The Seer's Touch: Betrayal

img_20211030_193302.jpg


The first part…
The second part…



"This way please," the old man said gesturing towards an old mausoleum built in the center of the cemetery. Liam followed him, walking gingerly, careful not to step on any gravestone because of his deep respect for the dead.

A filmy, ethereal figure peeped out from behind the mausoleum. The old man stretched out his hand and the figure came out from behind the mausoleum, hand stretched to hold the old man's.

Liam could see it was the old man's soulmate. She looked frail, petite and ethereally beautiful. She smiled hesitantly at him. Liam inclined his head a little in greetings. The old man's eyes were on her, full of love.

"This is my wife, Salima."

Liam nodded and asked, "how are you able to make physical contact and she's not?"

The old man glanced at Liam. "I had to and it's costing me. Can you help us?"

Liam sighed deeply. "Tell me everything." The old man waved his hand toward the short steps in front of the mausoleum and the three of them sat down.

The old man cleared his throat and began his story. "I was a very rich merchant in the city of Abu Dhabi. My clothing business kept me very busy and I had some clothing agents who work for me. They travel to the central market in Dubai, meet with manufacturers and distributors on my behalf to get good bargains for my business.

"Ahmad was a terrible mistake I made. The only regret of my short life. He was a poor nineteen year old orphan I took in and trained in this business. He later became one of my agents. Unknown to me, he had eyes for my Salima. Always helping her, spending a lot of time with her.

"When my Salima miscarried our baby, I was away on business but Ahmad was with her all through. She leaned on him for almost everything but she remained faithful to me.

"On my return, she expressed her suspicion that Ahmad was in love with her. I felt betrayed. How could Ahmad do this to me after everything I had done for him?

"In a fit of anger and jealousy, I had a quarrel with him that night and sent him packing out of my house. Ahmad returned the following day in my absence to try and convince my Salima to run away with him.

"She turned his offer down and professed her eternal love for me. He was very angry. Neither of us knew that Ahmad was a kragtige siener..."

"What? Are you sure about?" Liam interrupted the narration.

The old man nodded vigorously. "Yes! Very sure. Right before our neighbours' eyes, he casted a spell to make my Salima fall in love with him. They left together for Dubai and no one could stop them. When I returned, I met an empty house. Ahmad took my valuables and money with him.

"A young man I took in, trained in art of clothing business, stole my treasures and ran away. I never knew the pain of heart break and regret until that day."

The next part...

Image source: Pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency