Caught in the mist [eng -esp]


Source

It was raining as I walked back home through the woods which was the shortest and safest path home. While I walked I continued to reminisce on what James told me while I was leaving his house. He said that there have been rumors of boys and men going missing in the woods, he claimed that a spirit from the world of the dead has returned to exact its revenge on men for their evil acts. But, I have known James for a long time, and he is always babbling about the supernatural events of life, whether it's true or not. So I wasn't bothered about his ghost stories. What I was more bothered about was getting home on time. It was beginning to rain heavily.

I started running, trying to get back home as quickly as possible when I heard a sound from within the forest. It sounded like a cry for help, so I turned towards the sound and headed straight for it. As I got closer I could make out a figure from within the dark forest heavily fogged with rain. I moved closer and closer then what appeared as a single figure turned into two.
One was lying on the ground while the other was standing over the body. I could feel a sense of impending doom slowly and quickly approaching but still, I went further. Until I saw the bloody butcher's knife in her hand.
She stood over the decapitated body with the bloody knife in her hand. Her air was soaked with rain and blood, her skin pale as death, and her garment as black as a burnt offering.

I stopped almost immediately, completely absorbed in cold, there was no doubt in my mind, that this is the butcher's wife. My blood ran cold, I quickly turned back to where I was coming from and made my way home, running like a mad man while dodging the trees and splashing through puddles In my way.

I could sense death behind me, I knew she was the one but I didn't stop, not even for a second.

I could see my house from the distance, I picked up the pace until I got to it. I rushed in through the back door where mother was busy preparing dinner.
She asked me why I was in a rush, but I was too busy securing the doors and windows to give her an answer. When I was done, I instantly ran upstairs to get my father's shotgun which he usually kept in his room. I returned downstairs to find my mother still waiting for me but now joined by my two younger siblings she was very adamant to know the reason for my erratic behavior.
So, I told her, that, the butcher's wife is real and on the loose. I told her of the headless body and how she chased me all the way home. Mother was stunned and speechless, she didn't know what to say but I could sense the fear in her eyes and the uncertainty in her movement. She stretched out her arms grabbing and pulling my two siblings closer to her.
And just at that moment, the light flickered. And we could see the fog filling the room until the lights went off leaving us deep in the darkness and buried with fog. Mother went down on her knees together with my siblings and began to whisper words of prayer.
My legs were cold, my hands shaking, and will unsure. Why did I come home? Now my family is in danger...Just then footsteps approached the door, slowly but steadily, one step at a time.

I stood my ground, with my legs apart assuming a solid horse stance. My hand still held on to the gun and was still shaking with fear. The footsteps seized and the door knobs started to jiggle. The rain was still pouring heavily outside and I was still wet, cold, and shivering. Suddenly the footsteps stopped and then the rain followed.
Everywhere went silent, I could hear my heart beating louder and louder, and then suddenly the kitchen door burst open revealing a cloud of fog that burst into the room immersing everything and everyone. I could hear my mother and my siblings screaming. But I couldn't see them because the cloudy fog had grown thicker and thicker. The scream stopped and the cloud fell revealing the body of my mother and siblings covered with blood and cruelly decapitated.
I couldn't believe my eyes, my pain grew quickly and completely overshadowed my fear, and my rage became a burning fire. I let out a rageful scream until the cold in my body completely vanished leaving me wet but heated for battle.

Slowly, I rose to my feet water and blood dripping from my hands and body, I looked outside the door, and there she was, the beast, the murderer, the villain of my story, and from that moment onwards my emotions took over.
With lightning speed, I ran towards the butcher's wife holding the gun in my hands tightly. I jumped outside through the door like a raging buffalo landing into a puddle of water causing a splash. I pointed my gun toward her and fired away freely. But something was wrong, she wasn't attacking me, she kept moving further and further away like a ghost glitching from one point to another. But I wasn't ready to care, I unleashed the gun again on her firing at will and chasing her on foot but she kept on disappearing into thin air and away from my aim.

I chased after her steady like a lion on the hunt running back deep into the forest with her leading the way. I tumbled and fell, but rose again with speed and ease, chasing my target without remorse. Until finally she completely vanished. I looked around and screamed her name but there was no answer. Once again I fell to my knees and began to cry when I heard a faint cough. I looked around again but this time I noticed I was back at the spot where I initially saw her with the decapitated body. It was still alive, the dead body. I moved closer to it and found he was just bleeding out, he was dead, He wasn't decapitated, how is this possible? I am very sure I saw a decapitated body lying here or is this another one she killed? I asked myself still confused.
"Help!", The body said with a faint voice and a little bit of life. I rushed to him and using the gun powder, I was able to temporarily stop his bleeding. I asked him what happened to him and he said it was the ghost, he said he tried killing it but failed, he didn't know what happened but he just struck himself with his butcher knife.

"That's what happens to anyone who tries to kill me....fear, fight or flight", a voice echoed within the woods. I stared into the darkness, ready and alert. Eventually, she appeared right Infront of me and I smartly dived for my gun ready to shoot before I realized It was empty and I had used my reserve as gun powder to clot the injured man's wound.

"Relax, I do not want to hurt you.. I needed your help to stop him from dying. I'm not your enemy". She said still looking ever so creepy and ghost-like.

"If that's so why did you kill my family?! Tell me!! ...Why did you kill my mother and my younger ones?!", I asked with anger in my voice.

"I didn't, they only passed out, out of fear and my cloud of mist made you see what you wanted to see."

"Prove it", I yelled angrily with a little bit of hope that what she said could be true.

"Just listen", she said

Once again everywhere was calm and I heard my mother's voice calling my name. I immediately gave a breath of relief and my face beamed with smiles of joy. Before I yelled back at her, telling her that I'm fine.

I turned back to the ghost,
"Then who are you and what do you want?", My voice thicken at the question

"I am dead..and I need your help. But first, he must live"...

To be continued...




Esp


Source

Llovía mientras caminaba de vuelta a casa por el bosque, que era el camino más corto y seguro para llegar a casa. Mientras caminaba seguí recordando lo que James me dijo mientras salía de su casa. Dijo que había habido rumores de niños y hombres desaparecidos en el bosque, afirmó que un espíritu del mundo de los muertos había regresado para vengarse de los hombres por sus malos actos. Pero, conozco a James desde hace mucho tiempo, y siempre está balbuceando sobre los sucesos sobrenaturales de la vida, sean ciertos o no. Así que no me molestaban sus historias de fantasmas. Lo que me preocupaba más era llegar a casa a tiempo. Empezaba a llover con fuerza.

Empecé a correr, tratando de volver a casa lo más rápido posible, cuando escuché un sonido desde el interior del bosque. Parecía un grito de auxilio, así que me giré hacia el sonido y me dirigí directamente a él. A medida que me acercaba pude distinguir una figura en el interior del oscuro bosque fuertemente empañado por la lluvia. Me acerqué cada vez más y lo que parecía una sola figura se convirtió en dos.
Una estaba tumbada en el suelo y la otra estaba de pie sobre el cuerpo. Podía sentir una sensación de fatalidad inminente que se acercaba lenta y rápidamente, pero aun así, seguí adelante. Hasta que vi el cuchillo de carnicero ensangrentado en su mano.
Estaba de pie sobre el cuerpo decapitado con el cuchillo ensangrentado en la mano. Su aire estaba empapado de lluvia y sangre, su piel pálida como la muerte y su vestimenta negra como un holocausto.

Me detuve casi de inmediato, completamente absorbido por el frío, no había duda en mi mente, que esta es la esposa del carnicero. Se me heló la sangre, rápidamente me volví por donde venía y me dirigí a mi casa, corriendo como un loco mientras esquivaba los árboles y chapoteaba en los charcos a mi paso.

Podía sentir la muerte detrás de mí, sabía que era ella pero no me detuve, ni siquiera por un segundo.

Pude ver mi casa a lo lejos, aceleré el paso hasta llegar a ella. Entré a toda prisa por la puerta trasera, donde mi madre estaba ocupada preparando la cena.
Me preguntó por qué tenía tanta prisa, pero estaba demasiado ocupada asegurando las puertas y ventanas como para darle una respuesta. Cuando terminé, subí corriendo a por la escopeta de mi padre, que normalmente guardaba en su habitación. Cuando volví a bajar me encontré con que mi madre seguía esperándome, pero ahora acompañada de mis dos hermanos pequeños, y que quería saber la razón de mi comportamiento errático.
Así que le dije que la mujer del carnicero era real y andaba suelta. Le hablé del cuerpo sin cabeza y de cómo me persiguió todo el camino a casa. La madre se quedó atónita y sin palabras, no sabía qué decir, pero pude percibir el miedo en sus ojos y la incertidumbre en sus movimientos. Estiró los brazos agarrando y acercando a mis dos hermanos a ella.
Y justo en ese momento, la luz parpadeó. Y pudimos ver la niebla que llenaba la habitación hasta que las luces se apagaron dejándonos en la oscuridad y enterrados por la niebla. Mamá se arrodilló junto con mis hermanos y comenzó a susurrar palabras de oración.
Tenía las piernas frías, las manos temblorosas y la voluntad insegura. ¿Por qué he vuelto a casa? Ahora mi familia está en peligro... En ese momento unos pasos se acercaron a la puerta, lentos pero constantes, un paso tras otro.

Me mantuve firme, con las piernas separadas adoptando una sólida postura de caballo. Mi mano seguía aferrada a la pistola y seguía temblando de miedo. Los pasos se agolpaban y los pomos de la puerta empezaban a sacudirse. La lluvia seguía cayendo con fuerza en el exterior y yo seguía mojado, con frío y temblando. De repente, los pasos se detuvieron y luego la lluvia siguió.
Todo se quedó en silencio, podía oír los latidos de mi corazón cada vez más fuertes y, de repente, la puerta de la cocina se abrió de golpe revelando una nube de niebla que irrumpió en la habitación sumergiéndolo todo y a todos. Podía oír a mi madre y a mis hermanos gritar. Pero no podía verlos porque la niebla se había hecho cada vez más espesa. El grito cesó y la nube cayó revelando el cuerpo de mi madre y mis hermanos cubiertos de sangre y cruelmente decapitados.
No podía creer lo que veían mis ojos, mi dolor creció rápidamente y eclipsó por completo mi miedo, y mi rabia se convirtió en un fuego ardiente. Dejé escapar un grito de rabia hasta que el frío de mi cuerpo se desvaneció por completo dejándome húmedo pero acalorado para la batalla.

Lentamente, me puse en pie con el agua y la sangre goteando de mis manos y mi cuerpo, miré al exterior de la puerta, y allí estaba ella, la bestia, la asesina, la villana de mi historia, y a partir de ese momento mis emociones se apoderaron de mí.
Con la velocidad del rayo, corrí hacia la mujer del carnicero sujetando con fuerza la pistola en mis manos. Salté al exterior a través de la puerta como un búfalo enfurecido que aterriza en un charco de agua provocando un chapoteo. Apunté mi pistola hacia ella y disparé con libertad. Pero algo iba mal, ella no me atacaba, se alejaba cada vez más como un fantasma que va de un punto a otro. Pero no estaba dispuesto a preocuparme, volví a soltar el arma sobre ella disparando a discreción y persiguiéndola a pie pero seguía desapareciendo en el aire y lejos de mi objetivo.

La perseguí con firmeza, como un león a la caza, corriendo hacia lo profundo del bosque con ella a la cabeza. Tropecé y caí, pero me levanté de nuevo con rapidez y facilidad, persiguiendo a mi objetivo sin remordimientos. Hasta que finalmente se desvaneció por completo. Miré a mi alrededor y grité su nombre, pero no hubo respuesta. Una vez más caí de rodillas y comencé a llorar cuando escuché una débil tos. Volví a mirar a mi alrededor pero esta vez me di cuenta de que estaba de nuevo en el lugar donde la vi inicialmente con el cuerpo decapitado. El cadáver seguía vivo. Me acerqué a él y descubrí que sólo se estaba desangrando, estaba muerto, no estaba decapitado, ¿cómo es posible? Estoy muy seguro de haber visto un cuerpo decapitado aquí tirado o es otro de los que ha matado? me pregunté aún confundido.
"¡Ayuda!", El cuerpo dijo con una voz débil y un poco de vida. Me apresuré hacia él y usando la pólvora, pude detener temporalmente su hemorragia. Le pregunté qué le había pasado y me dijo que había sido el fantasma, me dijo que había intentado matarlo pero que había fracasado, que no sabía qué había pasado pero que se había golpeado con su cuchillo de carnicero.

"Eso es lo que le pasa a cualquiera que intente matarme....miedo, lucha o huida", una voz resonó dentro del bosque. Me quedé mirando en la oscuridad, preparado y alerta. Finalmente, apareció justo delante de mí y me lancé inteligentemente a por mi pistola, listo para disparar, antes de darme cuenta de que estaba vacía y de que había utilizado mi reserva como pólvora para coagular la herida del hombre herido.

"Tranquilo, no quiero hacerte daño... Necesitaba tu ayuda para evitar que muriera. No soy tu enemigo". Dijo todavía con un aspecto tan espeluznante y fantasmal.

"Si eso es así, ¿por qué mataste a mi familia? ¡Dime! ...¡¿Por qué mataste a mi madre y a mis hijos?!", pregunté con rabia en mi voz.

"No lo hice, sólo se desmayaron, por miedo y mi nube de niebla te hizo ver lo que querías ver".

"Demuéstralo", grité enfadado con un poco de esperanza de que lo que decía pudiera ser cierto.

"Sólo escucha", dijo ella

De nuevo todo estaba en calma y oí la voz de mi madre llamándome por mi nombre. Inmediatamente di un respiro de alivio y mi cara se iluminó con sonrisas de alegría. Antes de gritarle, le dije que estaba bien.

Me volví hacia el fantasma,
"Entonces, ¿quién eres y qué quieres?", Mi voz se espesa ante la pregunta

"Estoy muerto..y necesito tu ayuda. Pero primero, debe vivir"...

Para continuar...


Join Contest- @hive-132410/writing-club-special-contest-gothic-stories

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency