The Mask | - WRITING CLUB - Viral Poetry Challenge

WriitingClub-ViralPoetryChallenge.png

I decided to join the new Writing Club Community a few weeks ago. After noticing the viral poetry challenge, I immediately knew what my poem would entail given the topic that is so important at this moment in our history dealing with the pandemic. If you'd like to join in, then take a look at the details below in the challenge post and contribute your viral poetry:

@hive-132410
@riverflows
A Year On From The Outbreak: A Retrospective of Poetry on HIVE in the Early Days of the Pandemic [Plus, Win HIVE!]

I've always been someone with a personality of "just do it" when it comes to doing what is necessary or the right thing to do. No matter what and who you see around you, it's up to you to take control of your life and do what you can to make this world a better place. My heart is heavy for the state of the world as it is today. Instead of coming together in trying times, it seems we are drifting further apart. What does that foretell for our new generation who see this and wonder why. They are looking to us for answers and how to behave in appropriate situations. Let's not disappoint.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

THE MASK

covid-19-mask-5464546_640-resized.png
Image by AnnaliseArt from Pixabay

Have you no love for me?
As a fellow human being,
inhabiting this Earth together.

If so, I can't tell.
When you refuse to cover yourself,
and allow rage and insults to prevail.
Where is the reasoning in that?

Have you no love for me?
Your child, mother, father, brother, and sister.
Even family near and far whom you see?

Conspiracy theories, rumors, half-baked truths,
and unfounded lies
can only ride the winds of destruction,
weaving through the masses until the scourge festers
into a plague.

Then will you have love for me.
Oh brothers and sisters, don't wait until it's too late.
Running, screaming to the mountain and sobbing to the hills,
asking The Almighty "what can I do to be saved?"

I know from whence I speak.
To see loved ones en masse succumb to this virus.
My story is twenty-two and counting I've lost.
I tried to warn. I tried to reason. Alas I failed.

Will it be Your family next?
Only then will you know the true hurt, pain, and suffering,
then turn and ask someone...

Have you no love for me?
When I see words flash before my face,
"Don't hate me for hating you."
Let me tell you now!
I don't; I pray for you.
You have eyes, but won't take the blinders off;
You have ears, but take in ill-advised rhetoric;
You have a brain, but choose to follow those who don't use theirs;

One day, my life will travel through the sands of time.
My coffin will hear the whisper of the tumbleweeds.

If you ask me before then,
"Do you have love for me"
I'll tell you, "YES, I do."
Because I have love for you, I've taken the vaccine;
Because I have respect for you, I've taken the vaccine;
Because I have honor for your elders, I've taken the vaccine;
Because I have a desire for your children's future, I've taken the vaccine;

AND,

Because I have love for you,
I've worn, still wear, and will continue to wear a mask,
because nothing is this world is 100% guaranteed.
No one can give you that but Him.

And He's telling you now,
If My words ring true,
then no love for your fellow man you have.
Until you unleash the shackles that have crippled you.
And remember My words to
"Treat others as you would treat yourself".

Before I have to call home another half a million of
your children, mothers, fathers, brothers, and sisters.
And perhaps YOU.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my viral poetry. My words are only my express desire and thoughts in my heart on the subject matter given. They are in no way accusatory or condemning of anyone. Let me know your thoughts in a comment below. I would like to invite @deeanndmathews and @ambarvegas to join in if time permits.

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published my Viral Poetry Challenge post for the Writing Club today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Writing Club Logo created by @justclickindiva in Canva utilizing it backgrounds and images per the Pro Membership agreement.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency