This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

5 QUESTIONS FOR JANELLE CHANG | HIVE PUNKS BACK STORY


chanelle_chang_builder.png



Cheerful, intelligent, open-minded, strong, compassionate, caring, creative, and spontaneous

Janelle knows all about that life can ever turn out to be strange! When people ask her what's the weirdest thing she's ever done, she'll laugh and tell you it's better to ask what she's ever done 'by the book'.

First, her profession is already not so commonplace for a woman. There aren't that many women who can call themselves certified builders. And certainly not so many women who also manage a team of men! Janelle does it, every working day she tells 'her men' what the planning of the day is. Yes, Janelle stands her ground. But that has been different in the past.

If you get to know her now, you wouldn't say it, but this Hive Punk hasn't had the easiest life. She was bullied a lot as a child, which of course left traces. And although she has learned to deal with this well, it has not always been easy.

There was a time when Janelle really didn't like life anymore, and that she would have preferred to end it herself. It is thanks to her Punk family, especially her sisters, that we can get to know Janelle. And we better be very grateful to her sisters for that, because Janelle is more than worth getting to know better.

Cheerful, intelligent, open-minded, strong, compassionate, caring, creative, and spontaneous are just some of her character traits that immediately stand out when we speak to Janelle during our interview.

Are you comfortable? There we go!

hive_punks_page_divider.png


Q.) What is your favorite childhood memory?

A.) Phew, I'll have to think about that for a while. I don't have many favorite childhood memories. But what I always fondly remember are the moments when I went to visit my grandfather and grandmother with all my sisters. We always got homemade broth soup, and ate meatballs and beef with gravy on bread. Grandma always prepared that for us and said that of all the cousins ​​we were the only ones who got it. That was wonderful, and we felt very special because of it. Years later, at her funeral to be exact, we heard Grandma say that to all the other cousins ​​too.

We always went with Grandpa to take care of the animals at the zoo where he was a volunteer. Those are favorite childhood memories to remember, yes.


hive_punks_page_divider.png


Q.) From your favorite childhood memory right away, but to the next question. What is your worst childhood memory?

A.) I don't have to think about that. Being bullied at school! Terrible! That has such an enormous impact on you that you carry it with you for the rest of your life. In your school days you are in fact already on a journey of discovery into who you are, what you want, what you can do and where your interests lie. But if this journey of discovery is disrupted by outside influences (being bullied), then your self-image is completely wrong. For a long time I thought I couldn't do anything, that I was a failure. And that ensured that I only discovered much later who I was, what I liked, where my interests lay and that I could do much more than what I thought.

Fortunately, this period is long behind me!


hive_punks_page_divider.png


Q.) What's the smartest choice you've ever made?

A.) Oh dear, there are a few I can choose from. But I think I still end up with the choice I made 10 years ago. I had just been fired by the mistress of the clothing store where I worked as a fashion salesperson. She thought I was out of place, and called me a “clumsy trien”. On my way home I passed a large construction site and there I saw a note hanging on the fence that they were looking for staff. Because I had just been called a "clumsy trien" I decided that maybe I should give my life a completely different direction. Well, not to make a long story longer than necessary. The contractor's jaw dropped in surprise when I informed him that I was interested in his vacancy. He'd never talked to a woman before who even thought about getting her hands dirty with the dusty work on the construction site. But when I told him that I wouldn't mind pouring a cement floor, and that I could also build a window frame, he found it a challenge to offer me the right retraining in practice. And to this day I still enjoy working for the same boss every day. And I've been promoted so much that I now lead a whole team of men. Together we make the most beautiful things and there are few things as satisfying as, for example, when you have restored a church to its original state, or when you are ready to deliver the newly built house and see people get emotional when they come for walking around in their new home for the first time.


hive_punks_page_divider.png


Q.) What is most important in your life?

A.) There are many things important to me. But a very important part of my life is my family. The bond we have with each other is very strong and I also know that they will always be there for me if needed. Just like I will for them. Unconditionally! Another important thing is not something you can touch, but independence is also very important to me. I am a woman who likes to take care of herself, and I don't want to depend on others. Of course I like to share things, but I want to be able to take care of myself under all circumstances.


hive_punks_page_divider.png


The last question again, Janelle!

Q.) What's the dumbest thing you've done?

A.) Hahaha. Are you sure you want to hear this? Oh, this is embarrassing. I can clearly tell more extensively about this than about the smartest. But I will describe one of the most stupid moments.

It was with a boyfriend of mine about 10 years ago. He didn't live close by and usually came to see me on the weekends, not that weekend! I thought I wouldn't be him that weekend, and I was ready for that until he texted me that he was in a certain city, and if I felt like coming there. We would have a bite to eat, and then do something fun. That sounded good to my ears. Let's dress up! In my sexiest clothes, I jumped in the car and drove to that city. We had a nice dinner together. And then he suggested we drive to a romantic spot that he knew there. I knew no path or road in that city, but would drive after him.
Now you should know that I don't have that great confidence at night when I have to drive in unfamiliar cities. So I drove pretty close behind him to make sure I wouldn't lose him. Unfortunately, that was a little too close behind him, so when a traffic light suddenly turned red, and he slammed on the brakes, I drove into his car from the back.

I was ashamed to death! There I was in my sexy clothes, wrecked with my 1-week-old car. We dated for half a year after this, but that evening ended a little differently than what had originally been intended. LOL.

Now I can laugh about it, but at that moment? No, absolutely not.

With these few questions, we got a much better picture of Janelle, but secretly a bonus question.

Q.) Janelle, I've been wondering all the time, why the hat? I mean, it doesn't fit the image you would have of a 'builder', right?

A.) Lol no, huh? But that has everything to do with the passion I have for fashion. Because even though I wasn't in the right place in a clothing store to sell, I do have a passion for fashion. A passion for clothing, especially hats and other accessories! That's why these glasses. I can't help it, but I just love it. Call it a "tic" from me.

Janelle checks her phone and then stands up. “It was fun, I hope the Hiveans will enjoy this interview”

We hope so too, Janelle! It was our pleasure to meet you!

And with these words we say goodbye to Janelle! On to the next Hive Punk to get to know!