The Agile Zappity - A Holozing Creature Pen Art

The level of creativity on the Hive blockchain is at another level. It is surprising how much the Holozing community has grown and evolved in the last two weeks of my inactive engagements. I had to create sufficient time for family issues plus emotional healing. I am happy to be back to a place of creativity and inspiration.

After reading the post on alpha starter creature evolution. Among the new creatures, Zappity was my favourite. The creature is described as being quick and higher agility than most other starters. This means that when it hits you there's a higher chance you're down for the count. He's an all-round damage machine with many attacks coming at you with an electric-type charge that'll shock other creatures. One can easily picture that with its large fist ready for boxing despite its smallish look.


source

I decided to get my hands busy with creating pen art for the agile Zappity. I used two pen colors - black and red for the art, both to substitute for the colours of the creature. Let us get in to see how the drawing and rendering went.

1. Griding

In doing pen art, it is important to always create grids to guide the drawing and to reduce errors. Besides, the grids help in getting the details of the art more precisely. The grids were made freehand since it's a sketch altogether.

In forming my grids, I take cognizance of the edges of the art and ley details like the head, eye position, feet, and upper limbs. In the case of Zappity, I also considered the ears as I would call them.

2. Head Sketch

I started out with the facial details. The eye, forehead, nose and mouth. These are crucial features of the creature. Missing out on these details would lead to another creature. Thanks to my grid lines.

Adding the Ears and COmpleting the Head

I completed the head of Zappity by adding the two ears and then the lower part of the jaws. I extended the head design to the neck as shown below.

Framing the body

After the head and neck, it was easier to add the body and lower limbs of Zappity. It was pretty easy but what was formed did not look like Zappity yet.

The Agile Fists

After adding both legs, I discovered that what makes Zappity unique is its upper limbs and fists. In fact, it covered the major part of the body. Those close fists when added brought out the beauty of Zappity as we see below.

Cleaning the grid lines

I took time to erase the guiding grids to give my drawing a clean shot.

First Colour Rendering

I started with the black coloured pen to give a shot of the legs.

Second Colour Rendering

I now moved to render the parts that needed the red coloured pen in place of the orange true colour.

Behold the Agile Zappity!

Please rate my pen art. I'll be glad to learn from your reviews. I hope soon, I will join the league of digital artists to give my art piece a more clean look.

Thank you Holozing for creating this opportunity to engage art.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency