I waited for you forever [Eng - Esp]

It was the fourth time that I walked through the apartment full of impatience. It had been three weeks since that message that arrived on my cell phone and changed my life forever.

I have very fuzzy memories of my childhood. I know I was born somewhere and I was very loved. But for some reason I was separated from my home and arrived here; how and when, I don't remember. What I know is because my aunt (that's what I call the woman who adopted me) told me about the day I arrived.

It was a stormy night when she heard a knock on the door. She was very puzzled and wondered who it could be. When she opened the door she saw a little boy, no older than four, passed out on the doorstep.

Frightened out of her wits, she took me in her arms and carried me inside. I know he took care of me for the next few days.

The message that changed everything

Source Pixabay.

He made the proper inquiries, to find out where I was from, but found nothing. There was no police description of me in the missing persons reports. He waited for many years, hoping that someone would show up or give a report, but all to no avail.

-It seemed that you were born from the flowers or the trees of the field. I had convinced myself that you were magic and that nature had taken pity on me and had given me a son," he said as we embraced, contemplating the sunrise.

So I lived for many years in the mountains, watching the sun rise again and again in the green fields full of trees with sweet fruit. I was able to jump and dance in the rain with my aunt while we stored that vital liquid destined for the chores. I fished in the crystal clear river, enough for lunch every day, grateful to the Creator for giving me such a pleasant and peaceful life.

Separador.png

However, there was a deep restlessness inside me that grew with time. I wondered if someone would miss me. I did not think it possible that someone had not looked for me or at least made the effort.

I hoped to find whoever they were again or at least get some response. My aunt tried not to be negative about it and encouraged me by always reminding me of the popular saying "hope is the last thing you lose".

Separador.png

So I did my research every time I went down to the village to study at the local school. I asked everyone I could if they knew anything about me. The only thing they remembered from that night when I mysteriously appeared was the car accident on a road near the village.

Car total loss

Source Pixabay.

-There was nothing left," said the man in his forties who owned a local grocery store, "we barely got the bodies of that couple out, a real shame, because the car burst into fire" he said as he gave me the candy I asked for, "that poor lady from the ranch upstairs was left without a family and without a chance to reconcile with her son; don't hold grudges boy," he said as I said goodbye, "never do that".

Separador.png

All they remembered was that tragic accident and absolutely nothing about me and my mysterious arrival.
Although I got tired of searching momentarily, I was hopeful that at some point I would find the answer.

I continued on my journey through life and I knew from the moment I graduated from high school that I wanted to repay my aunt for all she had done for me. So I decided to go to the city to study at the university.

College

Source Pixabay.

That morning when I set out on a new journey, I said goodbye to my aunt with a big hug. She kissed my cheeks and forehead; wishing me well and giving me her blessing. She advised me to be careful and not to overindulge in sweets.

I knew her so well that I could see the doubt in her eyes, as she said goodbye, I knew something was up but I couldn't intuit what. I was about to ask her when my ride arrived and made me forget all about it.

Separador.png

I think college was one of the best times of my life. I got to know a lot about myself in those long hallways and green areas. I found myself loving swimming and as captain of the university team. I spent long nights with library books and knew my love for them was endless.

Pregnancy

Source Pixabay.

I loved in a small room a brown-haired girl with curves similar to those fields of my childhood. I loved her so much that months before my graduation ceremony she told me we were expecting a child. I knew I would never stop feeling love again.

But still, I wanted to know in my soul, if out there some relative would be thinking what I would become and would be proud of me without knowing me. I would know the answer a few months later.

Separador.png

With my degree in hand and Asher beside me, I greeted my aunt with great joy shortly before my baby was born. I had rented a small apartment in town with the money I had earned at my new job.

My aunt had brought many gifts, mostly clothes for the baby that she had made herself. I thought Asher would turn her down, but to my surprise, she was so excited about the new baby clothes, she hugged her mother-in-law countless times throughout the day in appreciation.

At times I caught my aunt pensive and would ask her if anything was wrong. She would shake her head and hug me, telling me I was the best son a mother could have. I wasn't convinced by that but I let her; hoping that at some point she would confess to me what was going on.

New grad

Source Pixabay.

Abram was one month old when I got that mysterious message. It said she was my grandmother and that she wanted to meet me. I was shocked, I couldn't believe it. I ran to the room where my aunt was and by my astonished face she guessed the news I had received.

-It's true son, I was hoping she would tell you herself," she said as she cradled Abram in her arms.
-She's coming in a few weeks," I said trembling, "I don't know what to do.
She looked at me with tenderness and answered: "John, it's your turn to wait.

The days were long and I could not see the day coming. Many times I watched the sunrise through my window, with my child in my arms, waiting for the day to come.

The long-awaited day came and I found myself in a state of restlessness, I found myself walking around the apartment many times without a snooze. Neither Asher nor my aunt could calm me down.

Separador.png

The doorbell rang, and I hurried to open the door. A short lady in a white hat stood behind it. I realized it was that woman from the ranch up the mountain that was so much talked about.

I had mixed feelings, I felt sad to know that my parents were the ones who had died in the brutal accident but on the other hand, I felt very happy, knowing that my hope had not been in vain.

Eventually, I found out that she did not know of my existence, she found out two years ago when the lawyers wanted to sell her son's house. She couldn't do it, feeling that I was out there somewhere.

After much inquiry, she learned that I was in the car when the accident happened. It was a matter of time to tie up all the loose ends, and it was all confirmed by my aunt telling her about the night I had arrived.

The other evidence was superfluous, and we only remembered with affection those evenings when we saw each other and told each other that we had always waited for each other.

Separador.png

I hope you liked my publication, you can leave your comments and suggestions at the end of this post. Greetings and a big hug. See you next time.


Spanish


Te esperé siempre

Era la cuarta que vez que recorría el apartamento lleno de impaciencia. Habían pasado tres semanas de aquel mensaje que llegó a mi celular y cambió mi vida para siempre.

Tengo recuerdos muy difusos de mi infancia. Se que nací en algún lugar y fui muy amado. Pero por alguna razón fui separado de mi hogar y llegue aquí; cómo y cuando, no lo recuerdo. Lo que sé es porque mi tía (así llamo a la mujer que me adoptó) me contó acerca del día que llegué.

Era una noche de tormenta cuando escuchó que alguien tocaba la puerta. Estaba muy extrañada y se preguntaba quién podría ser. Cuando abrió vio a un niño pequeño no mayor de cuatro años, desmayado en el umbral de la puerta. Asustada en gran manera, me tomó en sus brazos y me llevó adentro. Sé que cuidó de mí los siguientes días.

El mensaje que lo cambió todo

Fuente Pixabay.

Hizo las debidas investigaciones, para conocer de donde era, pero nada encontró. No había en la policía mi descripción en los reportes de desaparecidos. Estuvo largos años, esperando que alguien apareciera o dieran algún informe, pero todo fue en vano.

-Parecía que habías nacido de las flores o de los arboles del campo. Me había convencido de que eras mágico y que la naturaleza se había compadecido de mí y me había regalado un hijo- decía mientras nos abrazábamos contemplando el amanecer.

Así viví muchos años en la montaña, viendo al sol nacer una y otra vez en los campos verdes llenos de árboles con dulce fruto. Pude saltar y bailar en la lluvia junto a tía mientras almacenábamos aquel líquido vital destinado a los quehaceres. Pesqué en el río cristalino, lo suficiente para el almuerzo de cada día, agradecido con el Creador por regalarme una vida tan placentera y tranquila.

Separador.png

Sin embargo, había dentro de mí una profunda inquietud que crecía con el tiempo. Me preguntaba si alguna persona me extrañaría. No creía posible que alguien no me hubiera buscado o hecho al menos el esfuerzo.

Tenía la esperanza de volver a encontrarlos a quienes fueran ellos o al menos de obtener alguna respuesta. Mi tía intentaba no ser negativa al respecto y me daba ánimos recordándome siempre el dicho popular "la esperanza es lo último que se pierde".

Separador.png

Así que investigué por mi cuenta cada vez que bajaba al pueblo a estudiar en la institución escolar local. Pregunté a todo el que pude, si sabían algo de mí. Lo único que recordaban de aquella noche en la cual aparecí misteriosamente, era el accidente de auto en una carretera cercana al pueblo.

Auto en fuego

Fuente Pixabay.

-No quedó nada- me dijo el hombre cuarentón que tenía un abasto local- a duras penas sacamos los cuerpos de aquella pareja antes de que el auto explotara en llamas, una verdadera lástima- dijo mientras me daba la golosina que pedí- esa pobre señora del rancho arriba se quedó sin familia y sin chance de reconciliarse con su hijo; no guardes rencores muchacho- dijo me mientras me despedía- nunca lo hagas.

Separador.png

Todo lo que recordaban era ese trágico accidente y absolutamente nada sobre mí y mi misteriosa llegada.
A pesar que me cansé de buscar de manera momentánea, tenía le esperanza que de un momento a otro encontraría la respuesta.

Continué mi transitar en el camino de la vida y supe desde el mismo momento que me gradué de la escuela secundaria; que quería pagarle a mi tía todo lo que había hecho por mí. Así que tomé la decisión de irme a la ciudad a estudiar en la universidad.

Universidad, salon

Fuente Pixabay.

Aquella mañana que emprendí un nuevo viaje, me despedí de tía con un fuerte abrazo. Ella besó mis mejillas y mi frente; deseándome lo mejor y dándome su bendición. Me aconsejó que tuviera cuidado y que no me excediera con los dulces.

La conocía tan bien que pude ver la duda en sus ojos, mientras se despedía, sabía que algo ocurría pero no podía intuir qué. Estaba a punto de preguntarle cuando mi transporte llegó y me hizo olvidarlo por completo.

Separador.png

Creo que la universidad fue una de las mejores etapas de mi vida. Pude conocer mucho de mi en aquellos largos pasillos y áreas verdes. Me encontré amando la natación y como capitán del equipo de la universidad. Pasé largas noches con libros de la biblioteca y supe que mi amor por ellos era infinito.

Asher y John

Fuente Pixabay.

Amé en una pequeña habitación a una chica de cabello castaño con curvas semejantes a aquellos campos de mi niñez. La quise tanto que meses antes de mi acto de graduación me dijo que esperábamos un hijo. Sabía que no dejaría de sentir amor nunca más.

Pero aun así quise saber en mi alma, si allí afuera algún familiar estaría pensando en lo que me convertiría y estaría orgulloso de mí sin conocerme. Sabría la respuesta unos meses después.

Separador.png

Con mi título en mano y Asher junto a mí, recibí a mi tía con gran alegría poco antes de nacer ni bebé. Había alquilado un pequeño apartamento en la ciudad con el dinero que había ganado en mi nuevo empleo.

Mi tía había traído mucho regalos, mayormente ropa para el bebé que ella misma había confeccionado. Pensé que Asher la rechazaría, pero para mi sorpresa estaba tan emocionada con la nueva ropa del bebé, que abrazó a su suegra innumerables veces en el día en señal de agradecimiento.

En momentos sorprendí a mi tía pensativa, y le preguntaba si ocurría algo. Ella negaba con la cabeza y me abrazaba diciéndome que era el mejor hijo que una madre podía tener. No me convencía con eso pero le dejaba; esperando que en algún momento ella me confesara lo que estaba pasando.

Separador.png

Tenía Abram un mes de nacido cuando me llegó aquel misterioso mensaje. Decía que era mi abuela y que quería conocerme. Quedé impactado, no podía creerlo. Corrí hasta la habitación donde estaba mi tía y por mi rostro de asombro adivinó la noticia que había recibido.

-Es cierto hijo, esperaba que ella misma te dijera- dijo mientras acunaba a Abram en los brazos.
-Viene en unas semanas- dije tembloroso- no sé que hacer.
Ella me miró con ternura y respondió: -John te toca esperar.

Los días se me hicieron largos y no veía que el día llegara. Muchas veces vi el amanecer a través de mi ventana, con mi niño en los brazos trasnochado, esperando que sería de aquello.

Llegó el día tan esperado y me hallaba en desasosiego, me halle recorriendo el apartamento muchas veces sin tumbo. Ni Asher ni mi tía lograron calmarme.

Abuela

Fuente Unsplash.

El timbre sonó y me apresuré a abrir la puerta. Una señora de baja estatura y sombrero blanco estaba detrás de ella. Me di cuenta que era aquella mujer del rancho arriba de la montaña que tanto se hablaba.

Tuve sentimientos encontrados, sentí tristeza al saber que mis padres eran los que habían muerto en el brutal accidente pero por otro lado me sentí muy feliz, sabiendo que mi esperanza no había no había sido en vano.

Con el tiempo me enteré que ella no sabía de mi existencia, se enteró hace dos años, cuando los abogados quisieron vender la casa de su hijo. No pudo hacerlo, sintiendo que yo estaba allí afuera en algún lado.

Después de muchas averiguaciones supo que yo iba en el auto cuando ocurrió el accidente. Fue cuestión de tiempo para atar todos los cabos, y todo lo confirmó mi tía narrándole la noche en que yo había llegado.

Las otras pruebas estuvieron de más y solo recordamos con cariño aquella tardes que nos vimos y nos dijimos que nos habíamos esperado siempre.

Gracias por leer, hecho en Canva pro

Espero les haya gustado mi publicación, pueden dejar sus comentarios y sugerencias al final de este post. Saludos y un fuerte abrazo. Hasta la próxima vez.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency