The man in the mirror [Eng | Spa]

Hello, Writing Club community!

Some family secrets have a funny ending, some others have a sad one, I guess my family secret has a tragic ending of sorts, or at least to my parents, to me, I guess I just finally found out, who was the man in the mirror.

Ever since I was a child I remember a deep hatred to mirrors, not because I hated my face or something like that, but because I saw a child looking back at me and smiling, with time my parents told me to stop lying or making things up, so I decided not to talk about it more. Yet that smile dint fade away, it still looks at me every day, just looking at me like he loved me dearly and fade away after a blink.

Man in the mirror

Face Uploaded on Pixabay by Sammy-Sander and the rest of the image was uploaded on unplash by Paige Cody edit done by me on canva Pro.

Some point years ago in my early childhood, I realized I was missing something, I always had that feeling of missing someone, or something, like I am missing an arm or a leg, like something that was supposed to be with me but it was not, that feeling of loss felt connected to the fact I saw that face on the mirror every time I got up to the bath. It was evident that those two were linked somehow, yet my parents told me I was imagining things and reduced me every time I asked.

All came down to a single photo on social media when I was 19 and was going to college, I took a picture with my parents before leaving home and I saw it, the face I saw every day in the mirror, the face of that man, finally there with us in the family photo.

Decided to keep it quiet for a while and just uploaded it on social media anyway, dint knows what a disaster that will end up being for my parents.

Social media

Uploaded by Firmbee on Pixabay.

The picture became viral, ghost picture they said, I could see YouTubers sharing it every day, videos everywhere wondering what that face was, at first I felt really bad because they were crossing the line on my privacy and my family privacy. But I decided to remain quiet, my parents did sue a couple of guys over and asked me to take down the pic, I dint, I wanted the truth and an army of money-thirsty YouTubers were good soldiers in my eyes.

What I didn't expect was the slowly growing horror movie fan base, people started following me around in college, at first it was just one shady guy, but soon I ended up with a group of five, then it became twenty people, all of them called themselves spiritist or stuff like it, saying that I was haunted by a grieving soul.

At the start I decided to let it be, to let them push my buttons they did their rituals yet I continued to see the man in the mirror, one after another, I gave up when the magic number 100 came, 100 rituals none of them successful, this man will not leave me, no matter what.

Then she came, the others gave way to her and after she joined the following, they just faded away, running like the devil. That night we were just two women together, nobody else, she looked at me and made a hush sign, and will out me saying anything she started her ritual.

Witch

Uploaded by Ksyfffka07 on Pixabay.

She cried my name high, also my parents, constantly saying Amanda now and then, just screaming it while singing in another tongue, every time she cried our names I could hear another one I never listen to, she said Eduardo, over and over again she did call my parents and mine, next to that name, non-stopping for half an hour, and then she looked at me.

-He will never leave your side, he doesn't want to, and he said that he is a part of you as much as you're a part of him, you both are one of a kind, was born out at the same time, and will forever be connected like no one on earth will, he is your brother, a fraternal twin of yours.
-Twin? Wait that means I had a brother? That is impossible my parents would have told me.
-I bet they did child when you were not capable of understanding them, and eventually they decided otherwise, I cant split a bond between brothers like yours, that would be against nature and souls.
-But what about the FACE I see, will it ever end?
-You want it to end? While I did the ritual I connected to him, he loves you dearly, not even your parents love you the way he does, he is your brother, and I will not split that bond.

After that, she just left me on my own, sitting still in a dark room with nothing else than the man in the mirror and my desire to know the truth because I finally knew what was missing, it was him and I dint want to split with him.

Fraternal Twins

Uploaded by Izzy Park on Unsplash.

Spring break was around the corner, and I was bound to go home to my parents, we still had to solve the whole picture thing yet but I was prepared to drop this bomb on them, I wanted to know about my brother, about Eduardo.

Little did I knew how childish I was at the time when I realized the truth. It was a long journey home, I decided to do a road trip just for thinking about what would I say and how, it was better that way, taking some time with me, and the man in the mirror, I guess I should call him brother now.

Roadtrip

Uploaded by Pexels on Pixabay.

When I finally reached home my parents were at the door, waiting for me, both looked like they were about to have a heart attack, their faces full of anger and disappointment, I laughed a bit on my mind because they have yet to see my school grades, I kept that hidden just in case they tried to diverge from the elephant in the room.

-We need to talk to you little miss, first, deleted that god-forsaken photo of social media, Right now!
-I'm on it mom, let me reach the computer in my room.
-Oh no baby girl, that is long gone, your dad broke it trying to find the picture so we could eliminate it.

That did spike out my anger a bit, but that was just the beginning, seems like my parents broke everything in my room and burned all my childhood things, I guess trey finally realized I was not lying or making things up when I was a child. How unpleasant to see all the things I loved were in the backyard burned to ashes, while they were lying to my face saying a fire started on my room and wherever it took to look less guilty.

Then I saw my favorite doll, burned along the remains, just staring at me, how many times I told my parents that a child hand grabbed it and played with me, how many times did Eduardo play with me, just why is he gone, how, who? I need to know the truth.

Burn doll

Uploaded by Pabloarenas on Unsplash.

After dinner my parents finally took the courage to talk to me again, all this day I was tuned out with Eduardo, a deafening silence like I was the ghost that haunted my parents, and maybe I was, perhaps Eduardo was the living, and we were all dead, who knows.

-Amanda we need to talk about you, and that face.
-I know I had a brother, some spiritism told me that the face was my brother, a Twin to boot.
-I... We, It is hard to tell you. -Shut up woman, don't say another word.
-But is true Jim, is time to tell her the truth, the whole truth, no the thing we said to the cops and the coroner.
-DON'T DO IT
-Amanda you killed your bro... -I told you not to tell her, we agreed on that, why did you do it, why? And I saw my dad, that anger-filled beast trying to beat mom for talking, he just rose from the seat with anger on his eyes, he never acted like that before, I never saw a clue of it also, he was a calm recollected man, or so I thought.

After a few seconds I ended up joining the fight, split my parents up with ease, and the look of surprise on my dad when he saw how strong I was equaled in my sense of freaking out deep inside me, I didn't know I had this much strength.

But their mom said: -She is possessed by her brother, stop it, is too late, it is time to tell her the truth. And my dad with a deep disgusted face finally surrendered.

Dad deep in Anger

Uploaded by Nseylubangi on Unsplash.

He just sat and they both acted like it never happened, it was weird, they looked afraid of me.
-Amanda, darling, we have something to tell you, when you were four, you and your brother were playing on the edge of the department window, and I was cooking, your dad was on the phone, you two were fighting over your favorite doll. And you just... Pushed him.

-He stumbled in the wrong direction because I was on that damned phone, and he just went straight to the window, the thing was open and I saw it, I screamed my lungs out, just as much as he did. I saw you kill your brother.

-When I left the kitchen it was too late. He was gone and you were crying his name, we took you to a psychologist and a therapist, both said that you wouldn't remember him if we lied, so we did. We lie about him and about you killing him.

-And it killed both our married and our hearths, dad said while giving mom a really dirty look.
-But Mom, Dad, why is he in the photos, and why is smiling? They both stared at me, and they both slowly said: He while falling, said: I love you, Amanda, forever.

Falling child

Uploaded by Gariay on Unsplash.

That was it, I went to bed, woke up to the screaming of my mom, dad hang himself that midnight while we all slept. It took a toll on her for years, I graduated from college and started a new job in a different city, the photo was long gone but the face on the mirror multiplied, now they were two, Eduardo and Dad.

Both smiling, both loving while all I saw was their blood on my hands, perhaps mom too felt like this, I will never know. This is my secret to keep, my very dark and tragic family secret.

Made by me on Canva

The concept of twins that look different is something deeply disturbing for me, I find it rather bizarre, just like accidents of this kind, so after a weird idea I had after listening to Eric Clapton and a dream, this story was born, I hope you liked it and if you don't mind me asking: Have you ever listen to the song tears in heaven? Let me read you in the comments.


Spanish


¡Hola comunidad de Writing Club!

Algunos secretos de familia tienen un final divertido, otros tienen uno triste, supongo que mi secreto de familia tiene una especie de final trágico, o al menos para mis padres, para mí, supongo que por fin descubrí quién era el hombre en el espejo.

Desde pequeña recuerdo un profundo odio a los espejos, no porque odiara mi cara o algo así, sino porque veía a un niño que me devolvía la mirada y sonreía, con el tiempo mis padres me dijeron que dejara de mentir o inventar cosas, así que decidí no hablar más del tema. Sin embargo, esa sonrisa no se borró, aún me mira todos los días, sólo me mira como si me quisiera mucho y se desvanece después de un parpadeo.

Hombre en el espejo

Rostro subido en Pixabay por Sammy-Sander y el resto de la imagen fue subida en Unplash por Dollar Gill edición hecha por mí en canva Pro.

En algún momento, hace años, en mi infancia temprana, me di cuenta de que me faltaba algo, siempre tenía esa sensación de que me faltaba alguien, o algo, como si me faltara un brazo o una pierna, como si me faltara algo que se suponía que estaba conmigo pero no lo estaba, esa sensación de pérdida la sentía conectada al hecho de que veía esa cara en el espejo cada vez que me levantaba para bañarme. Era evidente que esas dos cosas estaban vinculadas de alguna manera, pero mis padres me decían que me estaba imaginando cosas y me reducían cada vez que preguntaba.

Todo se vino abajo con una sola foto en las redes sociales, cuando tenía 19 años y me iba a la universidad, me hice una foto con mis padres antes de salir de casa y lo vi, la cara que veía todos los días en el espejo, la cara de ese hombre, por fin allí con nosotros en la foto familiar.

Decidí mantenerlo en secreto por un tiempo y sólo lo subí la foto a las redes sociales de todas formas, no sabia qué desastre terminará siendo para mis padres.

La foto se hizo viral, foto fantasma dijeron, pude ver YouTubers compartiéndola todos los días, videos por todas partes preguntándose qué era esa cara, al principio me sentí muy mal porque estaban cruzando la línea de mi privacidad y la de mi familia. Pero decidí quedarme callada, mis padres demandaron a un par de tipos y me pidieron que quitara la foto, no lo hice, quería la verdad y un ejército de YouTubers sedientos de dinero eran buenos soldados a mis ojos.

Foto viral

Subido por Geralt en Pixabay.

Lo que no esperaba era la base de fans sacados de una película de terror que crecía poco a poco, la gente empezó a seguirme en la universidad, al principio era sólo un tipo sospechoso, pero pronto acabé con un grupo de cinco, luego se convirtió en veinte personas, todos ellos se llamaban a sí mismos espiritistas o cosas así, diciendo que me perseguía un alma en pena.

Al principio decidí dejarlo estar, dejar que me presionaran, ellos hacían sus rituales pero yo seguía viendo al hombre en el espejo, uno tras otro, me rendí cuando llegó el número mágico, 100 rituales ninguno de ellos exitoso, este hombre no me dejará, pase lo que pase.

Entonces llegó ella, los demás le cedieron el paso y después de que ella se uniera a las siguientes, se desvanecieron, huyendo como el diablo. Aquella noche solo éramos dos mujeres juntas, nadie más, ella me miró e hizo una señal de silencio, y sin que yo dijera nada empezó su ritual.

Bruja

Subido por Ksyfffka07 en Pixabay.

Gritaba mi nombre en alto, también el de mis padres, constantemente decía Amanda de vez en cuando, solo lo gritaba mientras cantaba en otra lengua, cada vez que gritaba nuestros nombres podía escuchar otro que nunca escuchaba, decía Eduardo, una y otra vez llamaba a mis padres y a los míos, junto a ese nombre, sin parar durante media hora, y luego me miro.

-Él nunca se irá de tu lado, no quiere hacerlo, y dijo que es una parte de ti tanto como tú eres una parte de él, los dos son únicos, nacisteis al mismo tiempo, y estaran siempre conectados como nadie en la tierra lo estará, es tu hermano, un gemelo fraternal tuyo.
-¿Gemelo? Espera ¿Eso significa que tengo un hermano? Eso es imposible mis padres me lo hubieran dicho.
-Apuesto a que lo hicieron cuando eras niña y no eras capaz de entenderlos, y finalmente decidieron lo contrario, no puedo dividir un vínculo entre hermanos como el suyo, eso iría en contra de la naturaleza y las almas.
-Pero qué pasa con la CARA que veo ¿Acabará alguna vez?
-¿Quieres que termine? Mientras hacía el ritual me conecté con él, te quiere mucho, ni siquiera tus padres te quieren como él, es tu hermano, y no voy a dividir ese vínculo.

Después de eso, me dejó sola, sentada en una habitación oscura sin nada más que el hombre del espejo y mis ganas de saber la verdad porque por fin sabía lo que me faltaba, era él y no quería separarme de él.

Gemelos Fraternales

Subido por Tomma5588 en Unsplash.

Las vacaciones de primavera estaban a la vuelta de la esquina, y yo estaba obligada a ir a casa de mis padres, todavía teníamos que resolver todo el asunto de la foto, pero estaba preparada para soltarles esta bomba, quería saber sobre mi hermano, sobre Eduardo.

Poco sabía yo de lo infantil que era mi pensar en ese momento y cuando me di cuenta de la verdad. El viaje a casa fue largo, decidí hacer un viaje por carretera sólo para pensar en qué diría y cómo, era mejor así, tomándome un tiempo conmigo, y con el hombre del espejo, supongo que ahora debería llamarlo hermano.

Viaje de carretera

Subido por Who_made_this en Pixabay.

Cuando finalmente llegué a casa mis padres estaban en la puerta, esperándome, ambos parecían a punto de sufrir un infarto, sus rostros llenos de ira y decepción, me reí un poco en mi mente porque aún no han visto mis notas escolares, las mantuve ocultas por si acaso intentaban desviarse del elefante en la habitación.

-Tenemos que hablar contigo señorita, primero, borra esa foto olvidada por dios de las redes sociales ¡Ahora mismo!
-Estoy en ello mamá, déjame llegar al ordenador de mi habitación.
-Mi cielo, eso ya no existe, tu papá lo rompió tratando de encontrar la foto para poder eliminarla.

Eso hizo que mi rabia se desbordara un poco, pero eso solo fue el principio, parece que mis padres rompieron todo lo que había en mi habitación y quemaron todas las cosas de mi infancia, supongo que ellos por fin se dieron cuenta de que no mentía ni inventaba cosas cuando era niña. Que desagradable ver como todas las cosas que me gustaban tiradas en el patio tracero, quemadas, mientras ellos me mentían en la cara diciendo que un incendio comenzó en mi habitación y lo que fuera necesario para parecer menos culpables.

Entonces vi mi muñeca favorita, quemada junto a los restos, sólo mirándome, cuántas veces les dije a mis padres que una mano de niño la agarró y jugó conmigo, cuántas veces jugó Eduardo conmigo, sólo ¿Por qué se ha ido, cómo, quién? Necesito saber la verdad.

Muñeca sucia

Subido por Mikaelelmgren en Pixabay.

Después de la cena mis padres por fin se animaron a hablarme de nuevo, todo este día estuve en sintonia con Eduardo, un silencio ensordecedor como si yo fuera el fantasma que perseguía a mis padres, y tal vez lo era, tal vez Eduardo era el vivo, y todos estábamos muertos, quién sabe.

-Amanda tenemos que hablar de ti y de esa cara.
-Sé que tuve un hermano, algún espiritista me dijo que la cara era mi hermano, un Gemelo además.
-Yo... Nosotros, es difícil decirlo. -Cállate mujer, no digas otra palabra.
-Pero es verdad Jim, es hora de decirle la verdad, toda la verdad, no lo que le dijimos a la policía y al forense.
-NO LO HAGAS
-Amanda tu mataste a tu her... -Te dije que no se lo dijeras, en eso estábamos de acuerdo ¿Por qué lo hiciste? ¿por qué? Y vi a mi padre, esa bestia llena de ira tratando de golpear a mamá por hablar, simplemente se levantó del asiento con la ira en los ojos, nunca había actuado así, nunca vi una pista de ello también, era un hombre tranquilo y calmado, o eso creía yo.

Al cabo de unos segundos acabé uniéndome a la pelea, separé a mis padres con facilidad, y la mirada de sorpresa de mi padre al ver lo fuerte que era se igualó a mi sensación de susto en lo más profundo de mi ser, no sabía que tenía tanta fuerza.

Pero su mamá dijo: -Está poseída por su hermano, basta, es demasiado tarde, es hora de decirle la verdad. Y mi padre con una cara de profundo asco finalmente se rindió.

Papa explotando

Subido por Enginakyurt en Unsplash.

Sólo se sentó y ambos actuaron como si nunca hubiera pasado, era raro, parecían asustados de mí.
-Amanda, querida, tenemos algo que decirte, cuando tenías cuatro años, tú y tu hermano estaban jugando en el borde de la ventana del departamento, y yo estaba cocinando, tu papá estaba en el teléfono, ustedes dos estaban peleando por su muñeca favorita. Y tú sólo... Lo empujaste.

-Se tropezó en la dirección equivocada porque yo estaba en ese maldito teléfono, y sólo fue directo a la ventana, la cosa estaba abierta y lo vi, grité a todo pulmón, tanto como él. Te vi matar a tu hermano.

-Cuando salí de la cocina era demasiado tarde. Él se había ido y tú llorabas su nombre, te llevamos a un psicólogo y a un terapeuta, ambos dijeron que no lo recordarías si mentíamos, así que lo hicimos. Mentimos sobre él y sobre que lo habías matado.

-Y eso mató a nuestro matrimonio y a nuestros corazones, dijo papá mientras miraba muy mal a mamá.
-Pero mamá, papá ¿Por qué está en las fotos, y por qué está sonriendo? Ambos me miraron fijamente, y dijeron lentamente: Él mientras caía dijo: Te quiero, Amanda, para siempre.

Niño cayendo, o mejor dicho un aproximado

Subido por Alexas_Fotos en Pixabay.

Eso fue todo, me fui a la cama, me desperté con los gritos de mi madre, papá se ahorcó esa medianoche mientras todos dormíamos. Le pasó factura durante años a mama, me gradué en la universidad y empecé un nuevo trabajo en otra ciudad, la foto hacía tiempo que había desaparecido pero la cara en el espejo se multiplicaba, ahora eran dos, Eduardo y papá.

Ambos sonriendo, ambos amando mientras yo solo veía su sangre en mis manos, quizás mamá también se sentía así, nunca lo sabré. Este es mi secreto a guardar, mi muy oscuro y trágico secreto familiar.

Banner hecho en Canva, por mi

El concepto de gemelos que se ven diferentes es algo profundamente perturbador para mí, lo encuentro bastante bizarro, al igual que los accidentes de este tipo, así que tras una idea extraña que tuve después de escuchar a Eric Clapton y un sueño, nació esta historia, espero que les haya gustado y si no les importa que les pregunte: ¿Habéis escuchado alguna vez la canción tears in heaven? Los leere en los comentarios.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency