🦋 Backyard Swamp Tour 🌴 Clevia, Suriname 🦗

Bored out of my mind and nearly at the end of a 4th back-to-back government imposed weekend lockdown, I decided to tinker with my Canon SX530HS via a backyard swamp tour.

Also, I just recently became aware of the Insects Of The World Community, so I wanted to share some content with what is likely the new go-to place for insect posts on the Hive Blockchain.


🐜 LIFE IS EVERYWHERE 🌾

     The graywater/rainwater runoff canal behind our house teams with insect life, and it is where my wife @Sreypov hones her insect photography skills, although I must admit she is more patient than me, and always gets the better shots because of it.

plant.JPG

     Although not even close to a DSLR, I try to make the most of a camera with limited features, but macrophotography is nearly impossible with thing, so I get as close as I can. Some of the local grasses the sheep graze on caught my interest, so I zoomed in for a closer look, only to realize these simple plants can be quite beautiful close up.

grass.JPG

     The backyard was recently cut down with a trimmer, so a lot of the insect life will be missing for the next week, but I still found some curiousities.

red1.JPG

     The canal is host to many plants that escape the blade of trimmer, and these plants host a lot of dragonflies, especially the above flame-tailed pondhawk, which I caught right as the skies turned gray and rain forced me into the house for a bit.

dragonflies.JPG

     After a break in the rain, the sun came out and conditions were a little better for photography. I immediately stumbled upon this global skimmer, which is the record holder the longest migration distance of any insect. They also are capable of flying higher than any other dragonfly species.

eggs.JPG

     A flash of pink caught my eye, which I assume were some kind of tree frog eggs, because the blade of grass they were stuck to was not a strong one capable of supporting a big frog.

more eggs.JPG

     They broken broomstick handle seemed to be a more popular place to stick eggs than the grass, and this thing was covered in eggs.

banan.JPG

     After that I headed into the banana and plantain patch, where I found lots of wasps and bees busily doing what they do, keeping the world alive and functioning.

moth (2).JPG

     The last cooperative subject I found was a resting Calodesma Collaris, which apparently has no common name. Thanks for entertaining my attempts at insect photography, life is always a work in progress.


🙏 THANKS FOR READING 🙏

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and reblog.

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters

CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US
newfooter.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency