West

Standard image (3).png

The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled.

- Plutarch -



I can often be found sitting on the beach, a bench or the grass gazing to the west with mixed feelings as the sun dips away over the horizon to light someone else's day. I say, mixed feelings, because it's in moments like this I like to think things through, seek answers to life's challenges and problems or find clarity within myself.

I remember the evening on which I took this photo; it was warm and quite still with moisture heavy in the air as a summer storm receded. I sat on the beach for a couple hours, long after the warmth the sun had left the sand had dissipated and listened to the ocean lap gently at the shore. I had gone there to ponder a question that had troubled me; the view made it easy to do.

I was struck by the sunset which left me with a strange vibe. The darkness of the clouds against the brightness of the setting sun struck a chord; it seemed nature reflected the indecision I felt inside. I found my answer that night though, came to a decision and acted soon after; that was last summer and I'm pleased with the decision I made.


I chose the Plutarch quote for this post as it seemed to fit. I've had many internal fires spark from the tiniest of embers whilst sitting on a beach looking west at sunsets like this. The beauty I find in nature sparks many thoughts, feelings and emotions and it's those that catch fire in my mind and cause me to act as I need. I feel passion when I look at scene's like this and it's that passion which drives the other elements of me and helps create a better a better life.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency