Battle Mage Secrets Weekly Battle Challenge! (Odd Ones Out)

eq_banner.png

I love the idea that the Weekly Battle Challenge changed instead of featuring a monster to represent a ruleset. It is so good to do something different than usual and I hope they will continually do this in the future. The best way would be to mix these challenges, so every week would be more interesting.

This week we need to show a ruleset, which is the Odd Ones Out and the way I used it to my (dis)advantage in the Battle I played. 😇

My only problem with this new system is that it is very difficult to do battles with the specific ruleset featured for the week challenge, because it is random what you are going to get and even if you have that ruleset you need to win it somehow, which is not always easy. 😏

cyxkEVqiiLy4DPBjkBUpHLa5BveiwwCF68r6dwnuwyJ83irrm9vifuZPPsZ9rHCspcaYAFAiH1YKWVBfu9Uex3fnxYLhEmBVAvuE3vXLDQeR6kBVMErzTMadvxnaymfwFRo.gif

image.pngOnly units with odd mana costs may be used.image.png
Summoners are not affected by this rule.

This ruleset makes everyones life a bit easier, because it effectively halves the monster pool you can choose your monsters from by using only the ones with the Odd number of mana cost. The Even Stevens ruleset is the exact opposite, where you can only use with the Even number mana cost of monsters.

Playing with this ruleset it is much easier to predict what you opponent might pick and there is a much higher chance for mirror matches as well, so need to outsmart your opponent! 😉

cyxkEVqiiLy4DPBjkBUpHLa5BveiwwCF68r6dwnuwyJ83irrm9vifuZPPsZ9rHCspcaYAFAiH1YKWVBfu9Uex3fnxYLhEmBVAvuE3vXLDQeR6kBVMErzTMadvxnaymfwFRo.gif

battle_ruleset.png

image.png

RulesetDescription
Rise of the CommonsOnly Common and Rare Monsters may be used in battles.
Close RangeRanged attacks may be used in the first position in battles.
Odd Ones OutOnly Monsters with odd Mana costs may be used in battles.

The mana cap was 59, which is quite a lot and almost the maximum except of the 99 one. I got three different rulesets and one of them, which is the Rise of the Commons are another ruleset that restricts the available monsters to choose from. This made setting up the lineup especially difficult, because there was not much monsters left in my collection and I had to choose some level one's (*which normally I wouldn't do) in order to have a chance winning this battle. 😲

diablo_divider_no3_dragon_top.png

My lineup and the decision behind it!

Summoner
Quix the Devious

image.png

Quix the Devious is a Dragon Splinter whom gives -1 Ranged and Speed to all of his freindly monsters, but more importantly I am able to use their monsters in order to use a bigger pool of monsters. Sadly the Dragon Splinter doesn't have too much Common and Rare monster, but at least I got their tank. 😁

diablo_divider_no1_dragon.png

Main Tank
Gloridax Soldier

image.png

I used the Gloridax Soldier as my main tank from the Dragon Splinter and being as a Rare card I could use him. He has Flying, which will give him extra chance to dodge an attack if it is Melee or Ranged and he also has the Shield ability, which will halves all the incoming Melee and Ranged attacks.

Let's just hope my opponent wouldn't bring too much Magic attack monster. 😅

diablo_divider_no1_dragon.png

Damage Dealer
Gobson Bomber

image.png

Gobson the Bomber is one of the new reward card and such I was able to upgrade him to Level 6 without any difficulty. I do not really use him in normal battles, but in here he was quite helpful, because he has the Piercing ability and +2 Ranged damage. 😜

diablo_divider_no1_dragon.png

Damage Dealer
Gargoya Devil

image.png

I started to use the Gargoya Devil much more frequently recently, because he has a lot of Ranged damage and he is able to attack from the first position as well thanks to his Closr Range ability. (The Close Range ruleset gives the same to all of the monsters on the battlefield)

His only weakness is that he doesn't have a lot of Health and almost any of the enemy monsters are able to one shot him. 😆

diablo_divider_no1_dragon.png

Sneaker Damage Dealer
Sand Worm

image.png

I used to use the Sand Worm a lot a year ago, but when the Chaos Legion and Riftwatchers expansion came out suddenly there were a lot of much better monster than this Worm. The special rulesets for this battle made me to choose this monster again as there was not too much option, but I am happy that I did, because he was pretty strong here!

He has a lot of damage and the Sneak ability, so he will target the last monster from the enemy team, but he need some luck in order to hit his target thanks to his lack of Speed. 🤣

diablo_divider_no1_dragon.png

My only Odd Damage Dealer
Goblin Chariot

image.png

The Goblin Chariot is another filler monster and Ichoosed him, because he has +2 Ranged damage and he is an Odd monster. He doesn't have any ability on Level 1, so my reason is that I couldn't use a better monster than him. 🤗

diablo_divider_no1_dragon.png

Melee De-buffer and Backline Protector
Disintegrator

image.png

The Disintegrator is an anti Melee Melee monster, because he has the Demorlaize ability, which will decrease the Melee attack of all the enemy monsters by one. I used him at the back of my lineup to give some protection against the enemy Sneak monsters, which worked perfectly. 😆

diablo_divider_no3_dragon_bottom.png


test_sword_divider.png

image.png

Click on the picture for the replay

image.png

My opponent brought Thaddius Brood and the Death deck in order to use their best Odd monsters. His Summoner will decrease my monsters Magic attack and Health by one.

In the first round not much happened both teams are exchanged some of their damage and the second round will be more interesting. 😉

The second round started losing my tank and also his tank died as well, but my tank was much more stronger. Luckily my Sand Worm was lucky enough to hit the Silent Sha-vi twice killing him at the end of the round. 😁

His Life Sapper is quite strong in the Rise of the Commons ruleset, because he has the Life Leech ability, which will increase his own Health with every damage he does.

My Sand Worm killed his main damage dealer the Soul Strangler, which helped a lot for my team. 😊

My opponent had only two monsters left on the battlefield, so it was easy to finish off his remaining monsters. 🤗

The Sand Worm was clearly the king of the monster in this battle even thought I used a Level 1 version of him, so I might to start to use him more often in the future again! 😎


diablo_divider_non_fig2.png


I like to help new players 😉, so if you are just starting this game and you can use my referral link to sign-up and also write me a message on Discord (LordDiablooo#3750), so I will send you 100 DEC and few key cards (delegated for an entire season) to kick off your career in Splinterlands. 😊


If you would like to use some of my dividers I have created for your blog feel free to use them following this link. 😉


Thank you so much 🙏 that you took the time to read my Weekly Battle Challenge.
I hope it was informative and you liked it. 🤞

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency