Raccoon in the Woods - Pen Art of Holozing Creature

It's another to have my sleeves up and create the beautiful Grass Raccoon creature for the holozing game. It'll still be a pencil and pen sketch

The Holozing creature background contest opened my eyes to the extent to which art can be explored depending on the perspective of the creator. The beautiful entries in the contest showed how many hivers can create something special as a background for the starter creatures of the holozing game. I didn't participate in the contest but I learnt much.

Today, I decided to do a pen art of the Grass Raccoon and sketch a woody background into it. I'm sorry that I am still using just pencil and open for my art entries. I will be buying some colours by next week to better my rendering efforts.

Character Description

Grass Raccoon was designed as an earth-themed NFT creature of the holozing game. We are yet to know how it will function in the game. In today's sketch , I decided to place it in the leafy woods.

My admiration for this creature is its linkage to nature's colour - green. My next art piece on this character will be very realistic.

Preparations

I had my plain paper, a pencil (a wounded one, lol), an eraser, and a blue pen. I had my reference image too to guide my work.

Step 1: Starting with facial details

A friend just taught me how to start up a drawing this way yesterday and I think it makes some sense. I started drafting Grass Raccon from its facial details like the nose and then eyes and then ears and other parts of the creature's head.

Step 2: Body Outline and Sketch

Using the reference image on which I created grids, first made a replica grid outline of the whole shape of the creature on my plain paper to help give a touch edge sketch of the character added to the already crafted facial details. I focused on the image edges and cleaned off the outlines to have my clean pencil-drawn character.

Adding Background

I started adding strands of tree trunks and leaves on the background of the focused image to depict the woods. I built on it as it appeased my sight and added some ground shrub representations.

Pen Outline

using my blue pen, I traced out the edges and outline of the character. Soon, I will be able to make direct pen sketches - I believe!

Shadings

This was the final phase of the art as I shaded some parts of the creature, distinguishing using strokes and dots. I think I got the Grass Raccon well drawn out. Looks good I guess?

Please Rate my Sketch

Placing the drawn and rendered images side by side with the reference, please rate my attempt. I'll be glad to learn from your reviews. I hope soon, I will join the League of Digital Artists to give my art piece a cleaner look.

The holozing game is getting more interesting by the day, I can't wait to have a feel of the game soon.

Here's a link to X(Twitter) where I shared the post. You can engage it there too:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency