Battle Mage Secrets Challenge - Keep Your Distance

Greetings to all and sundry on this great platform, I welcome you all to my blog and today I write to participate in this week's challenge. This is going to be my fourth participation in the weekly challenge and I am very happy to be part of the Splinterlands family. I hope that you guys would like my entry. Without much ado, I would like to go straight to the purpose of this post. Today, the battle ruleset is "Keep Your Distance" and I would submit my entry to that here in this post including a video of my battle.

Borrowed image from spl post

Per the Ruleset of the game, Keep Your Distance, units with melee attacks may not be used. I used my personal account @abu78 in participating in this battle. I am currently playing in the Silver stage. Before I demonstrate my battle here, let's briefly look into the Ruleset of the game.

Holy Protection

Ruleset IconDescription
Keep your Distance
Units with melee attacks may not be used. Use Phase, Void, Void Armor, and Magic Reflect to counter magic attacks. Use Headwinds and Return Fire to counter ranged attacks. Units with 2 types of attack (which include melee) cannot be used. Keep no attack or higher HP monsters in the front. Keep higher-speed Magic monsters with abilities like Flying, Dodge, and Blind in the front

Keep your distance can be found with the following Rulesets



My Opponent's Team Line-up

Summoner1st2nd3rd4th5th6th

My Team's Line-Up

Summoner1st2nd3rd4th5th6th


Summoner:

I chose Kelya Frendul summoner so that my monsters would get an increase in both speed and armor. It was a 45-mana game condition and I have to manage my card selection to suit that. In using the Kelya Frendul summoner, I decided to get cards that attack with magic and range. I also included Noa the Just to reduce my opponent's armor by two and also came in with Venari Wavesmith monster which also increased my armor by an additional two. Placing Swamp Spitter at the back line would also help me to restore armor on my first-position monster when damaged.

1st Position:

Djinn Oshannus, this card has the ability to reduce magic attack effects from other monsters. It is a level 1 monster and it has 10 lives with no armor. It has a speed of 5 with 2 magic attacks. It cost 8 mana.


Round 1:

First of all, all monsters took their effect from the summoner by gaining extra armor and speed. Djinn Oshannus, my first-position monster attacked first and made damage to its lives after it also did the same to mine as well. Axemaster monster then attacked his last position monster (wave brood) and caused 6 damage.

Nerissa Tridawn attacked the wave brood monster of my opponent and caused another 3 lives damage after which my Venari Wavesmith monster then finally killed it with its magic attack. At the end of the first round, I was having all my monsters intact whilst my opponent was left with five more monsters left.

Round 2:

Round two then began and as usual, my Djinn Oshannus monster attacked first followed by a double-range attack from Axemaster. Nerissa Tridawn also attacked with its magic and then his first position monster was left with just two more lives to go of which swamp spitter then attacked it with the range and killed it at that spot.

My monsters were all intact but then my first-position monster was in danger of dying because only two lives were left. At the end of round two, I was still having my six monsters standing, and whilst my opponent was left with four more monsters to go. I gained confidence in winning the battle at this stage.

Round 3:

In this round, I was still having my six monsters alive whilst my opponent was left with just 4 monsters in his lineup. I gain the confidence of winning this at ease now.

My first-position monster was killed in this round but I was still having a lot of high-damage monsters available to finish him up. Also, I killed his Venari wavesmith monster as well in this round and the extra armor effect ability of it was gone from all monsters.

Round 4:

In this round with three monsters left for my opponent, and I think he can’t take this battle to the next round again because I was going to finish him at that spot.

Axemaster attacked first in this round and killed Nerissa Tridawn monster of my opponent with its range attack. Swamp Spitter finally finished the Magi of Chaos monster of my opponent. Last monster to go which sent us to the next round.

Round 5:

In this round, my opponent got only the Kulu Swinhunter monster left whilst I was having five monsters in my lineup to face it. Axemaster attacked first damaged four lives of it reaming only live and then Nerissa Tridawn then finished it with its magic attack. That ended the monsters of my opponent and I won the battle from there.

This was how my battle went and I won it with my strategy used. I think going with magic monsters when melee monsters are not given is a good option as well. It was a successful selection for me in this battle and I think my strategy for going in for the Kelya Frendul summoner was a great one. Thank you all for your time and attention for going through my post. A link to my battle is provided here Battle Link

All cards and ruleset images were taken from here Splintercards

Also, some image references were taken from splintertools


I designed this using canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency