Flowers Pots Made of Recycled Plastic Bottles

Flower pots that are sold in some stores nowadays cost a lot. As someone who wants to plant flowers in pots yet there's no budget for it, we need to think of some ways on how we can plant flowers without spending too much money.

If we noticed around, there are so many plastic bottles thrown everywhere. They differ in size but they can be used again by recycling. I learn to do it when my kid's principal let us pass recycled flower pots using those plastic bottles like the mini coca cola, royal, sprite, mountain dew, nature's spring, and other plastic bottles available. When it comes to my kids, I used the small bottles of coke, royal, and sprite ( it is called "mismo" here in the Philippines.

What are the things needed for this flower pot creation?

  1. Plastic bottles
  2. Tie wire
  3. Soldering Iron
  4. Pliers
  5. Paint

These five are the main things needed for this flower pot.

For plastic bottles, I used 12 pieces in every flower pot because if I used 10, the width on top is just so small while if I used 14, it's wide so I used 12 only. For me, that size is perfect for a flower pot that I want.

The tie wire, Pliers, and soldering iron are used together. The soldering iron is used to make holes on every end of the plastic bottles while the tie wire is inserted into the holes made to connect all the plastic bottles and the pliers, it's used to tie both ends of the tie wire. Tie wires or "alambre in our dialect" are really hard to tie especially when using hands alone so with the help of the pliers, it's tied strongly.

The paint, it's used to beautify the flower pot. I only used the Lotus paint which cost 28 pesos here. I don't know how much it costs in other area as of today. I choose this paint because it was cheaper than those other brands sold.

Here is one the examples of the finished recycled plastic bottles that I had made:


Coke plastic bottles

I colored blue all the plastic bottles and just made a flower at the bottom part of each bottle. You might ask how can we put the soil in it. For the soil to be put in that flower pot, I put nets with small holes at the bottom part, and after I added the soil.

Sprite plastic bottles

Royal plastic bottles

Every plastic bottle has its shape and design. For sprite plastic bottles, since there are lots of circles on their bodies so I colored those yellow to add designs to them. For Royal plastic bottles, there's a part where I colored yellow since I find it cute to put color in that certain part. For coke plastic bottles, since those are just plain ones, I just colored blue and put flowers on the bottom part of it so it would still have its design.

Have you noticed these three different flower pots? Since I ran out of plastic bottles of soft drinks so I made use of the empty containers of oils. For me, it seems like a drinking glass. Lol. These three are used on those flowers that don't grow big or tall. I put some holes in every side of it so that when the plants are watered, there's a part where the water can pass through.

There are still more plastic bottles that I had made before but I hadn't taken pictures of them all, only these few ones. I even made those as a pot for my chilies because the backyard will be flooded when it rains hard so it's better to put the plants on a pot so we could just transfer it every time we want to.

Soon if I am not busy anymore, I will make another flower pots again because I'm planning to plant some vegetables and flowers on it.

That's all for today's blog!
Happy Sunday everyone

img_0.731404888645634

You can also find me here: || noise.cash || read.cash || Blurt||

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency