DOES A BOT CRACKDOWN IMMINENT? My thoughts on Town Hall

Hello Splinterlands Fam,

There was another Town Hall and I'm here to share my thoughts on some of the stuff that I find important to share with you. The main topics was code restructuring and bot problem.


First, here is the town hall recording from Splinterlands

Let's go:

Code Restructuring:

Because I’m an architect I know what they are doing. It’s like you have a 24/7 working diner. And you need reworking on your place. But you can’t just stop working. So they are doing that rework while SPL still works. Do you know how hard it is to do that? Well I know, I had customers that asked the same thing. So you get things done in phases but sometimes a customer or so is affected. Well, the important thing is to keep the diner working :)

Still no exact times pronounced but tech modernization seems to be finishing up. Then comes the non-card market. Then land.

Modern-wild code finished. Ranked rewards are being implemented. These are like big tentacled octopuses that are related and touch so many different sections.

Creative Works:

Creative already prepared all screens for Modern/Wild. Right now it doesn’t make you a consistent player. You make your dailies and bye. Aggy gave the Civ example and I agree with him.

Mancer Explaining why the new system is human friendly

He said ECR will keep humans more advantageous over Bots. Ok, that bot explanation is not so satisfying, ECR is already here and it seems it doesn’t affect botting at all. A bot software can stop you at 75 and refreshes so when there’s enough it plays again. I’m sorry. The main problem is how you make people play one account instead of bot-farming and this doesn't have anything to do with ECR.

Guild Store Update:

Mancer said something about an expansion to guild store, hmm. I really want more details on that.

Ranked Rewards:

Everyone will open the same amount of chests but the league changes and the quality changes. That's I think very fine for the newly starters.

Tournaments

Weirdbeard said no matter what he does he's pissing somebody. I can relate to that. But I must say that tourneys as it is, still not engaging me that much cause I don't have the teams for that. I usually win 1/3 of matches and I get eliminated. So I'm not getting pissed but still waiting for that thing that would match me with the people that have nearly the same power so what we will compete for is how we react to a ruleset in 2 minutes' time! This nearly works in the leagues, you get the same power rivals. Can this be done according to your rating maybe? Use rating for Tournaments, at least some of them!

Aggy gets angry at Bots this time, why?

I really liked @bulldog1205 started speaking and articulated some real concerns from the players. I don't know why these concerns were filtered before but hey, it's good to hear them now. At one point he said new ranked rewards changes may make things worse.

Now, this is what made Aggy a little bit angry on that matter: When a bot farmer has hundreds of bots, they certainly also fight each other. And they can make their system like leveraging the more important bot. This sounds like rigging, isn't it? So I think we finally take Aggy's attention and he will make some changes!

Let's talk about SPLTOOLS

Ok, I think other than all the other tools and bots out there, we should talk about spltools. It's a cutting-edge tool coming from a very brilliant team and it's so useful. I know that many high league players are using it. It's not botting but when you choose your team this tool gives you your win rate. If you choose a lousy team then it shows that probably you'll lose! So that's like you are using a Tesla, I think most people can understand this. It stops you from making dumb choices and assists you. Or this:

And also before the rival name was removed it was also checking your rival and telling you which team your rival has been using in scenarios like this. I have a gut feeling like this update was specifically made in order to stop this usage because this was a very unrightful advantage!

So we only have a win-rate checker tool, the rival check is gone. But still, I should ask this to @aggroed , do you think this is cheating or not? For me, it's really giving you an advantage over other players. And I used it this month and I saw that I want that on my toolset. It's brilliant, it just warns you if you choose a lousy hand. And it's a paid service. It's better than a bot so you tell me!

My Thoughts on Bot Stuff

I'm a little bit like Kasparov and I also like using Deep Blue too. But I like to play when I have the energy(actual human energy) and time. And with my limited time, I just want to have the freedom to choose to play against people or bots. It might take 5 minutes to find a human player, that's fine!

Yesterday, when I'm rising on the ladder, bots were so tasty snacks. And later, when my energy lowered (actual human energy and stamina) I lost 4 games against bots because they choose the most boring and solid teams according to the data they gathered from historical matches. So I stuck at some point where I choose to beat a bot according to their weaknesses or try to come up with some new experimental stuff. It's sometimes so tiring to choose to find new ways because those bots are like hammering you whenever you have weaknesses. So, sometimes I just want a human player, a human player, please sometimes I just want to make research on people, not bots!

Last season I was at the edge of Gold 1/Diamond 3 and there were so many human players. It was like a dream, everybody had their own style, their own characters. But when I stumbled upon a bot, I saw 1-2 tricks they use.

One thing is when you hid those rival names we are also stripped of the capability to understand if we are fighting against a bot or a human! I want to know who I'm against, that's all I'm asking for now!

LICENCE THE BOT FARMERS, LICENCE THE BOTS, I WANT TO KNOW IF I'M PLAYING AGAINST A BOT AND IF I DON'T WANT TO PLAY AGAINST THEM I WANT THE FREEDOM TO REJECT PLAYING AGAINST A BOT!

Thanks for reading and really looking for your ideas and thoughts on comments.

Take care!


Join Splinterlands, Play and Earn!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency