December Artistry Bazaar: My Henna Portfolio

As I posted about December Artistry Bazaar: My Little Henna & Brush Stall, I decided to dedicate my henna work into this post in this community, where I can share the art of temporary tattoos with you guys. Quick introduction: NomNomNoodle is my (cyber)name and painting henna is one of my favorite hobbies since I discovered it in 2012.

S__4907017.jpg

Being an amateur henna artist as I am, I tried to give myself a chance to go open my little stand in a market from time to time and December is the best time to do so. People tend to wanna get henna before their long weekend that they wanna go travelling and change up a bit. Henna is fun and won't last long until you have to get back to work.


Here are some of...

🌟 My Henna Art 🌟

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_81.jpg

Every time before I draw/paint henna for a customer, I had to hype myself up and draw one on myself first. This is the design I chose for that day. A crescent moon with a rose. I'm quite proud of it and more than ready for my customers.


EF49FE7D-5C75-4FDE-9CC7-3BA48FF946A3.jpg

This is how I worked. A customer would come up to me, ask what henna is, how long it's gonna last. Then we spent at least 15 minutes of picking the designs. We find the comfortable seats together and I start drawing.


55B708D2-C0D2-4FB0-8760-DE9A5B25464A.jpg


🌟 My Henna Works from that Weekend 🌟

Most of the time, it didn't take much time since most of the customer would pick a minimal design for me. Only a few customers would ask for real full-on Henna patterns.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_53.jpg

Like this one, she just wanted to have her shop's logo on her wrist. This is how it turned out. I added colorful stars for her using colored henna.
LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_8.jpg


I had these 3 girls, just walking by my stand so many times. I could see that they were interested, were too shy to step in, so I started to talk to them and show them what I'm doing here.

1014553C-3A30-47F2-AB3B-B9965368463C.jpg

08E907D7-1BAC-410E-9A72-A006BA927B02.jpg


LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_1.jpg

They were instantly interested and asked me to draw them something. Then, they asked me to draw something cartoony, so I let them look up their favorite character and I'd do it for them.


I drew (1) We bare bear, which was a little messy there, (2 - down left) the sanrio character, Kuromi, which I was happy to get to use some other henna colors I brought too, and (3 - down right) a minimal cat.


LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_13.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_18.jpg


Next up, I drew a minimal pattern of a playback menu on one of my customer's wrist. Easy to draw, but not very easy to remind them that they need to be careful not to smear the henna when it's not dry yet.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_56.jpg


One common pattern that I was being asked a lot is something that has to do with stars and and the universe, like this one here. It was a Saturn and a moon connecting together with stars.

7D1EA870-284E-4777-B8E8-E35C3C344B00.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_3.jpg


Lots of times, a customer wasn't sure what pattern they want and I'll just suggest them to start with something really common and go through Pinterest, like this.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_73.jpg

She ended up with small roses and her friend got a Chinese word for "Love".

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_95.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_96.jpg

Next day, the girls were coming back to me, saying that yesterday after they showed off these new cool henna tattoo and their friends were surprised and thought that it was a real tattoo. They wanted more.

Another Sanrio's character. This one I don't know the name, so if anyone knows, please feel free to let me know in the comments.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_33.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_37.jpg

And this is Hello Kitty wearing a penguin suit(?). I'm glad she didn't smear the henna today.


And that's all of that weekend artsy job of mine. If I could get to do more, I'll be back and show you guys. Until then..

Stay joyful and keep enjoying the last weekends of the year, guys

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency