Splinterlands Battle Mage - Equal Opportunity

Hello Splinterfans!

This week we have the new Battle Mage Secrets weekly challenge with the ruleset Equal Opportunity.

BMSPL.jpg

This week we have another one of my favorite rulesets. This time it is Equal Opportunity. I generally love monsters that have this ability, so when the whole team gets it, it can make for some fun battles.


Sometimes I have got myself caught out with this ruleset by playing monsters with too little health as they can get picked off fairly quickly and were no use to my line up in the end.


image.png


Invertly, perhaps you have a monster that you want targeted first, even if it has a low health score, like one with the Martyr ability. The equal opportunity ruleset is the perfect time to put them to good effect. I will show you an example of this today.

On to this week's battle.

My Team

This is a mid-mana battle with a focus on melee attack to use the equal opportunity ruleset.

image.png

Summoner/ MonsterReason
Kelya FrendulExtra speed and shield
DiemonsharkFast melee attack
Coastal SentryStrong double-strike
Venari MarksratMartyr ability
DeeplurkerPoison melee attack
Xenith MonkHealing melee attack
Pelacor BanditSneak melee attack

My opponents

image.png

Summoner/ Monster
Kelya Frendul
Diemonshark
Serpent of Eld
River Hellondale
Kulu Swimhunter
Supply Runner
Deeplurker
Scavo Hireling

The rules for the battle are:

image.png

Rise of the CommonsOnly Common and Rare Monsters may be used in battles.
Equal OpportunityAll Monsters have the Opportunity ability.
Weak MagicAlMagic attacks hit Armor before reducing Health.

Battle

Watch the Battle on Splinterlands

or youtube:


ROUND 1 - Diemonshark vs. Diemonshark

image.png

I am surprised that my opponent hasn't included Coastal Sentry in his line up! This has become one of the most powerful cards in the water deck, and to exclude it could be a fatal error I think. Raining down a double-strike attack each turn can turn a match.



Round 1 starts and my opponent buffed by his Supply Runner attacks my weakest monster Venari Marksrat. He falls after the 3rd attack. This was as planned by me because he has the the awesome Martyr ability and will buff the two monsters either side of him with +1.


My strengthened attack of Coastal Sentry is infact +2 because of the double-strike ability! My melee attack takes out their Supply Runner first who then causes my opponent to lose his extra speed buff.



ROUND 2 & 3


Round 2 starts off strong for me with the extra powerful Coastal Sentry nearly takingout Kulu Swimhunter single-handedly. The 1 health score left is then finished off by Deeplurker causing the second fatality for my opponent.


In round 3, I take out their Deeplurker and I suffer my first fatality with Pelacor Bandit holding up the rear falling for me.




ROUND 4


image.png

In round 4, both our Diemonsharks are holding strong in the tank position because of the equal opportunity ruleset, the weaker monsters are picked off first. However, the carnage and lethality of Coastal Sentry is just about to start.

First Serpent of Eld falls, followed by some rapid attacks on Diemonshark are too much for him, even with his 10 health and 2 shield!! My buffed Coastal Sentry and Deeplurker are just too powerful.

ROUND 5

image.png

By round 5, it is just a mop up operation as Scavo Hireling cannot take much more with his 3 health. There isn't enough shield that can save him from the melee attack that rains down upon him.


Summary:

The equal opportunity ruleset is a blast to play at the moment and there are some great combinations that you can play using monsters with the double-strike ability if you have enough mana.

Coastal Sentry is proving very deadly in the water deck to equal that of Grund in the earth deck. Life also has something to offer with Chanesus the Great providing some extra benefits.


How do you play the equal opportunity ruleset?


Thanks for reading.

Credits:

The title image was created in Canva with images from azboomer / Pixabay
Screenshots and characters are taken from Splinterlands.

Click below to Sign Up for Splinterlands:

Do you want to write your own Battle Mage Secrets weekly challenge?
More details about it can be found here.

Let's connect : mypathtofire

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency