Splinterlands Mystery Card Challenge #1 ~ Winner: @dtam

I decided to open the six booster packs from daily and season-end rewards across three seasons. I didn't necessarily want to wait over 50 days; I just didn't want to open them one pack at a time. But I guess the wait was worth it? I got lucky this time with one of the packs.

Lately, I feel like I'm getting a lot of good stuff from #splinterlands. Both as a direct and indirect result of playing the game. So, I wanted to share some of the joy with other players. At the end of this post, there's a hidden message mystery of sorts. The first player to give the correct answer wins the card reward.

No, the card prize ain't the pull I got from the Chaos packs. But it's still something you'd like, I think. Go ahead and skip to the end if you want to try solving it right away.



Surprises from Chaos Packs Earned from Chest Rewards


The first pack I opened was rubbish (and so was the fifth) 😆. At that point, I'm trying not to mind it too much. I got the packs for free anyway. I did spend some DEC on rentals, though.

The second and third were pretty good. I got an Epic Magi of Chaos in one pack and a Gold Disintegrator in another. Both are Neutral types, so they generally trade for higher prices than colored-splinter monsters.

But the one that got me cheering was the fourth pack. I got a Gold summoner, and it's Obsidian to boot! It's one of the pricier ones among all Chaos summoners. Using magic-heavy teams with +1 buff is a formidable strategy, so Obsidian is a pretty popular card.


When I checked its price, I was surprised it was trading for over $33. I debated whether I'd keep it. Level 2 Obsidian would do me good in battles. But I concluded that if I'd really want a level 2 Obsidian, I should just purchase or rent a cheaper non-gold card.


So up to the market listing, she goes. 😌




Comparing Estimated Pack Worth with Actual Card Values


Let's check how much the RNG powers-that-be favored me. I got a fantastic pull in one pack, but how about the others?

According to Peakmonsters Pack Stats, the estimated value of one pack if you use both Legendary and Alchemy potions is $3.365. If no potions were used, the expected pack value is a lot lower at $2.232. But since I got a surplus of potions, opening six booster packs won't be a problem.


Here's the calculated value of each pack based on the most recent sales of each card.

column1Best CardCalculated Total Pack WorthVerdict
Pack 1Rare Scavo Firebolt$0.41Below Expected
Pack 2Epic Magi of Chaos$2.44Somewhat Good
Pack 3Gold Common Disintegrator$2.25Somewhat Good
Pack 4Gold Rare Obsidian$33.70Way Beyond Expected
Pack 5Rare Scavo Firebolt$0.37Below Expected
Pack 6Rare Obsidian$3.65Good
Total Worth$42.81Amazing!

I got two terrible packs, three okay-ish, and one exceptional. The affair would have ended in disappointment if it weren't for Gold Obsidian. That card alone was ten times the expected worth of one pack.


Then, it got Sold?!


I tagged Gold Obsidian for sale before I started writing this blog. But halfway through, someone bought it. I wasn't expecting the card to go that fast.

Obsidian, you will be missed ...


I'll probably make another post about how I spent the profits from the sale. And maybe have another giveaway challenge if this first one would have participants lol.

So, let's get to it already.



The Mystery Card Giveaway Challenge



Winner: dtam
He gave the correct answer within a few minutes after I published the post.
Anyone can still view the challenge and answer, but no other prizes will be given, sorry!



Basic rules:
Only active players of Splinterlands may join.
One answer per comment so it'll be easier for me to check.
Maximum of two answers per person.



The Challenge:
Figure out the name of the prize card hidden here.


Er ...

Is it difficult?

Don't overthink it. It's easy.





Want to earn while having fun? Join Splinterlands.

Like the GIF on this post? Make your own using Canva.

Attributions:
----------
Splinterland assets are owned by Splinterlands. Images are composite work from premium and free assets Designed by Freepik. Gif created with Canva and optimized with XConvert.

Posted using Splintertalk

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency