Monumental Integrity Issues

Selfless Sundays

So I've got this little idea going where I try to do something selfless and local once a week. It doesn't always work out but that's alright, because...

A goal is not always meant to be reached,
it often serves simply as something to aim at.

- Joseph Joubert; Bruce Lee

I was taking a walk around town recently when I discovered this stone monument:

Monument

It greets visitors at the entrance to the local sporting facility. Although, as you can see, there's some integrity issues. The plaque's fallen off...

Monument front view

Plaque back

Apart from that it seems in good condition, for a cut stone...

Plaque front

Commemorating
Centenary of Federation
And
125 Years of Spalding Township
October 14th 2001

A cut stone with 21-year-old plaque, at time of writing!

What material is the plaque made of? I'm wondering. Brass maybe?

Well anyway, should be easy enough to fix

Plaque holes

Just need to clean up the holes, throw some heavy-duty adhesive on those plaque bolts, stick her back together and voila!

Good as new...

Zen

And this is where I need your advice!

O' wiser Hivers
Experienced in DIY
Dispense forth your wisdom
What adhesive, shall I?

I have three options for sticking this problem back together, and I'd like to know which will work best. Durability is front of mind; what will last the longest? It's outdoors, exposed to the elements. Daily thermal expansion and contraction is a factor. The materials to join are stone — likely slate, and a metal — possibly brass. And my options are these:

Silicone Sealant, 2-Part Epoxy, Construction Adhesive

On the left in the white tube we have a standard silicone sealant. A pH neutral siloxane polymer designed for sealing wet areas in kitchens, bathrooms, showers, etc

In the middle, in the dual-chamber syringe we have a standard 2-part epoxy. A bit harder to work with in this case as the resin and hardener need thorough mixing right before use, but a solid contender nonetheless

And of course, on the right in the green and gold we have a standard construction adhesive, commonly sold under the brand name Liquid Nails. I believe this stuff is composed of a synthetic rubber.

So, what do you think?

Which is the best option for gluing a plaque and a rock back together? What will last the longest in the heat, the cold, the rain and everything else nature throws its way?

Your opinions, your knowledge, your thoughts are what I'm after. I need your help! Let me know what you reckon in the comments below, so I can get this monument back standing proud, for another 21 years!

And in the meantime, look after yourself!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency