Tournaments, Brawls and others – A diary of a Splinterlands player #001

Since I am slowly but steadily getting some HivePower and not have to wait for decades for it to recharge, I was thinking of starting a series of posts, when there is no “main highlight” in which I talk a little about my recent progress, accomplished goals or what else is happening in my Splinterlands game. So today, Part 1.

Tournament

Recently I finished another tournament and got my first price – some stunning 5 SPS. That might not sound like a lot, but considered the entry price of 1 DEC that is some nice returns of almost 300x. Although it was quite a fun tournament, where the biggest price was for #40. Thanks to @clove71 for hosting it.
If my math wasn’t as bad as it is, I could’ve probably won one SPS more, but I am quite happy with what I got.

image.png

Brawls

Another Brawl is running and although we still don’t get any merits since we still have no store. But never the less it is fun and we’re getting some crowns every time. Last brawl my win rate was pretty high (I think either 5-3 or 4-4) for a beginner, this time it looks a little different: After 7 of 8 battles I have just won two of them. I hope, that we soon get closer to the Store, so that we can start to earn merits and get those juicy gladiator cards! My power would really love some love!

New buys, rents and airdrops

Over the last couple of days I am slowly investing my DEC into cards. Regarding airdrop points that seems to be a pretty bad idea, since the prices are a lot over the DEC burn value, so each DEC that goes into a card is losing some value. But although I like the airdrops and would love to get more SPS, especially since my Voucher drops are very low (today I got 0.012 vouchers), I prefer the cards. They have seen some great value appreciation as well and the bonus over holding DEC for the SPS drops are rents. I am, by far, not earning a lot with my rents and still loosing money compared to “holding” DEC, but at least the losses are lower and it feels really reward to see my rent value increasing every day, as well as my card amount and value.
Although I am not an expert, I agree with @infidel1258, who is doing some amazing YouTube videos on cards, investors ideas and many more topics around the game we all love!

Lucky day

Yesterday was my lucky day regarding Sorare. Sorare is an NFT card game, where you can trade soccer cards and earn ETH rewards. Well, if you are good and make good decisions. I didn’t put a lot of money into that game and haven’t ever won a reward, but many people have and actually it looks not too difficult. If you want to try, I would appreciate it, if you use my referral link: sorare.com/r/andyfootball As soon as you bought five cards over the auction, you get one rare card for free, which can be worth a lot.
I tipped one game right including the nearest guess for the first goal and got a free card and also won another Twitter giveaway, adding up to two free cards, one of them being rare and worth more than my remaining deck combined.

image.png

Today was my lucky day in Splinterlands. Although my season rewards were pretty good, with two epics and three commons, my daily loot chest today got me my first Gold foil from chests! (Yes, I won some before, @mumpulls and also bought some one the market, so it is not my first gold foil card)
It took me forever to complete the quest and I had a loosing streak of more than five games, but finally I got it done and was surprised when the Pelacor Mercenary suddenly turned gold!

I also got some SPS and DEC presents from @marcuswahl, @drabs587, @sgt-dan, @thisisaftersound, @ivarbjorn, @cutedawako and others! Thanks a lot for them. And also thanks to @cardauctionz for all the refunds on my rentals and buy actions.

SPS staking

image.png

It is quite amazing how fast this game is starting to compound. I quite remember the days when I got a stunning 0,001 SPS in returns over the course of a day. Right now it is more than 0,003 per hour, since I got more than 48 SPS staked – and yes, @marcuswahl, I am always staking all my SPS. Also my airdrops are increasing every day, which means, that I am catching up to the top – since I am growing faster than the average. More likely a lot of players are not playing too actively. Still it feels really nice to see my CP growing every day. And I am also getting closer to one SPS a day in airdrops!

SPT, 1UP, Leo delegations and other questions

Delegate to earn

It is also interesting, that with one post you can earn a lot of different tokens. Since I still don’t understand the whole ecosystem, I am surprised when I check out my Hive wallet and see how tokens of all name and color are accumulating. Unfortunately no !LUV so far and also very few of !Pizza.
And I got a question: If you read my previous posts on beginner mistakes, you know, that I started to delegate my SPT to @monster-curator and since then doing it right and first staking my SPT to myself and then delegating them to @monster-curator.
Are there also similar things for other Tokens, especially 1UP, Leo? Like delegating to an account to gain some rewards?

Resource Credits and Voting

I still don’t understand how Resource Credits, Voting Mana and everything is linked to each other, because I thought, that Voting only effects my Voting Mana, but it seems like it also effects my resource credits. I still try to vote as much as possible, but if there is a way to still keep my resource credits, that would be interesting to know!
And do my voting on splintertalk.io affect my voting power on peakd or 1up?

Getting wracked – How to get good summoners?

Sometimes, when I win a lot – and especially after the first few wins in the tournament, I am pretty confident to know how it works. Then again comes a loosing streak and my battle screen just looks like this:

image.png

Very unfortunate. Very sad. There are some battles, where I had no chance. I am still fighting with level 1 monsters and summoners most of the time, since renting out the big guys is pretty expensive and I have no idea how to get some cheap summoners, because even a Silver-level Vera Salacia would be around $ 175 – 200, not speaking of the likes of Yodin, Llama, Kitty, Crpyt Mancer or even The Peakrider, Valnamor, Prince Rennyn, Archmage Arius and Prince Julian. Even an Alric or Zintar is way to expensive for me right now – for just one copy.

I am starting to get some monsters past level 1, and some even to Level 3 or 4. But I can only play them, if I get some decent summoners. And I really don’t know, how to afford that. Even renting is so expensive.

Trivia

I am really happy for all the people, who travelled back to the 70s to upvote my post!

image.png

Closing words

I hope you enjoyed my thoughts on the game and maybe can even answer me some questions. If you’d like, you can also contact me in Discord: andyplays 🐼#8278
If you liked the post, I would appreciate an upvote. And if you feel generous, I would love some gifts or delegations ;-)

Cheers, andy-plays

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency