Days of absence │ Story [Eng - Esp]



Absence of you, sad feelings, so many days were missing,
and it's today when in reality, I regret it forever.

Ausencia de ti, tristes sentimientos, faltaron tantos días,
y es hoy cuando en realidad, por siempre lo lamento.

@marybellrg


Source of the main image in Pixabay │ Fuente de la imagen principal en Pixabay

Today is one of those days when I want to talk to myself, without saying anything to the world. It dawned and the faint sun entered timidly through the window, barely grazing my face, sneaking through the small crack that always remained when closing the window at night, I wanted to flee from the shadows.

Those shadows chased me in the anguish of thought, an infamous thought that refused to leave me when I insisted on thinking that there were days left to be by your side. You were always a step away, very close.

When I needed you and desperate I called you to find in the wisdom of your words and the calm of your voice, the very peace of my soul. A soul tired of arguments and problems, a soul that took refuge in your embrace when every month we went to visit you like this, in cambote, like good Venezuelans.

That Saturday before your departure, I don't know the date, and honestly, I don't want to remember it. It was a radiant day, full of light. Impregnated with that sun that I loved to see when I knew we were going to spend the day by your side. We would arrive and you were everything to us. Your little eyes would turn to joy and love, like a child with a new toy, you loved it when we came to visit you and mess up your life. You loved nothing more than that.

I loved to hug you and feel your cheeks brushing mine. That warmth of yours that I always remember with tears in my eyes. I pause and sink into the blanket. I want to go back to sleep and hold you in my dreams. I insist again and again on this torture that tears me apart and never quite goes away. She gives me a little head start but always catches up with me again. She knows that I am weak and that deep down she always defeats me, and she catches up with me.

Months passed and as never before, I postponed the monthly trip. Christmas passed and it was just phone calls. You were sick and nobody said anything. You lived alone your loneliness and your sadness. That house was so big and you were left so alone. We all left you (I cry again), I don't want to get up. How I wish I had the power to go back in time to tell you so much that I stopped telling you. Unfortunately, that option is not and never will be.

Hoy es uno de esos días en que quiero hablar conmigo misma, sin decirle nada al mundo. Amaneció y el tenue sol entró tímidamente por la ventana, apenas rozando mi rostro, colándose por la pequeña hendija que siempre quedaba cuando al cerrar la ventana en la noche, quería huir de las sombras.

Esas sombras que me perseguían en la angustia del pensamiento, pensamiento infame que se negaba a abandonarme, cuando insistía en pensar que faltaron días para estar a tu lado. Siempre estabas a un paso, muy cerca.

Cuando te necesitaba y desesperada te llamaba para encontrar en la sabiduría de tus palabras y la calma de tu voz, la propia paz de mi alma. Un alma cansada de las discusiones y los problemas, esa que se refugiaba en tu abrazo cuando cada mes íbamos a visitarte así, en cambote, como buenos venezolanos.

Aquel sábado antes de tu partida, no sé la fecha, y honestamente, no quiero recordarlo. Fue un día radiante, lleno de luz. Impregnado de ese sol que me encantaba ver cuando sabía que íbamos a pasar el día a tu lado. Llegábamos y eras todo para nosotros. Tus ojitos se volvían alegría y amor, como niño con juguete nuevo, te encantaba que fuéramos a visitarte y desordenarte la vida. Nada que te gustara más que eso.

Me encantaba abrazarte y sentir tus mejillas rozando las mías. Ese calor tan tuyo que siempre recuerdo con lágrimas en los ojos. Hago pausa y me sumerjo en la cobija. Quiero volverme a dormir y abrazarte en mis sueños. Insisto una y otra vez en esta tortura que me desgarra y que nunca se va del todo. Me da algo de ventaja pero siempre vuelve a alcanzarme. Ella sabe que soy débil y que en el fondo siempre me derrota, y me alcanza.

Transcurrieron meses y como nunca, postergué el viaje mensual. Pasaron navidades y fueron solo llamadas. Estabas enfermo y nadie decía nada. Vivías tú solo tu soledad y tu tristeza. Aquella casa era tan grande y te dejaron tan solo. Todos te dejamos (vuelvo a llorar), no quiero levantarme. Como quisiera tener el poder de regresar el tiempo para decirte tanto que dejé de decirte. Lamentablemente esa opción no está ni estará jamás.



Source in Pixabay │ Fuente en Pixabay

We human beings must pay for our faults here on Earth. Yes, right here. I deserve this suffering and I will never get tired of telling you, you know it. From where you are, you look at me and smile. I know you have forgiven me, but I cannot forgive myself so much indolence and procrastination.

Months went by and that Sunday in March came. I keep remembering and I can't stop crying. I hug my pillow wishing it was you. But you are not, you are not there. That Sunday in March they called me to tell me that you were sick, very sick. I felt the worst. I dropped the shopping cart and ran out to call you. It was in vain, you couldn't, you were in the hospital.

I rushed out because I wanted to see you, something told me it would be the last time. My mind was telling me and my desperate heart was saying No, I didn't want it to be like that. I arrived at the hospital and there you were. I will never forget that sweet look, full of love but also a farewell. Yes, my love, it was goodbye even though I still refused to accept it.

You were leaving me and I didn't want to. There was so much to live and time had run out. Your time on Earth and mine by your side. You didn't speak with your voice but with your eyes. You were happy to see your three children there, holding your hand and telling you how much we loved you.

I am still crying in bed. I know life is waiting for me but I don't want to leave. I want to keep crying myself to sleep again. I miss you too much and you will never be any more. That March midnight, the phone rings and my shock could never have been greater. I answer already with tears in my eyes and a dagger in my heart. You were gone, old man, my dear old man. I cry again as I did then and I feel that days were missing, so many days to honor you, to love you, and to be by your side.

I want to go back to sleep and dream of you again. I hug my pillow. In the distance, my mother's voice sounds calling to the table. I close my eyes, I don't want to see anyone. I just want to think of you, close my eyes, and dream of you again.

Los seres humanos debemos pagar nuestras culpas aquí en la Tierra. Si, aquí mismo. Merezco este sufrimiento y jamás me cansaré de decírtelo, lo sabes. Desde allá donde estás, me miras y sonríes. Sé que me has perdonado, pero no logro perdonarme a mí misma tanta indolencia y postergamiento.

Pasaron los meses y llegó aquel domingo de marzo. Sigo recordando y no paro de llorar. Me abrazo a mi almohada deseando que fueras tú. Pero no eres, no estás. Aquel domingo de marzo me llamaron para decirme que estabas mal, muy mal. Presentí lo peor. Solté el carrito de las compras y salí corriendo a llamarte. Fue en vano, no podías, estabas en el hospital.

Salí presurosa porque quería verte, algo me decía que sería la última vez. Mi mente me lo decía y mi corazón desesperado decía que No, no quería que fuera así. Llegué al hospital y allí estabas. Nunca olvidaré esa mirada dulce, llena de amor pero también de despedida. Sí, mi amor, era la despedida aunque aún me negara a aceptarlo.

Te me estabas yendo y no quería. Había tanto por vivir y se había agotado el tiempo. Tu tiempo en la Tierra y el mío a tu lado. No hablabas con la voz pero si con la mirada. Estabas feliz de ver a tus tres hijos allí, tomándote la mano y diciéndote cuanto te amábamos.

Sigo llorando en la cama. Sé que la vida me espera pero no quiero salir. Quiero seguir llorando hasta dormirme nuevamente. Te extraño demasiado y ya más nunca estarás. Aquel 12 de marzo a la media noche, suena el teléfono y mi sobresalto nunca pudo ser mayor. Respondo ya con lágrimas en los ojos y un puñal en el corazón. Te habías ido, viejo, mi querido viejo. Vuelvo a llorar como aquel entonces y siento que faltaron días, tantos días para honrarte, para amarte y estar a tu lado.

Quiero volver a dormirme y así volverte a soñar. Me abrazo a la almohada. A lo lejos suena la voz de mi madre llamando a la mesa. Cierro los ojos, no quiero ver a nadie. Solo quiero pensar en ti, cerrar los ojos y así volverte a soñar.



Source in Pixabay │ Fuente en Pixabay

Those who leave will always be.
The simple fact that we love them,
makes them eternal in our soul and our memories.
Right there where the soul will always keep them.

Los que se van, siempre estarán.
El simple hecho de que los amemos,
hacen que se eternicen en nuestra alma y nuestros recuerdos.
Allí mismo donde el alma siempre los ha de guardar.

Thank you for taking the time for this reading

Gracias por tomarse un tiempo para esta lectura

118883608_10164479232680508_2686780836245239670_n.jpg

In honor to my father

En honor a mi padre

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency