Renting out cards and building up the machine – A diary of a Splinterlands Player #002

Since I got lots of positive feedback on my first entry to the diary, I am gonna continue the series. Unfortunately, due to private reasons, I was really busy the last few days. It wasn’t really bad for my Splinterlands account, since I still was doing my daily quest and got a few common cards, and finally could give my ECR enough time to breathe.

That Djinn Oshannus

image.png

Djinn Oshannus is an amazing, still affordable card in the lower leagues – I cannot speak of anything above Gold III rating, since I never got there. But especially in Bronze and Silver III, it is a real beast! There are some good counters to it, but most of the time, the player, who has the Oshannus, has a big advantage. I even lost matches against the Djinn, when I was playing Owster + Bone Golem, which to me, seems like a perfect counter, since Bone Golem has void and Owster gives Magic Reflect to all cards. This was really frustrating, since even, when I knew, what my opponent was playing, I really couldn’t counter it.
So I invested some more bucks into the game, and finally purchased the card! Yes, it was only around half the price, when I started the game a few weeks ago. But I am not seeing this card getting back to the $30-range. And actually, I think it is a really good card even later on, since Phase and Forcefield are also really good skills, and 5 speed, 2-3 magic power and 10-11 HP are quite a good combination, for 8 mana.
Since then it even dropped a little in price, but I am not afraid of one or two bucks “lost” in the short term, as long as the long term is bullish – and I am not sure, if I even would sell the card.
No financial advise though. And keep in mind: At the time of writing, there are only 9% of the max supply printed, so still 91% coming. I don’t think, that Djinn Oshannus is going to the moon the next couple of weeks or even months. I am bullish long term, since it is a really good card in the game.

image.png

I still, most of the time, don’t know what to do with Llama + Kron / Flesh Golem, but that is a different – more expensive – story.

Renting cards out

Since I knew, that I was going to be very busy this weekend and my ECR was really low, I was trying out something new.
For the last week I already was renting out cards, I didn’t need or I even bought to rent them out – and accumulate in the long run. Especially the new, common reward cards. Since I need 400 to max them out and as time of writing, I can only play Level 1 cards, most of the time, it isn’t really worth keeping all the “big ships” in my own account. Same goes for gold foils (especially those I am not playing a lot with). And since I also bought a few “cheap” gold foils, I even had some duplicates.

image.png

This weekend I also rented out cards, I am more often playing with – and since I got that Oshannus and I knew, that it wasn’t worth, just keeping him locked up, he was the first to “go”. It was really interesting, because that card alone got me almost the same amount of rents, as most of my remaining rentals. Since the “big boy” was gone, I knew that my water deck was going to be a lot weaker. And why keeping the smaller guys, when daddy Oshannus is gone? So I also rented out Axemaster, Seamonster, Wavesmith and Vera Salacia. The Pelacor Bandits have been rented out before, except for a level 1, that I still am using.
I kept some good cards in fire, life and death. First, because I wanted to have at least something to still win games, and second, because the rents for those didn’t seem to lucrative. And I also kept Mylor.

SPS airdrops

image.png

I am getting closer and closer to that one SPS airdrop per day. It really feels so rewarding to see my “wealth” increase every day. I don’t really care, that SPS-USD is falling for the last few days, since for the medium to long run, I am bullish. And right now, I am not planning to sell anyways. So increasing SPS are helping me to get more fractional parts of a voucher. Still, I am far from getting one in this presale, but it seems like this isn’t gonna be the last one.

Various matters

Tournaments

I was participating in some other tournaments again, and most of the time got at least my tournament fee back in prizes. Since my CP and experience, as well as my skills, are not really on a masters level, I don’t expect to win big in those tournaments. But it is nice to sometimes have some success even early on.

image.png

My road in Silver

After getting my Oshannus, it really was easier to climb the ranks. I got to a solid ~1500-1600 MMR rating before the weekend and dropped a little since then. But since I can grind again tomorrow and will have my big boys back, I am confident to get back to the 1600 range. I still lack the CP to get above Silver III and as long as Gold III rating is to far, don’t consider to rent the power for Silver II and I every day – right now it just don’t seems to be worth it for a extra daily chest and a few extra DEC. But I might reconsider.
There have been some great up's, like winning even with the starter deck cards, but also some down's, like loosing because of endless misses. But I really am falling into love with this game more and more every day!

ZenSports Spooky Spirit Cup Qualifiers

As most of you might now, ZenSports is hosting another big tournament after they did the Stache Cup. Again there are a lot of big prizes to win. Sure thing, I am not gonna win anything big. But I am considering participating in the Silver qualifiers, just to have some fun – and also the entry fee is only 1 DEC. I am also looking forward to @clove71 ‘s stream, with big prizes. She already did one yesterday and is doing one later today, for the Gold qualifiers. I couldn’t be there yesterday and won’t make it today, because of real life matters ;-) But I will be there for the Silver and Bronze qualifiers – and with a lot of luck, even win something. You should definitely join as well! Because you don’t need to be a pro to win a giveaway, which can help noobs like me a lot.

image.png

Big thanks

Thanks to all of you for the great feedback! Especially to all of you for the great curations! Since, at time of writing, there have been more than 68 curations, I think it would break the mold to link all of you, but you all are really such a great help for me – and I hope, that you get some great curation rewards as well!
I am also really thankful to @unorgmilitia for the big delegation! This really helps me out a lot, to keep you updated more often. I hope to grow bigger, to help you to grow bigger!

Cheers, andy-plays

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency