Failing Memories Of Belinda [Fiction]


Kelly Sikkema from Unsplash

As the sun set and night fell, I became a little worried. The sky was overcast with heavy clouds that hinted at rain. Belinda was not home yet from her dinner date with her friend, Alec.

I paced around the parlour, looking out the window every five minutes whenever I heard any car drive by or pull up close to my house. My husband, Bruce, strolled into the parlour, his reading glasses perched on the bridge of his nose and a newspaper in his hand. He arched his brow, silently wondering why I paced around.

"Belinda is not back yet," I said and sighed, crossing my arms on my chest.

Bruce froze for a moment, his gaze a little sad. He glanced at the wall clock. "Darling, It's just 8.15," he said.

"Well, she should be back because it's going to rain soon and she may get wet." I parted the curtains and looked out the window again. Bruce didn't say anything. He came close to me quietly and held me from behind. He smoothed his hands up and down my arms to calm me.

"Darling, it's been a year now. Belinda is not here with us. Do you remember?" He whispered. Right then, my memory flashed back to the same night I worried about my only daughter and her boyfriend. She was my only child and I worried about her all the time. So much so, that I almost lost her. I remembered Bruce telling me, "You worry too much, darling. She's young. Let her have a good time."

I turned in his arms to stare at him, doubting his parenting ability. "Have a good time? I don't trust that boy."

Just then a Ford jalopy coupe drove up and parked in front of our apartment. Bruce left me and sat down on the sofa. I watched the teenagers walk up to the front door and my daughter kissed Alec!


Elain Yao from Pexels

My ears felt hot and my pulse pounded in my head. I walked to the front door and snatched it open. Belinda and Alec took their hands off each other to gaze at me. I frowned. "Young man, time for you to go home. Belinda, go inside," I blurted.

My nineteen-year-old daughter gasped in embarrassment, her cheeks slightly red. "Mom!" She whispered and brushed past me into the house.

"Ma'am, I'm sorry for bringing Belinda home later than the time I gave," he said calmly. "Thank you and good night." He waited for a reply and when none came, he turned and left. Alec was a smart, good-looking boy and he'd always treated me with respect. I watched as he drove away before I entered our apartment.

Belinda sat in her father's embrace and gave me the stink eye. "Mom, how could you? We were only fifteen minutes—"

"Enough, Belinda. Go to your room now."

Belinda placed her hands over her face, covering her expression for a second. She looked at me and said words I would never forget. "I'm not a child anymore. Keep this up and you will lose me. Alec and I love each other and we intend to get married."

Tears piled up in my eyes as I went down memory lane. Belinda and Alec are married and expecting my first grandchild but I was experiencing short memory lapses. I cupped Bruce's cheeks in my hands and looked into his eyes. "You were right. I worried too much and I'm glad I did not lose her. You were the better parent…"

"No, darling. You acted as a mother would. Belinda understands more than you know."

I smiled. "Now that she's having our grandbaby, she'll definitely understand."

I turned to watch the rain start to drizzle. Bruce held me and I wondered how long before I totally forgot the people I love. These beautiful memories would suffice for now.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency