The future of Block Chain Gaming, will it emerge?

download_12.png
Source

Oh wow blockchain gaming, what a rush and what a wonderful topic selected for today's challenge. It's one I am epically looking forward to and in my opinion still isn't quite there yet noting that Splinterlands is absolutely killing it on Hive a great example of what a block chain game can achieve.

I never got into splinterlands because I wasn't one for card games and I'd probably lose a heck of alot. I did however get involved with dcity.io. it was a wonderful game while it was doing well and still is.

For all those following @trumpman for President, if he had of become president the game wouldn't have gone to shit. But there is still redemption and Gerber isn't going to let his baby go down the drain.

But it does bring to light the issues of block chain gaming and governance as dcity allowed players to select presidents and the bigger their stake the more weight their vote had. This threw the game out massively and we got a few people elected that ruined the game through making the wrong decisions.

20210511_002841.jpg

Now I used to be an epic gamer and my game of choice was Defence of the Ancients (DoTa) which I hadn't played since 2016. That's when my wife fell pregnant with our first child and it became all about dadding. Or preparations for becoming parents. I also used to play Call of Duty, Counter Strike and you'd find me of a night time playing video games.
screenshot_20210622_234411_google_play_store.jpg

But all that went to shit when my little one was born because I didn't have time to sit through 45minutes+ of a game and even be able to concentrate. I had to start looking at other avenues of gaming which led me to Army Men strike. I had an epic team but I totally feel like this game was geared to make you spend more cash.

There was always one unbeatable player in the game who was loaded and had the biggest army, most times always Chinese. You needed to outspend them which was near impossible. I wasted so much cash and kinda wish I found Hive sooner...

screenshot_20210622_234300_gallery.jpg

I then went onto call of duty the phone version and this game absolutely rocks! It is amazing the level of detail and processing power that can be achieved through a hand held device. 15mins is a great match time too. Can play between bubs sleeps or waiting to pick up the little one from wherever she is. I also went onto play Mobile Legends Bam Bam which is pretty much DoTa but the phone version.

Which leads me to the point of my post, blockchain gaming. With all this processing power and ability on our phones I believe the sector is massively under utilitised. Understandably if you went and created a game like the ones above the developers would probably make more money just selling items in game.

But I've always wondered why they havent just included a version that has cryptocurrancy. In game tokenomics that can be used to purchase items, earned in battles, special events etc.

I've previously raised it with friends about the endless possibilities but I'm always met with why? What would be the point? Or that it wouldn't work.

I have to admit I was sceptical until this last quarter where NFTs became a thing. Pointless digital art that one could make and sell anyway as art but they were worth alot more because people with bags were looking for places to store their wealth.

It dropped a massive lifelong to Ethereum too which was experiencing exodus due to fees.

I'm waiting for the day that I get to open the app store and start playing my favourite games and earn crypto then use that cryptocurrancy to purchase in game items, maybe stake in defi or even cash out.

Now if that was to occur on Hive, I'd be over the moon and no doubt so too would Hive itself.

What are your thoughts? Or perhaps there are already games out like this. Let me know in the comments section below.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency