When You're Never Too Close

When strategizing in Splinterlands, it's important to consider the unique strengths and weaknesses of each monster in your deck. That’s the beauty of this game. For example, while ranged monsters can deal significant damage from a distance, they have a significant weakness - they cannot attack in the first position. Unless the Close Range rule comes in. Under this rule, General Sloan is a popular choice of summoner for many players. However, rather slow Life ranged monsters may be eliminated before they get a chance to strike. The battle I want to share also had a rather low mana cap so I opted out for Bortus hoping that my cards could evade physical attacks and endure the magic ones when they will be weakened by Bortus’ debuff. Yes, it worked. Let's have a closer look at my strategy.

image.png

In a recent battle with a low mana cap, I opted to use Venari Marksrat as an unusual tank to sacrifice in favor of my damage dealer in the second position. This proved to be a successful strategy, even when facing Kelya Frendul.

My keen card in this set was Djinn Oshannus, which was able to deal up to 3 damage per round with the Martyr buff while evading ranged and melee attacks with some luck. With such a low mana cap, few monsters could stand up to a buffed Djinn Oshannus for long.

Although I couldn't afford to use Merdaali Guardian due to the lack of mana points, I still had two points left for Halfling Alchemist. This versatile monster can significantly reduce the attack power of any monster it hits, potentially turning the battle in your favor. In this battle, however, its ability had no use, but it still managed to deal some damage and eliminate my opponent's healer.

Finally, Torrent Fiend was supposed to play a minor role in the battle as cannon fodder. While I hoped it would attract at least one hit and save my other monsters, it ultimately wasn't necessary.

image.png

The Battle

Thanks to my strategy, there was no actual battle, but rather a slaughter of the harmless. Debuffed Djinn Oshannus couldn’t harm mine and Merdaali Guardian just prolonged Djinn's suffering until it died itself. Then it was just a matter of time.

Here's the link to the battle.

Posted using Splintertalk

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency