A little ink drawing for the weekend

This past week I have once again been able to do a little bit of art after work. But instead of using my watercolors I decided to get out my inking tools.

  • 140 lbs watercolor paper so the ink doesn't bleed through
  • HB pencil
  • kneaded eraser
  • Black Carbon ink - my favorite!
  • wooden dip pen handmade by OlievPens and
  • Zebra G nib

IMG_1131.JPG

divider.png

It all started with this pencil sketch. Please excuse the horribly blurry photo, not sure what had gotten into me.

Unfortunately it is too late to retake the photo since I have erased all pencil marks once I had applied the simple outline you can see on the right.

divider.png

With that outline in place I started to apply hatching and a little cross-hatching to give the figure some depth through light and shadows. I also grounded her with the swirls and shadows on the ground.

IMG_1129.JPG

divider.png

Here you have a bit of a close up.

IMG_1130.JPG

divider.png

And this is the finished piece on 7.6 x 10.6" sized paper, I guess I was a bit rough taking off the previous painting and damaged the corner of this one 😟.

In case you have not recognized her yet, which is quite possible, devoid of all colors and such - it is, of course, Splinterlands' Truthspeaker.

It is not a card that I play that often, probably because Light has not been my most favorite splinter. But I love the game. And so I started scrolling through the Splinterlands cards to find a model for my next drawing. I always prefer drawing and painting female characters and I liked her pose, so I picked Truthspeaker.

And that's it for today. Happy Friday and soon-to-be weekend!
(Ocean)Bee


Unless otherwise noted, all photos, dividers, gifs are © Oceanbee|ImagesByCW.

divider.png

IMG_1135.JPG


Today's model, courtesy of © @splinterlands

divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency