Carnival Writing Challenge// Aunt Silvina's costume /El disfraz de la tía Silvina

Greetings, friends of the Writing Club ,community this is my entry to participate in the Carnival Writing Challenge.

Aunt Silvina's Costume

Those were the years when the carnival gave permission for everyone to take off their masks, and also their costumes, as you read. My aunt Silvina was a reserved, kind, graceful, well-mannered young woman, I could tell now that she disguised herself as people. She was nine years older than me. The story I am about to tell you happened when I was eleven.



I liked her because she was very affectionate with me, her only nephew. In the afternoons she would get together with her friends, paint their nails with that nail polish whose smell was intoxicating, and I would find a way to be close by while she went through the ritual of filing, cleaning and painting, because I knew that at any moment she was going to send me to the bodega to buy something for her.

Silvina would send me to play in the yard with other children, so that she could talk to her friends and laugh quietly; but I was attentive, waiting for her to call me, after the errand she would leave me the change, she always did, they were pennies, which I would then collect to buy: metras, little plastic soldiers or like that time, bags of pumps to fill with water and play carnival, when they gave us permission.

We lived relatively close to grandmother Jacinta's house, who had, in addition to Silvina, Rosa, Elvira, Alfredo and my father Rogelio, the eldest of her children. Every afternoon we liked to go there to play and eat the coconut preserves, mango jelly and rice pudding that my grandmother Jacinta made for sale.

In that carnival my love for playing with water was born and died. I remember that we would gather in front of the house or play in the courtyard, while the adults had fun with dominoes and cards. My grandmother used to make chicken stew and in the afternoon they would call us to get changed to go to the square to see the costumes. I was struck by the fear they provoked in me, some men painted black with a black guayuco and a trinchete that they used to frighten the children and force the adults to give them money.

Carnival Monday was a lot of fun because some friends of my uncles and aunts came to visit and they poured water on each other with buckets. At first she didn't want to play, but when they finally got her wet she joined the group and we stayed together until ten o'clock at night. The adults danced on the wet floor and we slid around on the floor laughing noisily.

On Tuesday my aunt woke up happy, very early in the morning she sat in front of a mirror combing her hair. I remember that she separated her hair into strands, which she would impregnate with beer and then wrap each one around cardboard toilet paper tubes, until she had a head full of them, she looked like a Martian, now that I think about it, although I've never seen one.

In the afternoon we were under the mango tree, talking and playing with a rag ball, in the distance we could hear shouts of noise from other houses; I asked if we could still play with water and my grandmother told me yes, but that we weren't going to get wet any more because the girls had already cleaned the house.

It was about six o'clock in the evening when my aunt Silvina sat outside, next to the kitchen door, brushing her hair and staring into the henhouse; I crept up to her and poured a pot of water on her head. I didn't run, I thought she would laugh like the day before, but she turned into an eagle, grabbed me by one arm and dug her sharp nails into me, causing me pain, one eye was looking at me and her eyebrow was drawing a pyramid, she was dragging me screaming like the siren of an ambulance.


Everyone ran to see what was happening, half of her hair was soaked and covered her other eye; I tried to get away but my nails were digging in deeper and I let myself be carried away like a doll, the peaceful Silvina had turned into a horrendous woman who screamed like the sayona. As she couldn't find anything to throw at me, she reached into a pot of spaghetti and rubbed it on my head and face, she was totally out of her mind.

I don't even know who freed me from her clutches; several people restrained her and my uncle Alfredo took me to the courtyard and washed me with soap and water next to the pan: "you've just met the temper of the angry woman", he said to me, while laughing under his breath.

It never occurred to me to play with water again, I got wet many times and it was inevitable that my aunt Silvina's transformation came back to my mind, when she took off her people's costume and became a hyena, a jellyfish and a malevolent witch, the woman of a thousand disguises. She became the same again, but I never forgot that Tuesday carnival when I learned where beasts come from.

Thanks for your reading

My content is original
Images taken from the free pixabay network with their source.
I have used the translator DeepL


20210927_105516_0000.png

Saludos, amigos de la comunidad Writing Club, esta es mi entrada para participar en el Carnival Writing Challenge.

EL DISFRAZ DE LA TÍA SILVINA

Eran aquellos años donde el carnaval daba el permiso para que cada uno se quitara las máscaras, y también su disfraz, así como se lee. Mi tía Silvina era una joven reservada, amable, agraciada, de finos modales, podría decir ahora que se disfrazaba de gente. Era nueve años mayor que yo. La historia que voy a contarles pasó cuando yo tenía once años.



Ella me caía bien porque era muy cariñosa conmigo, su único sobrino. En las tardes se reunía con las amigas, pintaban sus uñas con aquel esmalte cuyo olor embriagaba, yo buscaba la manera de estar cerca, mientras ella realizaba ese ritual de limar, limpiar y pintar, porque sabía que en cualquier momento me iba a enviar a la bodega a comprarle algo.

Silvina me mandaba a jugar al patio con otros niños, para ella poder hablar con sus amigas y reír en voz baja; pero estaba atento, a que me llamara, luego del mandado me dejaba el vuelto, siempre lo hacia, eran centavos, que luego yo reunía para comprar: metras, soldaditos de plástico o como aquella vez, bolsas de bombas para llenar de agua y jugar carnaval, cuando nos dieran permiso.

Nosotros vivíamos relativamente cerca de la casa de la abuela Jacinta, quien tenía, además de Silvina, a Rosa, Elvira, Alfredo y mi papá Rogelio, el mayor de sus hijos. Cada tarde nos gustaba ir para allá a jugar y comer las conservas de coco, jalea de mango y arroz con leche que mi abuela Jacinta hacía para la venta.

En aquel carnaval nació y murió mi gusto por jugar con agua, recuerdo que nos reuníamos al frente de la casa o jugábamos en el patio, mientras los adultos se divertían con dominó y barajas. Mi abuela hacía sancocho de gallina y en la tarde nos llamaban para que nos cambiáramos para ir a la plaza a ver los disfraces. Me llamaban la atención, por el miedo que me provocaban, unos hombres pintados de negro con un guayuco del mismo color y un trinchete que usaban para amedrentar a los niños y obligar a los adultos a que les dieran dinero.

El lunes de carnaval fue muy divertido porque vinieron de visita unos amigos de mis tíos y se echaban agua con baldes. Mi tía Silvina se hizo rogar para salir al patio, al comienzo no quería jugar, pero cuando por fin la mojaron se unió al grupo y estuvimos hasta las diez de la noche reunidos. Los adultos bailaban en el piso mojado y nosotros nos deslizábamos por el suelo riéndonos ruidosamente.

El martes mi tía amaneció contenta, muy temprano en la mañana se acomodó frente a un espejo a peinarse. Recuerdo que se separó el cabello en mechones, los cuales iba impregnando de cerveza y luego envolvía tubos de cartón del papel higiénico con cada uno, hasta tener la cabeza llena de ellos, parecía un marciano, ahora que lo pienso, aunque yo nunca he visto uno.

En la tarde estuvimos debajo del palo de mango, hablando y jugando con una pelota de trapo, a lo lejos se escuchaban gritos de algarabía en otras casas; pregunté si todavía se podía jugar con agua y mi abuela me dijo que sí, pero que no íbamos a mojarnos más porque ya las muchachas habían limpiado la casa.

Eran como las seis de la tarde cuando mi tía Silvina se sentó afuera, al lado de la puerta de la cocina, cepillaba su cabello mirando fijamente hacia el gallinero; con mucho sigilo me acerqué y le vacié un pote de agua en la cabeza. No corrí, creí que se reiría como el dia anterior, pero ella se convirtió en un águila, me agarró por un brazo y me clavó sus uñas afiladas, causándome dolor, un ojo me miraba y su ceja dibujaba una pirámide, me arrastraba dando alaridos como la sirena de una ambulancia.

Todos corrieron a ver qué pasaba, media cabellera empapada le tapaba el otro ojo; yo traté de zafarme pero me hundía más las uñas y me dejé llevar como un muñeco, la apacible Silvina se había convertido en una horrenda mujer que daba alaridos como la sayona. Como no encontró que echarme metió la mano en una olla con espaguetis y me los restregó en la cabeza y la cara, estaba totalmente fuera de sí.

No sé ni quién me zafó de sus garras; entre varios la contuvieron y mi tío Alfredo me llevó al patio y al lado de la batea, me lavó con agua y jabón: «acabas de conocer el genio de la mujer enojada», me dijo, mientras se reía en voz baja.

Nunca más se me ocurrió jugar con agua, me mojaron muchas veces y era inevitable que volviera a mi mente la transformación de mi tía Silvina, cuando se quitó el disfraz de gente y se convirtió en hiena, medusa y bruja malévola, la mujer de los mil disfraces. Ella volvió a ser la misma otra vez, pero yo nunca olvidé aquel martes de carnaval cuando aprendí de dónde vienen las bestias.

Gracias por su amable lectura

Mi contenido es original
Imágenes tomadas de Pixabay con su respectiva fuente.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency