX. He also takes prize requests for future raffle draws.

The server currently has ~150 members but I couldn't say what % have participated in any draws. The raffles normally consist of a set amount of tickets per raffle and a max number of tix sold per person, with a bonus round possibly drawn (raffle-bot decides) for those who purchased the max allotment of tix per person. All raffles are drawn with the raffle-bot in the server so transparency is there for all to see.

I have been fortunate enough to have a few wins from the raffles so far and due to current games asset inflation these prizes have well covered any raffle entry costs.
The first raffle I was not apart of but the prizes were: 1st Prize: 6 Card Packs / 2nd Prize: 3 Card Packs / 3rd Prize: 1 Card Pack. Pretty awesome prizes and was sorry I missed out on that one.

The second raffle was for one of three legendary monsters. 1st drawn gets first choice etc. I happened to be drawn 3rd and picked up High Priest Darius! COME-IN-SPINNER, I was pretty stoked taking a win on my first ever go. I think there was a max of 3tix at about $2US each. Chanseus The Great / Lir Deepswimmer / High Priest Darius were all up for grabs and if memory serves the first 2 were taken by one winner with 2 tickets!

The third raffle was for one of 3 land plots, at the time they were valued at $30US, again I managed to snavel one and the tix for this raffle were 3 x $3US. Crazy now looking at current land prices at ~$475 at time of writing! This one win covers all entries for ever lol.

The forth raffle consisted of 1 of 3 rare totems, at 3 x $4. Having just won a plot of land a nice rare totem to plant on it would do nicely. Unfortunately my winning streak had ended but my determination had not, it was too late, I was already hooked and ready for more :)

Raffle five was for 5 different epic monsters at 5 x 50cUS each. I always buy the max tickets to at least give me a chance in the bonus draw if the raffle bot was feeling generous that day. Once again lady luck was on my side and I managed to pick up one of the five prizes, a water splinter monster named Torhilo the Frozen. When the card was delivered to my account I was in for a pleasant surprise as there were 5 of them, enough to level the card up to level 2, I had miss read the entry!

Onto raffle six. Once again totems were up for grabs at 5 x $3 a tix I was in like Flinn, having won 2 in a row before, I thought this was my lucky chance to finally grab a totem. Alas it was never meant to be as I fell short in the most frustrating of ways, each roll of the dice (so to speak) was 1 number of each of my 5 entries, like the raffle bot was holding them tantalisingly in front of me and snatching them away yelling 'NO TOTEMS FOR YOU!', I yelled back 'BAD raffle bot!'... wait I can't stay mad at you, good raffle bot, good.

Ahem, excuse me I digress, the seventh raffle was for for 10 ΛZMΛRÉ Dice Packs, 1 per winner at 5 x $1US, this was a big entry with 50 tix up for grabs, and the server population ever growing, the tix were flying out thick and fast. No luck for me this time but I'd had a good run, so I was just happy for the others as some first time winners got in on the action.

The eighth raffle was for a 1 BCX Corrupted Pegasus, at 2 x $5US and only 20 tix available you could tell the value of Splinterland assets was on the rise and the raffle master was a little on edge about what to give away, as although he covered costs of each prize at the time of the raffle the next big rise could mean letting go of something potentially huge! Say like a plot of land (hehe). Once again it was not meant to be but once again another first time winner walked away with the chocolates (not actual chocolates mind you, it's just a figure of speech, in case its a local colloquialism, instead of a well know saying, which it might be, I don't really know but there we are).

And here we are at the latest raffle, the last one to be drawn at the time of writing, the ninth raffle, what could it be, who could win it and how much would it cost...Well I guess I should tell you then.
6 x 5 untamed rare summoners, one of each splinter. Each splinter was a separate draw with a max of 1 tix per person per set. Boom I was in each draw nailing down #3 in each draw for a total of 6 tix, a common practice it seemed across the board. This one took a while to fill as a few new users weren't sure on weather to pull the trigger and a couple more signed up but didn't pay and had to be chased up for the funds before any draw could take place. Finally the tix were sold, the positions were set and bang when the starters gun (there was no starters gun, once again just a saying) and we were off! Pyre set was the first to go, no luck for me. Next was Bortus, once again falling short. 3rd the mighty Wizard of Eastwood! Alas, no wizarding for me. Creeping up on the 4th draw was the Mother Khala Set and just as silently crept away with no result, not even a whimper...But then Contessa of the death splinter roared into view, there I was stuck in it's headlights and BAM, winner, winner, chicken dinner!! I had pulled out another famous victory! And last but not least was the Drake of Arnak of the dragon splinter.

The 10th raffle, yet to be announced and is rumoured to be the mother of all raffles, shrouded in mystery and hinted at in those dark places brave warriors fear to tread, with the raffle suggestion channel full of wild and amazing ideas, it is sure to make the brow of brybro-"Mr.Monopoly" bead with sweat as he pours over which assets to put up for grabs next. So don't be afraid, come and join the raffle loving community as we chat about all things splinterlands.

  • Platypus-dundee

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency