Weekly Challenge Shark Attack - Wave Runner !!

image.png

Hey Summoners,

For this week's Challenge battle i bring you, Wave Runner....The shark creature with 2 pair of eyes, one to see underwater and one to scout the skies for unsuspecting prey above. Now as for the card i feel at lvls 1-3 its pretty subpar and very situational usage. Why ? I would say its mainly due to the mana cost and at that 5 mana cost range for water there are better alternatives like Water Elemental or Sniping Narwhal. Or the more popular brother Saber Shark with Sneak and a Lower Mana cost.

Although at lvl 5 the shark gets some pretty good upgrade in terms of damage and Knockout. With this now he can actually do something as Water have some pretty stacked Stun monsters....might worth to try the combo,


image.png


The Battle Rules

League @ Silver 2

image.png

  • 50 Mana
  • Close Range
  • Equalizer
  • Water, Death and Dragon Splinter

Strategy

So Close Range means my Ranged monsters can attack in first position, usually they cant and Equalizer makes all monsters, both mine and opponent's Health Equals to the Monster with Highest Base Health.

Equalizer is an awesome ruleset that makes those monsters with low health suddenly be able to tank well...now this just perfect to try out a lvl 1 Wave Runner.

And with 50 mana this give me a lot room to play around, normally in Equalizer i try not to put high Health monsters (so my Enemy wont benefit from my High Health, in fact i will be be one benefiting), which usually means low mana monsters...but 50 mana i really need to balance this out.

Eventually after a nearly getting timed-out i came out with the following line-up using good ol Daria Dragonscale.


The Lineup

image.png

Summoner of my choice is Daria as im going for a mostly Melee Damage line up, that extra Damage might enable me to take out the opponent back line fast. Daria is a Gold Foil Card at lvl 2. Rented it a day before to rank up as its near end of the Season.

  • Gloridax Soldier
    I loveee using him as a tank in Equalizer battles. Having Flying and Shield ability makes him a decent Cheap Mana cost tank with Equalizer as normally he has too low Health to last longer.

  • Wave Runner
    With that extra Melee damage & Reach, Wave Runner makes a decent 2nd liner in this case.

  • Goblin Mech
    The heavy hitter in case my front 2 is dead...i hoped by then they will also have 1 or 2 dead for him to do his work

  • Sand Worm
    Sneak and a whopping 6 Melee damage with Daria's buff makes this an effective backline killer...if he hits...lol

  • Axe Master
    Got to have him, one of the best ranged card in the game....High Damage and Speed....with Close Range this is no slouch. Ranged version of Silvershield Assasin.

  • War Channg
    Lastly the high mana cost rule allows me to fit this War Elephant. This is to bait my enemy's Sneak attack and activate the Retaliate !!

When the cards revealed i would say i was quite surprised at the Old Man Wizard as i peeked at my enemy's past battle and it was mostly Fire, Earth and Dragon Splinter...so this one caught me by surprise and i kinda feel less confident on winning due to the fact that my Monsters cant protect against Magic...


The Battle

https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_fb0975edc94ec3aef60d63be9feb8f7b

image.png

At the Start of Round 2 i am looking a lil bit worried as my Tank is dead !! The Guardian is not built to withstand magic attacks and it quickly fell, but i still feel i have some chance once i get thru their tank as my damage output is way more.

image.png

By Round 3 the highlight of today's article is gone and so is their tank. My confidence began to build up as my damage output is much higher on board...but RNG can always play the spoiler with 2 flying creatures there.

image.png

During round 3 i manage to take out 2 VS only me losing 1 unit...I would say things are looking pretty good now but i would not count them out as they have flying monsters on board and if luck if on thier side....potential wins will turn to misses.

image.png

By Round 5 my units made short work of the flying pixie, not even missing once. I Guess RNG was on my side, hehe....I am going to stop here as we know the conclusion already...don't really wanna show the cute little fairy getting stomped. For those who is into these vices you can always view the battle link above


Conclusion

Ya as i mentioned the Wave Runner is very situational as there are other better units, at least in Silver that fits that 5 mana cost space. I wont really use it alot but in this situation as shown it could be a decent unit that just about gets the job done !!

That is all folks, Stay Safe and See you next week !!


Do use my referral link if this game interest you:
https://splinterlands.com?ref=bladesong

My Splinterlands account status:
@bladesong/what-am-i-buyingcome-boy-

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency