Splinterlands - New Player ROI Analysis

Good Evening All,

As previously stated, I started Splinterlands approximately 6 weeks ago. One of my original attractions to Splinterlands was its ability to be leveraged (some what) as an investment vehicle, particularly since the cards are NFTs. About a week after I started playing, I decided to begin tracking the card values. I decided I would check the values once a week each Thursday. To help some new undecided players, I figured I would provide a snapshot for any and all to see. As with anything in this world, the value of the cards is really what the lowest bidder will pay for them, and I'm sure we all know the valuation can and will fluctuate. This is just a simple value record of cards I've either acquired through purchase in the marketplace and/or won via the daily reward.

Let's get started.

My initial spend to date:

Spellbook: $10
Cards Purchased to Date: $70
Total invested: $80

Card Values Tracked (Values are determined by navigating to the Cards Owned tab in Splinterlands.com, selecting each card, and then recording the value on the date in the column header):

CardValues.JPG

So let's take a second and discuss what we see above. The very first column shows about $10 in cards. These are cards that I purchased immediately after my spell book purchase. As we move to the right through the chart, you'll notice black boxes. These indicate that the card in that row was NOT part of the original set of cards purchased. I did make subsequent purchases along the way and it should be evident based on the totals in the columns when you see the really big jumps.

If we look at those cards that have been in the table for more than one week, we can draw conclusions:

First, we're seeing pretty good improvements in cards values at all levels. My Kobold Bruiser started at $0.26 and as of 10/21 had a value of $0.45. That's a 73% return on the investment. Things get even more interesting as we start to include the rewards earned via the daily quest completion.

Where you see cards that have a (2x/3x)...those are multiples. I only purchased one of the Venari Wavesmith and the Djinn Renova. So I gained not only the value of the card, but also earned a Wavesmith and Renova as rewards...that's over a 100% return. Those cards have increased in value, paying for themselves AND have helped me complete my daily in order to capture the rewards.

The total row in the above chart is for multiples of 1 of each card. If we add in the appropriate numbers, we find the actual total value of ALL cards (including those I have multiples of) adds up to $99.59, or a 24% return on my $80 spent so far. Not too bad...but we're not including the SPS and DEC earned, which also adds to the total, but we're only focused on card values due to their NFT nature.

Lastly, this past Saturday, upon completing my daily reward, I was awarded this bad boy:

oshannus.JPG

Market value shows Djinn Oshannus at $51! I know all you legacy players are likely laughing a bit, but as a new player not looking to drop a whole lot of money, this was a definite surprise. I wasn't even sure you could pull a legendary card from the daily. Anyway, if we add that back into card values above, we're at a $150.59 card value total, or an 88% ROI (Return on Investment). Pretty nice!

I remain optimistic about these card values, even with Chaos Legion approaching since we already know the DEC rates will be lower for the newer cards.

If you're looking to jump into Splinterlands and not so sure, take a chance. $10 bucks is all it takes to start and you never know what you'll pull out of that daily quest chest!

Will provide another update in a few weeks.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency