Splinterlands Community Engagement Challenge โ€” ๐Ÿ”ช HALFLING REFUGEE ๐Ÿ”ช "Just 1 Mana To Rule Them All"

Untitled design.png

HELLO to all Splinterlands readers of my humble blog.๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป Welcome to yet another week of the "new" iteration of the Splinterlands Weekly Challenges ๐Ÿ˜œ. The "old" Battle Challenges are now a thing of the past (at least for this week?) and they have been replaced with the "Splinterlands Community Engagement Challenge: Rebellion Reward Card Reviews".

For any old Hivers/Splinterland players who've just come back and are confused, fret not! Even with the name and format tweaks, right at it's core, battles are still the foundation of these posts.

In this week's edition of my Rebellion Reward Card Review, I will attempt to showcase how one (or more) of the NEW reward cards play a significant role in turning the tides of battle for my team in order to secure a win!

hive dividers-12.png

No matter! I present to you the card โ€” HALFLING REFUGEE.

I will take advantage of this card in my battle showcase today to show how my team becomes a lot stronger than one would expect with HALFLING REFUGEE. So without further ado, let me introduce that card to you! ๐ŸŽ‰


image.png

Since the Chaos Empire conquered Praeotria, the land has seen a refugee crisis the likes of which it has never before known. With major cities and smaller villages alike torn apart by war, famine, and disease, very few sanctuaries remain.

In the Great Lowlands, many of these refugees travel to Fireboro, where the republicโ€™s former chancellor and those loyal to him have established safe havens for those who lost their homes to the empire. Among them are the Republic of Fireboroโ€™s Praetorian halflings, whose shires were mostly destroyed by the legions of Chaos. They remain defiant, yet itโ€™s hard to keep fighting the good fight when youโ€™ve lost everything you hold dear.

From Splinterlands Lore on HALFLING REFUGEE


HALFLING REFUGEE is an Epic card released during the Soulbound Rebellion Rewards expansion. At LEVEL 1, it has 2 โš”๏ธ ATTACKโš”๏ธ and 3 ๐Ÿƒ๐ŸปSPEED๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿป, with 0 ๐Ÿ›ก๏ธARMOR๐Ÿ›ก๏ธ and 6 โค๏ธHEALTHโค๏ธ. It has the WEARY ability. It's summoning cost is 1 ๐ŸงชMANA๐Ÿงช.

hive dividers-12.png

As a unit itself, HALFLING REFUGEE might look lacklustre. It has a very low casting cost and all it seems to have is a very average Health stat and Melee Attack Damage. For those kind of stats, you might be better served with a much better card in it's place.

However, what is often overlooked is it's 1 mana cost ability! This is an amazingly low cost unit which I would consider to be on par with, or even better than the Legendary 0 mana units. It can almost certainly be slotted into any team with a card slot to spare and it'll shine even more in low mana battles! Taking this into consideration, it's "average" stats suddenly make it look like a monster instead!

This could make all the difference if the battle comes down to the wire where the slightest advantage is the fine line between victory or defeat! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป This is definitely what I'd consider game changing! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

hive dividers-12.png

โš”๏ธ๐Ÿ›ก๏ธMy Battle Showcase๐Ÿ›ก๏ธโš”๏ธ

hive dividers-12.png

Let me present a battle I fought recently in which the Rebellion Reward Card HALFLING REFUGEE was in use. My opponent used the Chaos Legion edition Summoner Kelya Frendul from the WATER splinter as his main pick, while I used the Chaos Legion edition Summoner Kelya Frendul from the WATER splinter too. ๐Ÿ’ง VS ๐Ÿ’ง

At first glance, it would seem like I was at a distinct disadvantage.

  • My opponent was using a Summoner which was at MAXIMUM level as compared to mine who was just a lowly level 4!

  • His units were similarly completely maxed out!

  • He even had a level 4 max Legendary card which had more buffs on it that I could count at his backline.

  • To exacerbate matters, the ruleset for this match gave OPPORTUNITY to all units, which would mean my fragile units would be picked off even more easily.

I was honestly expecting this to be a really bad matchup for me ๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿคฃ. This was a team who had an innate advantage in this ruleset. His team had one purpose only and that was to counter my team and destroy me completely. Would I be able to turn the tide of battle against such an opponent then? Victory or defeat would lie in the small details.

I would say that the Rebellion HALFLING REFUGEE was DEFINITELY the MVP of this match, having played it's role in turning the tide of battle. The advantage it gave my team resulted in me outlasting my opponent in this battle. It definitely provided the edge that I needed to overcome my opponent.

This ensured that the other units could eventually wear down the opponent until victory was achieved! ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ†



image.png

LINK TO MY FIGHT

hive dividers-12.png

๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ‘ฏ๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™‚๏ธLINEUP CHOICES๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ‘ฏ๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™‚๏ธ

hive dividers-12.png

Torrent Fiend_lv1.png

1st CARD SLOT

The Torrent Fiend occupies this slot. It's main role here is to be a "zero cost" sacrificial unit.


2nd CARD SLOT

The Halfling Refugee is chosen for this slot. He plays the role of the Main tank perfectly with his great stats. His high Health and Speed stats AND the WEARY ability will also allow him to have much longer staying power on the battlefield. This allows all other units to be kept safe until he is taken down.


Venari Marksrat_lv1.png

3rd CARD SLOT

Venari Marksrat occupies this slot. It's purpose is to do some minor ranged damage and the sacrifice itself to boost adjacent units thanks to the MARTYR ability.


Diemonshark_lv1.png

4th CARD SLOT

The Diemonshark occupies this slot. Safely protected in the middle, it's role is to destroy the enemy units with it's great stats and TRAMPLE ability.


Cruel Sethropod_lv1.png

5th CARD SLOT

Cruel Sethropod occupies this slot. It's role is simply being a low cost unit protecting the backline.


Hardy Stonefish_lv1.png

6th CARD SLOT

The Hardy Stonefish occupies this slot. It's role is to be the backline tank with it's low cost and good stats.

I hope you're starting to see the pattern here in my team setup. ๐Ÿ˜‰

hive dividers-12.png

โš”๏ธ๐Ÿ›ก๏ธBattle Action Report๐Ÿ›ก๏ธโš”๏ธ

hive dividers-12.png

image.png

As you can see, both of us fielded very different units in our matchup. My opponent went mainly for High cost and hard hitting DPS units, while I mostly had an army of low cost units. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

๐ŸŒŠWATER๐ŸŒŠ VS ๐ŸŒŠWATER๐ŸŒŠ


My opponent used the Diemonshark as his tank in the 1st slot which was a VERY good choice. With his great defensive stats and high ARMOUR, this is a unit which will protect it's entire team until it falls.

Deeplurker occupied his 2nd slot and was another great choice. It's OPPORTUNITY ability allowed it to attack, while it made for a great backup tank too!

His Venator Kinjo occupied the 3rd slot, being able to deal a bit of DPS whilst protected by its CAMOUFLAGE ability.

His Torrent Fiend occupied the last slot, being able to deal a bit of DPS whilst being a free backline sacrificial unit.

All in all, I would say that the opponent picked a really strong team.


The battle started out with all our units just duking it out pound for pound. It was a low mana game with 20 mana as the limit. The rulesets were LOST MAGIC & EQUAL OPPORTUNITY.

  • The first round saw both our sides launch a flurry of attacks. However, despite all that, both sides only lost their Torrent Fiends. Albeit one was in the front and the other was at the back.

  • Round 2 saw my Venari Marksrat killed by the opponent's Deeplurker. Fortunately, this was expected and even encouraged as it meant 2 of my units would now be boosted thanks to MARTYR.

  • Round 3 saw my boosted Diemonshark kill off the opponent's extremely dangerous max level Deeplurker. This was a godsend as it meant his most dangerous unit was now taken off the board.

  • Nothing much happened in Round 4 but I lost my Halfling Refugee and Hardy Stonefish in Round 5. This was looking really bad for me.

  • Round 6 was really interesting. Even though my Diemonshark managed to kill the opponent's Diemonshark, his higher level ability allowed him to RETALIATE to kill my unit too.

  • This brought the match down to a showdown between his Venator Kinjo and my Cruel Sethropod. Against all odds, I managed to outlast him by a the smallest of margin as my Cruel Sethropod landed the killing blow on Venator Kinjo before he did!

  • It was all over for the opponent now as I eventually mopped up his entire army. ๐Ÿ’€๐Ÿ’€๐Ÿ’€

Talk about doing WAY MORE than it was supposed to!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿคฏ๐Ÿฅณ All I expected was for the HALFLING REFUGEE Rebellion Reward Card to give me a slight advantage. Individually, on their own, my units would face a huge disadvantage against an enemy which was simply far higher levelled and superior to mine. However, thanks to my choice of the HALFLING REFUGEE, I was able to turn the tide of battle! The opponent simply could not handle all that at all.

Well as you can see here in the link and screenshot of my battle, the results were pretty good! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

This was truly an eye opener! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ†

Slowly, but surely, I wore down the opponent's team and the match ended up with me inflicting a crushing defeat. My team selection proved to be the edge I needed to eventually overpower my opponent. ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿป

hive dividers-12.png

๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎHindsight is 20/20๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ

hive dividers-12.png

Would I have done anything differently? ๐Ÿค” This might have seemed like a disadvantage at the start but I ended up winning handily. IF I had to use the same cards again, there would be no better lineup than what I had already used for the match. Any other combination MIGHT have resulted in a loss for me. I'm really satisfied with the results against such a worthy opponent. ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿฅ‡

hive dividers-12.png

๐Ÿ’ญ๐Ÿง๐Ÿ’ญEnding Thoughts๐Ÿ’ญ๐Ÿง๐Ÿ’ญ

hive dividers-12.png




I definitely can appreciate the Rebellion Reward Card HALFLING REFUGEE and how it changes the dynamics of usual gameplay. This is one of those cards which can be turned into a huge advantage if surrounded with the proper team. The role it brings to the battlefield will give a player the edge in squeezing out every tiny advantage to get the win. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

I hope this article has given you some insight into its potential. ๐Ÿ˜‰


splinterlandsGIF.gif

To any new players who wish to explore the world of Splinterlands, do feel free to sign up with my REFERRAL LINK ๐Ÿ˜Š.


pizzabrawlshort.gif

I am also a member of the SPLINTERLANDS PIZZA guild and the PIZZA community.

PIZZA is an active gaming and creative arts crypto community on the HIVE blockchain. Popular games on HIVE like SPLINTERLANDS, RISING STAR, EXODE, HASHKINGS, WOO, TERRACORE have their own PIZZA communities here.

Don't miss out more events that are always being organised. Join the PIZZA DISCORD. Even if you aren't interested in the ๐Ÿ’ฐ๐Ÿ•๐ŸŽGIVEAWAYS & AIRDROPS๐Ÿ’ฐ๐Ÿ•๐ŸŽ, there is a vibrant and friendly community there awaiting you.

hivepizzasmall.png

CLICK THIS LINK TO JOIN PIZZA DISCORD!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency