Splinterlands Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge - Wood Nymph

image.png

The Wood Nymph is a very effective card for only 4 mana. It is definitely one of my favorite cards as it has the healing ability and 1 magic attack damage from level 1 itself.

The Rules and My Lineup

Holy Protection and Even Stevens - 30 Mana Cap

image.png

All monsters get divine shield to start with and then we are limited to only even mana cards which suits me just fine. I find that most of the good cards so far have even summoning costs. The strategy would be to use the double healing effect of Kron and the Wood Nymph.

Summoner: Lynn Natura since I have her at level 3
Position 1: Minotaur Warlord for its magic reflect ability
Position 2: Furious Chicken since I have an open slot
Position 3: Kron the Undying for its self-healing and 3 magic attack
Position 4: Goblin Thief to do some sneak melee attack damage
Position 5: Wood Nymph to heal the tank, especially effective if Kron

Was my strategy effective?

Yes, it was pretty effective despite my opponent using the mustang with a void ability. The Minotaur Warlord's reflect coupled with the sneak attack damage of the Goblin Thief and also the Wood Nymph's healing of the tank worked well.

In Round 1, My Minotaur Warlord is killed but the reflect helps to wear out divine shield of my opponent's cards. By the end of Round 2, I was down to 3 cards while my opponent has most of his left except his back one.

Starting in round 3, double healing starts to work as Kron gets back to 11 health from being down to 5 at one point. Goblin Thief picking off the enemy backline.

By the end of Round 4, my opponent and myself are down to 3 cards each although my Kron does look precarious at 4 health to end the round. But by the next round, Kron can no longer be killed thanks to the healing timing between the Wood Nymph and itself. 4-3+6 is the equation.

In Round 6, Goblin Thief kills opponent's Goblin Psychic which means that victory is just a matter of time as my opponent cannot heal his tank anymore. So it is just a matter of slowly killing off my opponent 2 damage per round and finally the mustang has fallen.

You can catch a replay of this battle here

What would I do differently?

The overall strategy worked pretty well. I am not sure if a lower leveled Wood Nymph which is slower, might have allowed my Minotaur Warlord to survive longer by healing it at the end of round 1. Otherwise, the sneak attacks and double heals were key.

Thoughts on the Wood Nymph

I think every early Splinterlands player has used the Wood Nymph and the tank healer cards are really useful especially as you get tank self healers like Kron. The fact that it can do 1 magic damage is a bonus as well for only 4 mana.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency