Orange Dragon Sculpture [ENG/SPA]

0.jpg


English

Greetings to all, fellow creatives. It's been a while since I last made a sculpture for Hive.

A couple of days ago I got up the courage to do something and sat down to see what materials I had at my disposal. I didn't have much plasticine of the colors I usually use and just a little bit of black and white, essential colors for modeling. Even so, I realized that I had plenty of these three colors: purple, green and orange.

Español

Saludos a todos, compañeros creativos. Ha pasado ya bastante tiempo desde la últimas vez que hice una escultura para Hive.

Hace un par de días me animé a hacer algo y me senté a ver qué materiales tenía a mi dispoción. No tenía demasiada plastilina de los colroes que uso habitualmente y apenas un poco de negro y blanco, colores escensiales para modelar. Aún así, me di cuenta que tenía bastante de estos tres colores: morado, verde y naranja.


1.jpg


I saw those three colors and it occurred to me that I could make 3 different colored dragons, each with its own design. With this in mind I took the orange plasticine and started the first of these three projects.

To start I assembled the wire skeleton of the figure, fixed on a piece of polystyrene, which I molded using heat, to give it that "mountain" shape. Below you can see three pictures of how I progressed in the creation of the skeleton:

Vi esos tres colores y se me ocurrió que podría hacer 3 dragones de distintos colores, cada uno con un diseño propio. Con esto en mente tomé la plastilina naranja y comencé el primero de estos tres proyectos.

Para comenzar armé el esqueleto de alambre de la figura, fijado sobre un trozo de poliestireno, el cual moldeé usando calor, para darle esa forma de "montaña". A continuación pueden ver tres fotografías de cómo avancé en la creación del esqueleto:


2a.jpg2b.jpg2c.jpg

Once I made the skeleton and had a clear idea of how I wanted to make the dragon, I began to cover the structure with orange plasticine, molding and smoothing the surface as I covered it with more material.

Una vez que hice el esqueleto y tuve una idea clara de cómo quería hacer al dragón, comencé a cubrir la estructura con plastilina naranja, moldeando y alisando la superficie mientras cubría con más material.


3.jpg


Once I made the lower torso and tail of the dragon, I added plasticine over what would be the chest and shoulder area.

Una vez que hice la parte baja del torso y la cola del dragón, agregué plastilina sobre lo que sería el pecho y el área de los hombros.


4.jpg


At this point it is just placing plasticine over the wire frame, so I continued placing orange plasticine over the neck area, as seen in the following image:

En este punto solo es colocar plastilina sobre el armazón de alambre, así que continué colocando plastilina naranja sobre el área del cuello, como se observa en la siguiente imagen:


5.jpg


Then I covered the wing area with more plasticine and molded them, making thin wings but according to the torso of the dragon.

Luego cubrí con más plastilina el área de las alas y las moldeé, haciendo unas alas delgadas pero acordes al torso del dragón.


6.jpg


The legs, on the other hand, I did make them much thicker than the arms, as is usually done to this type of dragons that are heavier in the lower part of the body.

Las piernas, por el contrario, sí las hice mucho más gruesas que los brazos, como habitualmente se hace a este tipo de dragones que son más pesados en la parte baja del cuerpo.


7.jpg


At the ends of the wing frame, I glued three wooden sticks for the other parts of the wings, then covered them with more orange plasticine.

En los extremos del armazón de las alas, pegué con cilicón tres palillos de madera para las otras partes de las alas, luego las cubrí con más plastilina naranja.


8.jpg


After molding everything and smoothing the orange surface, this is what the dragon looked like up to this point. It was taking shape.

Después de moldear todo y alisar la superficie naranja, así quedó el dragón hasta este punto. Iba tomando forma.


9.jpg


I noticed that the dragon was leaning too far forward so I readjusted the bracket, then the hard part began, the details.

I began to shape the muscular forms in the torso, arms and legs.

Me di cuenta que el dragón se estaba inclinando mucho hacia adelante así que reajusté el soporte, después comenzó lo difícil, los detalles.

Comencé a moldear las formas musculares en torso, brazos y piernas.


10.jpg


I also did the pectorals and ribs, as well as a fin on the back where I planned to place some spines.

También le hice los pechos y las costillas, además de una aleta en la espalda en donde planeaba colocar unas espinas.


11.jpg


If there is something that characterizes a dragon, it is its scales, something that would not be easy to replicate in this material; even so, I managed with a knitting needle and began to make each scale, pressing on the plasticine following the same line. This required a lot of patience, emphasis on a lot.

Si hay algo que caracteriza a un dragón, son sus escamas, algo que no sería fácil de replicar en este material; aún así, me las ingenié con una aguja de tejer y comencé a hacer cada escama, haciendo presión sobre la plastilina siguiendo una misma línea. Para esto se requirió mucha paciencia, énfasis en mucha.


12.jpg


Below you can see some pictures of how the work progressed with the scales along the body of the dragon:

A continuación pueden ver unas fotografías de cómo avanzaba el trabajo con las escamas a lo largo del cuerpo del dragón:


13a.jpg13b.jpg

Once the scales and other details on the neck were done, I made the head of the dragon. Below you can see the original shape of the head and in the large image how it looked on the dragon's neck:

Una vez hecha las escamas y otros detalles en el cuello, hice la cabeza del dragón. A continuación pueden ver la forma original que ´tenía la cabeza y en la imagen grande cómo quedó sobre el cuello del dragón:


14.jpg


Earlier I mentioned that I would put some spines on the dragon, well, for this I made several holes along the back flap, on the shoulders, on the wings and on the knees; then, I cut small lines of plasticine, made tiny cones and placed them one by one in each hole.

Anteriormente les mencioné que le colocaría unas espinas al dragón, pues bien, para esto hice varios agujeros a lo largo de la aleta de la espalda, en los hombros, en las alas y en las rodillas; luego, corté pequeñas líneas de plastilina, hice conos diminutos y los coloqué uno por uno en cada agujero.


15a.jpg15b.jpg

This is how the dragon was looking up to this point:

Así iba quedando el dragón hasta este punto:


16.jpg


Well, for the wings I flattened a long strip of yellow play dough, stretched it until it reached the wing frame and simply pulled the play dough off the bottom edges to create that uneven effect that dragon wings have.

Below you can see how the process of molding the wings progressed, all made with plasticine.

Bien, para las alas aplasté una larga tira de plastilina amarilla, la estiré hasta que alcanzó toro el armazón de las alas y simplemene arranqué plastilina de los bordes inferiores para crear ese efecto desigual que tienen las alas de dragones.

A continuación pueden ver cómo avanzó el proceso de moldeado de las alas, todo hecho con plastilina.


17.jpg


In this way I finished the dragon, I even placed two tiny brown eyes in the sockets of the dragon's skull, as seen in the image below:

De esta manera terminé con el dragón, incluso le coloqué dos ojos diminutos de color marrón en las cuencas del cráneo del dragón, tal como se observa en la imagen a continuación:


18.jpg


Once the base shape with plasticine was ready, the coloring process began.

I took the black and orange paint to darken a little the figure and give more emphasis on the effect of the scales. I also painted the yellow of the wings to give it a dirty effect.

Una vez lista la forma base con plastilina, comenzó el proceso de coloreado.

Tomé la pintura negra y naranja para oscurecer un poco la figura y dar más énfasis en el esfecto de las escamas. También pinté el amarillo de las alas para darle un efecto de suciedad.


19.jpg


I painted the polystyrene base brown as a base, then covered the top with green and with black and white I created a rock-like effect with grass. Below you can see a before and after:

La base de poliestireno la pinté de color marrón como base, luego cubrí la parte de arriba con verde y con negro y blanco creé un efecto parecido al de roca con pasto. A continuación pueden ver un antes y un después:


20a.jpg20b.jpg

As soon as the base was dry, the dragon was completely finished. Below is a series of photographs taken from different angles. Enjoy them:

Tan pronto se secó la base, el dragón quedó terminado por completo. A continuación les dejo una serie de fotografías tomadas desde distintos ángulos. Que las disfruten:


21a.jpg

21b.jpg

21c.jpg

21d.jpg

21e.jpg

21f.jpg

21g.jpg

21h.jpg


Well friends, what did you think? Personally I really enjoyed taking up my figures with this cool orange dragon sculpture. Soon I will share with you the purple dragon and the green dragon.

I invite you to leave your opinions below in the comments, as always I will be happy to read them. With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!

Bien amigos, ¿qué les pareció? En lo personal me gustó mucho retomar mis figuras con esta genial escultura de un dragón naranja. Pronto compartiré con ustedes el dragón morado y el dragón verde.

Los invito a dejar sus opiniones abajo en los comentarios, como siempre estaré encantado de leerlos. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




Traducido con DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Gabo cuenta 3 historias
WE93: When I grow up I want to...
Visiting the Veterinarian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency