Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge! Lava Spider!

image.png

This week's Splinterlands Share Your Battle Challenge is focusing on the Lava Spider. It is a pretty cool card from the Chaos Legion edition and to me feels like an upgrade of the Fire Beetle card from the Alpha/Beta era. It is quite a useful card because of its Snipe ability as I will demonstrate later

Theme of the Week: Lava Spider

image.png

The rules and my setup

Lost Magic | 34 Mana Cap

image.png

Summoner:
Position 1: Molten Ash Golem - high health and ability to do range attacks from the front in case my opponent uses Thorns
Position 2: Sand Worm - high sneak damage to the enemy's back
Position 3: Forgotten One - Immune ability and high health and attack
Position 4: Lava Spider - Snipe ability to bypass the opponent's tank
Position 5: Scavo Chemist - cleanse my front monster
Position 6: Halving Alchemist - reduce my opponent's front attack by half

Did my strategy work?

The battle didn't go at all as planned but I won in the end. Expected my opponent to either use Thorns or a lot of range attacks since there were no magic monsters allowed. Instead, he padded his front with high health, no attack monsters and tried to attack from the back.

By the second round, I had lost my 2 back monsters while my opponent had only lost his back Water Elemental. Wasn't looking good for me. Lava Spider helping to reduce the health of the Gelatinous Cube with its Sniping and preventing from getting too high.

But in Round 4, the tide changes. The high health and shield of The Forgotten One helps to absorb the hits from my opponent's Sand Worm, while allowing my own Sand Worm to pick his back line off. In Round 5, my Sand Worm killed his Sand Worm off, leaving him with two cards that have no attack. A sitting Duck and just a matter of time before I finished him off.

Would I Do Anything Differently?

I think the Scavo Chemist and Halfing Alchemist were a waste. My opponent didn't use monsters with attack in the front and did not have put any negative effects on my monsters.

Using cards with the Shield ability would have been better use of 4 mana or maybe shift things around a bit and get a 5 mana Onyx Sentinel.

My Thoughts On The Lava Spider

The Lava Spider's snipe ability is really useful when the opponent has a tank out in front and then gets his creatures from the back to do the damage. With Snipe, you can often pick out these high attack, low health creatures before they do too much damage.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency