MY CHEAP MONSTER SAGA: Let's Beat Out Agor Longtail And Oshuur Constantia

Hi all, my fellow Splinterlands gamers, welcome back to my weekly Splinterlands Post. Starting today I will make my own Post Theme regularly, called as MY CHEAP MONSTERS SAGA. I don't have fancy super strong and expensive monsters from Rift Watcher or Untamed, so overall is undeniable my deck is a cheap one.

Why do I pick this theme? Because I feel very happy each time I beat out any opponent using ridiculously a cheap deck or a so so/standard deck. While some like to rant and bitching about having unbalanced super strong opponents, some like me in contrary looking those guys and expect to beat them using our standard decks.

I hope this theme can be accepted as encouragement to fellow Splinterlands players, so they can rise up their spirit and keep on playing regardless we have to fight some rich players. I don't have any intention to insult or mock my opponents here, my win might be a pure RNG luck, or maybe you just misread the rulesets... win or lose this just a battle, nothing personal.

So this is my Cheap Monsters Saga for this week:

A massive win in Summun Infuria Modern Silver Invitational Tournament. I like to join and play in some tournament for fun only. I know well with my limited selection deck, there is no way I can win the tourney. However having this kind of win becomes a major mood booster for me, it likes telling me "look my deck can win heavy battle too"

My opponent's deck was very impressive, he had Agor Longtail, Carnage Titan Oshuur Contantia, and Runemancer Kye... what an expensive deck he brought to this battle, too bad my cheap monsters beat them out.

Let's see how this battle in detailed below:

hive divider - thepeakstudio.png

image.png

~CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE FOR SEEING THE FULL BATTLE REPLAY~

Why did I came up with Earth Element All Magic? Well first I saw we have Briar Patch ruleset, thorns would be everywhere. Having melee was something I wanted to avoid, so the option was ony for magic or range. Unfortunately my range monsters mostly were the life ones, which was unavailable in this battle.

Likely or not, I chose the all magic and it seemed Earth was the best choice that time. Pretty much dull thought right? well this dull one was the winner anyway 😎. Ok let see how the line up was set

PositionCardAbilityPlan and Strategy
Summoner+1 Magic DamageSimple but destructive, that's what I call Obsidian's +1 magic damage is. Earth element has many good mages, so Obsidian will perform greatly here
Main TankVoid, CamouflageI set him as the main tank, so I would not need his camouflage ability. During Equalizer ruleset, Djinn Biljka can become a thick antimage tank. His health would be bigger and his void will be a wall for incoming magic attacks.
SecondFlyThis bird is the key, she doesn't look very strong however her fast speed might be the winning key, because she will keep hitting first. She is the backup tank too, incase Djinn Biljka fallen. Her high speed and fly ability hopefully make her a strong tank by dodging some melee and range attacks.
ThirdnoneI need his 2 magic attacks, nothing more. A good additional to damage build up team.
FourthTank Heal, AfflictionMy favorite Earth Element healer, I believe he should be one of the best common monsters in Chaos Legion Set, competing with the DeepLurker. His affliction is very important, it will stop all healing on opponent tanks.
FifthProtect, AmplifyQueen Mycelia is the only monster in my deck which is not a cheap one. In this battle, she is a must have one. Her amplify will boost up +1 thorn damage and this will kill melee opponents faster. Protect is a great one too, adding 2 physical armor to everyone.
LastTauntEveryone favorite backline taunting tank. In my opinion she is the most effective taunting monsters from Chaos Legion, Wave Brood from water element seems great however Wave Brood can not deliver damage as Slipspawn does.

ROUND 1

  • The battle started with both party buffed up their team and debuffed opponent's team
  • My opponent came with 7 Melee damage, 2 range damage, and 6 magic damage. combined all they became 15 damage per round. They still had Carnage Titan double strike which will add 3 more melee damage.
  • My team had a total 17 magic damage. A simple whole mage squad.
  • As predicted, Regal Peryton made the opening attack, followed by opponent Agor Longtail.
  • My Goblin Psychic killed Agor in last move, however Oshuur Constantia resurrected him.

ROUND 2

  • Things went ugly this round. Carnage Titan killed my Djinn Biljka. Then its River Hellondale turn to kill my Slipspawn too.
  • My team manage to kill Agor Longtail again, however River Hellondale resurrected him this time. Agor backed to the battle for the second time

ROUND 3

  • Round 3 started with 6 vs 4 condition, however my Regal Peryton moved first killing Agor Longtail and made it 5 vs 4.
  • Goblin Psychic closed this round by killing the Carnage Titan

ROUND 4

  • River Hellondale killed my Regal Preyton, oh gosh I hated him so much because he kept delivering the finishing blow.

ROUND 5 AND SO ON

Wow this turned out to be a long battle, 12 rounds to finish them because their Kyle and Medhampir managed to get a very high health from Life Leech ability. In the beginning my team was losing however they managed to turn the table around. Good Game.

hive divider - thepeakstudio.png

CLOSURE AND DISCUSSION

Why Did My Cheap Army Win?

My team initially was losing for sure. I lost two my main monsters and they still had 6 monsters in Round 3. However after round 5, everything was changed, and they kept losing. so what do happen in that battle?

The First 2 Rounds

Almost in all battle, the first round is the Prowess Contest of the monsters. Definitely they won this contest, Agor attacked twice per round, Carnage Titan did the same too. This was the main reason why my team was a bit crumbled in the beginning.

Undeniable opponent monsters were alot stronger. They came up with more Legendary Monsters, not just legendary monsters, but the strong and expensive ones.

The Ruleset Killing Them Badly

They had great monsters, so great that they ignored the rulesets. Because this was a modern tournament, I doubted he was a bot. or atleast the odds he was a bot was very slim. So I guessed that he was very proud of his expensive monsters and not paying attention to those rulesets.

There are 2 big mistake about rulesets he made:

  1. Carnage Titan was killed mainly due to Thorns. The main reason he lost carnage Titan was because of Thorn, do not forget that I had Queen Mycelia who made the thorn damage worse. If He changed that Carnage Titan with other big hitter, such as Nerissa Tridawn, I might be out of the game
  2. No healers and Repair. The reason I could keep up with his monsters was because of Tank Heal from my Goblin Psychic. If he brought healers, things might be more intense however I was prepared to counter that with Goblin Affliction ability. But still, it would be more intense

Runamancer Kyle was a Redundant Tank, Not Connect Well

Runemancer Kyle is a great monster, I am rooting for her... However this battle is not for her. He shoud use Axemaster or Other big attack monster, instead of Runemaster Kyle who is a pseudo Magi-Tank. in this battle, he brought too many tanks and that killed his damage build up.

Nerissa Tridawn or Magi of Chaos is the perfect replacement for that Kyle, and both are cheap. Well At least cheap monsters keep you check on what you need

Ok that's all for today post. Have fun with your battles!!

hive divider - thepeakstudio.png


https://splinterlands.com?ref=dewabrata

Thank you for visiting my Social Media Challenge, don't forget to leave your comments and feedback below. There are credits in this post for these people:

  • @splinterlands : for holding weekly social media challenge events
  • carrieallen : for ultimate markdown tutorial
  • thepeakstudio : for wonderful divider arts
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency