Top spot in the Splinterlands Brawl - TIPS & TRICKS - by @pero82

banner.png


Hello everyone! Pozdrav svima!

I was super busy this week so I forgot to post about my clan's Tier 3 Brawl (Peakmonsters Landlubbers), where we placed in TOP SPOT winning our first tie-breaker in front of T&A Legion X.

Both of our clans had 85 wins and 49 losses which resulted in 255 points, but some of their members didn't enter the teams for the battles so we won the tie-breaker.

guilds.png

For this win the guild has won spoils of 110 Crowns and each fully participating member was awarded 5,467 Merits and 50.629 staked SPS.

spoils.png

splitter.png

I played in Fray #5 which is limited to Silver level Modern (Untamed and Chaos Legion) only cards. I played pretty decent ending up with a score of 7 wins (one was a walk-over because of no-show) and 1 loss. That placed me in the 3rd position among my clanmates.

guildmates.png

Great job @terrius01 did with the clean sweep on his scoreboard. The rest of us did awesome job also, obviously, but I had to point him out because he was flawless.

My plan is to go through my battles and try to explain my thought process of picking each team, and what I got right or where I went wrong.

image.png

splitter.png

1️⃣ Battle 1 of 8 1️⃣

First battle I played we had a high mana pool (57 mana) with Melee Mayhem, Up to Eleven (Amplify) and Tis but Scratches (Cripple) rulesets with only Water splinter available.
Melee Mayhem usually means melee heavy team, but I mixed it up a bit. Of course, I used Coastal Sentry for her Double Strike, as well as Drybone Rider and Axemaster.
Since my assumption was that my opponent with go full melee team (got that part) I put my fastest monsters first lead by amazing Phantom of the Abyss who, next to his high speed, has 2 more abilities that help him avoid enemy attacks - Flying and Dodge.
Following him is Djinn Oshannus, indispensable member of any water deck, and River Hellondale for his Inspire ability and Resurrect.
The only thing I would change now after watching the battle is that I would use Demented Shark for Inspire, instead of Hellondale, as it would probably survive longer.

Result Lineups Battle
✅WIN✅ image.png ⚔️Link⚔️

This was an easy win due to my superior firepower and mix of melee and magic damage.

splitter.png

2️⃣ Battle 2 of 8 2️⃣

In the second battle we also had a pretty high mana pool (52) battle with Keep Your Distance (no melee monsters), Odd Ones Out (only odd mana cards) and Aim True ruleset, with all splinters available.
I went with Dragon-Water combination, with Quix the Devious summoner to reduce my opponents Speed and Ranged attack (which proved to be excellent decision). My team consisted of Magic attack monsters with exception to Axemaster (his Double Strike makes him so powerful) and Void Dragon as a tank (because of his Void ability).
Only thing I would change in the line-up would be to put Axemaster in the last position (which was my original idea, since Runemaster Kye would be quite buffed from her Life Leach ability by the time she comes to the first position. I don't know what happened there, I probably miss-clicked.

Result Lineups Battle
✅WIN✅ image.png ⚔️Link⚔️

splitter.png

3️⃣ Battle 3 of 8 3️⃣

Unfortunately (or luckily 😛) my opponent for this battle didn't register the team so I got a win. He was a member of the clan that ended up in the second position, so this probably cost them the final victory. 😕

splitter.png

4️⃣ Battle 4 of 8 4️⃣

Fourth battle had a mid-low mana pool (27 mana) with Reverse Speed, Rise of the Commons (only common and rare cards available) and Up to Eleven (Amplify) rulesets with Fire, Earth and Dragon splinters available.
Reverse speed usually means Fire splinter for me, because it has a lot of powerful but slow cards, but so does the Earth splinter. I decided for Fire but with Yodin Zaku summoner for that wonderful Blast ability for the whole team.
I used Venari Marksrat card for his Martyr ability (great new ability that upon death buffs the adjacent monsters) to buff my strongest two monsters - the tank Living Lava and Ash Mirage. Chaos Agent slipped between them, and that was a mistake on my side, he was supposed to be in the last position, covering the rear in case of Sneak attacks.
But that mistake didn't cost me the win.

Result Lineups Battle
✅WIN✅ image.png ⚔️Link⚔️

splitter.png

5️⃣ Battle 5 of 8 5️⃣

Fifth match was an interesting one because we had a healthy mana pool of 35 mana, Unprotected (no armor), Wands Out (only magic monsters) and Are You Not Entertained? (one additional Gladiator card can be used) rulesets with Life, Death and Dragon splinters available.
We both went with Dragon summoners, but I chose Life and my opponent chose Death as second splinter.
I chose Sthispa summoner for the Phase ability, to maybe evade a few magic attacks from my opponent.
We both went with powerful magic tank Void Dragon but I used two powerful Gladiator cards - Captain Katie and Sola Ranjell who were the decisive moment in the battle with the Snipe and Tank Heal abilities.

Result Lineups Battle
✅WIN✅ image.png ⚔️Link⚔️

splitter.png

6️⃣ Battle 6 of 8 6️⃣

Sixth battle we had once again high mana pool (59 mana), Odd Ones Out (only odd mana monsters available), Healed Out (no heals) and Explosive Weaponry (all the monsters have Blast ability) rulesets with Fire, Water, Life, Death and Dragon splinters available (only Earth wasn't available).
We both went with Dragon splinter (Quix the Devious summoner), except I chose Life and my opponent chose Water as the second splinter.
Whenever I have enough mana and rulesets allow me I go with Agor Longtail tank (my favorite tank in the game) with some Resurrect monsters behind him. This time I had two - Oshuur Constantia (with her amazing Reflection Shield ability - just what doctor ordered for this battle) and Adelade Brightwing (with ever-helpful Repair ability).
Just those 3 cards would probably be enough to beat almost any team, but with the Venari Markstrat in second position getting killed, buffing Agor and Oshuur, then resurrected, and repeating that once again, my team was unstoppable.

Result Lineups Battle
✅WIN✅ image.png ⚔️Link⚔️

splitter.png

7️⃣ Battle 7 of 8 7️⃣

Battle seven was my only loss in the Brawl. We had quite enough mana (49) and again Odd Ones Out (only odd mana monsters available), Holy Protection (everyone gets Divine Shield) and Lost Legendaries rulesets with only Life and Dragon spliters available.
Dragon splinter without its amazing legendary cards is not worth taking, not when I have this new summoner Franz Ruffmane (and already at level 4), who gives my whole team 1 Armor and allows use of one additional Gladiator card.
This was supposed to be an easy match with Marisol Contuma in second place, behind Drybone Barbarian, paired with Captain Katie behind them. But somehow it all fell through and I lost the battle.
Maybe if I didn't try to be smart, expecting my opponent to use Sneak attack like I did, that's why I put Venari Markstrat in last position - hoping it would buff my Sand Worm. I should've put it in the first position to buff my tank, or use some other monster like Stitch Leech.
My opponent had a minimal chance of winning, but everything fell into place for him and he walked all over me.

Result Lineups Battle
❌LOSS❌ image.png ⚔️Link⚔️

splitter.png

8️⃣ Battle 8 of 8 8️⃣

Last battle, battle number eight was a low mana battle, with only 17 mana available and Aim True (attacks always hit their target) ruleset with Fire, Water, Life and Dragon splinter available.
We both went with Water splinter and Kelya Frendul summoner, but while my opponent went with Opportunity attacks I focused my fire forward and that decided the battle.
I had 5 of my 6 monsters attacking, while he only had those 2 opportunity monsters fighting while the rest of the team was waiting their turn to get to first position to be able to attack.

Result Lineups Battle
✅WIN✅ image.png ⚔️Link⚔️

And just like that, we won the brawl! And it was a close one - closest as it can get.

Thank you all for reading this long post. I hope you enjoyed it. See you next time.

splitter.png

If you still haven't tried Splinterlands try it out 👉 HERE 👈

Thank you for your time, and please vote if you like this post. 👍


Credits

Special thanks to:

@carrieallen for ultimate markdown tutorial.
@freeztag for text dividers used in this post.
@splinterlands for images used in this post and for making this great game.
splintercards.com for ability and ruleset descriptions, as well as card price history.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency