DIY: Traditional Food / Comida Tradicional

DIY Hallacas (1).jpg

Greetings friends, welcome to this new season, to this new year on my blog, a year that I hope will be full of good things, health, love and prosperity.

I wanted my first post of the year to be about crafts and although it is not 100% about this topic, it does have to do with the traditional dishes that are usually made at the end of the year in my country.

For example, this year at grandma's house we made hallacas, a traditional Venezuelan dish that is usually made at the end of the year. It is a flour dough, stuffed with stew, raisins, olives, capers and other vegetables, all wrapped in banana leaves. It is a very tasty traditional dish. Here are some pictures of the hallacas made at grandma's house.

Español

Saludos amigos, bienvenidos a esta nueva temporada, a este nuevo año en mi blog, un año que espero este lleno de buenas cosas, de salud, amor y prosperidad.

Quería que mi primer post del año fuese de de manualidades y aunque no es 100% de este tema, sí tiene que ver con los platos tradicionales que se suelen hacer a fin de año en mi país.

Por ejemplo, este año en casa de la abuela se hicieron hallacas, un plato tradicional venezolano que se acostumbra hacer en fin de año. Es una masa de harina, rellena con guiso, pasas, aceitunas, alcaparras y otros vegetales, envuelto todo en unas hojas de plátanos. Es un plato tradicional muy rico. A continuación unas cuantas fotografías de las hallacas que hicieron en casa de la abuela.

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg
4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg
7.jpg8.jpg9.jpg
10.jpg11.jpg12.jpg

Well, besides the hallacas that I made in the family, what I really wanted to share with the community, were some traditional dishes from my country but made with plasticine. It is not a really detailed tutorial, but I show you how I made these little traditional dishes in plasticine.

Bien, además de las hallacas que hice en la familia, lo que realmente quería compartir con la comunidad, fueron unos platos tradicionales de mi país pero hechos con plastilina. No es un tutorial realmente detallado, pero sí les muestro cómo hice estos pequeños platos tradicionales en plastilina.

23.jpg

27.jpg

Step by step

The materials I used were the following:

*Plastiline
*Cardboard
*Glue

The cardboard would be the base of the plate, a small rectangle of cardboard that would serve to place each of the preparations of these traditional dishes.

Paso a paso

Los materiales que utilicé fueron los siguientes:

  • Plastilina
  • Cartulina
  • Pegamento

La cartulina sería la base del plato, un pequeño rectángulo de cartón que sirviese para colocar cada una de las preparaciones de estos platos tradicionales.

13.jpg

Well, my idea was to make two, one of a dish with several preparations and another one with the hallacas only.

To begin with, I made the one with the hallacas. The first thing I created was the banana leaf, for this I placed a couple of rectangles of plasticine on one side of the cardboard and with the help of one of my molding tools I made several vertical lines, as you can see in the image.

Pues bien, mi idea era hacer dos, uno de un plato con varias preparaciones y otro con las hallacas solamente.

Para empezar hice el de las hallacas. Lo primero que creé fue la hoja de plátano, para esto coloqué un par de rectángulos de plastilina a un lado de la cartulina y con ayuda de una de mis herramientas de moldeado le hice varias líneas verticales, tal como pueden ver en la imagen.

14.jpg

After this I made a thin tortilla of yellow plasticine, mixed with a little orange and brown, to try to get the right color for the hallaca dough.

Después de esto hice una tortilla delgada de plastilina color amarillo, mezclado con un poco de naranja y marrón, para tratar de dar con el color correcto de la masa de hallaca.

15.jpg

Then I made some lines around the dough and began to place the ingredients.

I used brown to simulate the stew, orange for the carrot, white for the onion, black for the raisins, green for the olive, light yellow for the potato and red for some paprika sticks. Everything together looks like this:

Luego le hice algunas líneas alrededor de la masa y comencé a colocar los ingredientes.

Usé el marrón para simular el guiso, el naranja para la zanahoria, blanco para la cebolla, negro para las pasas, verde para aceituna, amarillo claro para la papa y rojo para unos bastoncitos de pimentón. Todo junto se ve de la siguiente manera:

16.jpg

On the other hand, I also made a hallaca already made, that is, cooked, but still on the sheet. For this I did the same process as before, I placed some rectangles of green plasticine on the empty side of the cardboard and made horizontal lines this time. Then I placed another thick rectangle of yellow plasticine, the same I used for the tortilla of the previous hallaca, then I made some lines on top of it.

Por otra parte, hice también una hallaca ya hecha, es decir cocinada, pero aún en la hoja. Para esto hice el mismo proceso de antes, coloqué unos rectángulos de plastilina verde en el lado vacío de la cartulina e hice líneas esta vez horizontales. Luego coloqué otro rectángulo grueso de plastilina amarilla, el mismo que usé para la tortilla de la hallaca anterior, luego le hice unas líneas encima.

17.jpg

The last one was a bit simpler, a tied hallaca. Hallacas, as I said, are wrapped in banana leaves and tied with threads, so to make a tied hallaca I simply molded a rectangle of green plasticine, made grooves for the threads and then delicately molded several lines of white plasticine, which I put in place.

Lo último fue un poco más sencillo, una hallaca amarrada. Las hallacas, como dije, están envueltas en hojas de plátano y amarradas con hilos, así que para hacer una hallaca amarada simplemente moldeé un rectángulo de plastilina verde, le hice surcos para los hilos y luego moldeé delicadamente varias líneas de plastilina blanca, los cuales coloqué en su lugar.

18.jpg

This is how the first dish was finished. The second, on the other hand, is the traditional dish that people eat here in December, composed of chicken salad, ham bread, hallaca and some piece of meat such as pernil, asado negro or, as I said, some cut of meat, although the latter is optional, but what is never missing is the hallaca, the ham bread and the salad.

To begin with, I made the salad. For this I cut small squares of orange and light yellow plasticine. I put all the squares together.

Así quedó terminado el primer plato. El segundo, por otra parte, es el plato tradicional que las personas comen aquí en diciembre, compuesto por ensalada de gallina, pan de jamón, hallaca y algún trozo de carne como pernil, asado negro o, como dije, algún corte de carne, aunque este último es opcional, pero lo que nunca falta es la hallaca, el pan de jamón y la ensalada.

Para empezar hice la ensalada. Para esto corté pequeños cuadritos de plastilina color naranja y color amarillo claro. Todos los cuadritos los junté.

19.jpg

Then I put the hallaca, this time filled with the ingredients. How did I fill it? Well, I made the rectangle, cut it in half, made the hole for the filling and placed the different things in different colors.

Luego le coloqué la hallaca, esta vez rellena con los ingredientes. ¿Cómo la rellené? Pues hice el rectángulo, lo corté a la mitad, hice el orificio para el relleno y allí coloqué las distintas cosas de diferentes colores.

20.jpg

Finally, for the ham bread I made a long strip of plasticine where I placed several sheets of fuchsia and pink plasticine to simulate ham, plus some black and green spheres to simulate raisins and olives.

Por último, para el pan de jamón hice una larga tira de plastilina en donde coloqué varias láminas de plastilina de color fucsia y rosado para simular jamón, además de algunas esferas negras y verdes para simular pasas y aceituna.

21.jpg

All this thin sheet I rolled it on itself and this ham bread was ready. I made some holes in the top and a little glue on the top to give it a little shine.

Toda esta lámina delgada la enrollé sobre sí mismo y quedó este pan de jamón listo. Hice algunos agujeritos en la parte superior y un poco de pegamento en la parte superior para darle un poco de brillo.

22.jpg

This is how this dish was finished, to which I added a piece of meat, also made of plasticine, to crown this preparation.

Here are a series of photographs of the final result:

Así quedó terminado este plato, al cual le coloqué un trozo de carne, también hecho de plastilina, para coronar esta preparación.

A continuación una serie de fotografías del resultado final:

24.jpg

25.jpg

26.jpg

Well friends, this has been all for now. I hope you liked my publication. I cordially invite you to leave your opinions below in the comments, as always I will be happy to read them.

I appreciate that you took the time to read my post, without more to add, I will say goodbye then...

See you next time!

Bien amigos, esto ha sido todo por ahora. Espero que mi publicación haya sido de su agrado. Los invito cordialmente a dejar sus opiniones abajo en los comentarios, como siempre estaré encantado de leerlos.

Agradezco que se tomaran el tiempo de leer mi post, sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!


Separador.png

7.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency