My Strategy to get from Gold to Diamond

With all the excitement recently with SplinterFest taking place and some big announcements like the upcoming Rebellion card set and other developments, it can be easy to forget about improving your performance in the game.

We are approaching the end of another season and it was a real struggle to get back into the gold leagues until near the end. It was a combination of my bad gameplay and some weak cards that didn't help me pull off the killer punches.

Last season I was also helped by some great giveaway delegations that I won such as a gold foil Quix the Devious and a gold foil Djinn Oshannus. This season despite having some maxed-out commoner cards, I didn't have a summoner taking advantage of them.

Another consideration is to look at what deck I will play and what are some winning combinations. There is no points upgrading cards you aren't going to play with or are not part of winning combinations. Or is there? I also need to increase my power, so this is another thing to consider.

After watching SplinterlandsTV, I asked some of the OGs there and took some notes. Another thing I did was look at some of the leaderboard players and see what summoners/monster combinations are they fielding.

My favorite earth summoner is Mylor Crowling and I rent usually at level 3. However, this does not give me the full effect of some of my maxed-out common cards. Therefore I am considering renting from now on a level 5 or 6 summoner.

Not all of my common cards are maxed out yet, even for level 3. My focus will be to upgrade some of my most used cards first. I started upgrading them this season and it helped me to get faster to the gold league.

I made sure to upgrade Goblin Psychic as a priority because of this awesome "affliction" ability that is from level 4 onwards that I have been missing out on.

If I rent a level 6 summoner, I would need to upgrade Goblin Psychic to level 7 so that I can take advantage of the additional "silence" ability. So this will be a priority for me in the next days.

Therefore to help me get my nose into diamond, I will be looking at key upgrades like this. Queen Mycelia is also a key legendary card for me, that with a level 6 summoner, allows me to play a level 3 Queen Mycelia and use the extra "Triage" ability. All of these extra abilities would give me an edge and hopefully let me slip into the diamond leagues.

Whether it makes sense to rent or upgrade the card, I am not yet sure.

Why go higher in the league you might ask?


source

According to this chart from Splex.gg, you can see with my current rating in gold, I can earn much more SPS if I move up to the diamond league. Therefore I don't want to sit around picking up these small rewards in silver and gold when there are bigger rewards waiting for me in diamond.

@gadrian had asked how many maxed-out cards I have so far and my progress. I have currently 7 maxed-out gold foil cards and my eighth is nearly done.

With a higher-level summoner, I hope I can take more advantage of their maxed levels.

Merdhampir is at level 8 and should be my eighth maxed-out card.

Do you have plans to climb to a higher league?

What is your strategy?

Thanks for reading.

Credits:

Title image created in Canva using images from source.
All images used from source unless otherwise stated.

SignUp to Splinterlands:

Let's connect: mypathtofire

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency