DIY: How I Recycled An Old Jean Into A New Pair Of Shoe

img_1612881287362_1.jpg

What's up Bees?
It's been a very hectic day for me, guess why?
The reason isn't far fetched. I have been trying to put this work together.
I woke up today thinking of another craftwork to make, actually, I was thinking of a DIY piece for the #Build-it community's contest.

I would have easily done one of my paper or carton crafts but a better option came into my mind, making a shoe with old jeans.
It's more like recycling. I made a shoe from my old jean.
It's not really that worn out but the jean color was already fading so I recycled it into a new shoe.

I know I am not really a big fan of needlework and like I said in one of my posts that the reason is because it usually takes me hours, days, weeks and even months to finish up any huge or complex needlework.

But today I decided to do this and like I already suggested, it took me hours to finish it.
You might be wondering how I made this and I am sure you wish to see the steps already or the process. Not to worry! I am here to do just that.
Now let's get started.

Tome Duration

Four hours (4 hrs)

Materials Used

  • Old Jean
  • Sewing needle for shoes and clothes
  • Thread (Thick and Thin)
  • Scissor
  • Shoe sole
  • Razor
  • Pearl
  • Superglue
  • Blue color
  • Chalk

Step and Processes

This is the old jean material I used. I cut it and spread it out.

I measured the sown piece again and divided it into two equal parts.

I took the first piece of jeans and started sewing by attaching it to the shoe sole and sewing it round.

The sewing process continues

Then I finished the two parts and this is what I got after doing that.

And here is the pair of shoes. I finished it and placed it aside.

The next step was the application of the pearls to the shoe.
I applied the super glue to the back of the sparkling pearl stones and then I stocked it to the first part of the jean.

At first, I contemplated on where to place it to make it look good, and I think I got the best place and that is by the side

Did you notice something in this step? Yes, the difference is clear. Yeah, I washed the shoe here.

And this part, I dipped it into blue color solution to give it this deep color you are seeing. It's quite different from when I started right? And it's lovely too I bet hahaha.

Yes, I tried it with this and it did really look great I must say.
You can even attest to it yourself.

And this is the last but not the least step. I dried the shoes and here we have our new pair of shoes.

Then I measured the length and width I wanted using chalk and then I cut it out with a scissor and sowed it up with light sewing thread and needle

I pulled out the sole of the shoe I wanted to use for sewing. And this is the sole I got from another shoe.

After finishing the first part, I continued with the second part just as you have seen in the photo below.

I repeated the same process for the other pair of shoes and I got it all set and ready as well.

A different shot of the previous step. This is much clearer since I captured it from the top.

The topmost view of the shoes without the sole of the shoes being visible. The shoes kinda look smaller here lol.

You can view the two pearls better from this shot. I fixed the two in their rightful positions.

And here is another shot to make things clearer and better lol.

I am certain it looks better now and yes, I got this idea from my mom when I was little. She usually tell us to dip our blue jean dresses into the blue solution to activate the color and make it look better.

Voilá! Lovely new pair of flip-flops.
Can you believe this was recycled from an old jean?
Oh yeah! Now you have no doubts with the evidence up there lol.


.
.
.

And that is all for the recycling and making of new pair of shoes from an old jean.
I bet you would wanna think twice before discarding those old and faded jeans.

Now you can imagine how tiring my day has been lol.
My bones and fingers are aching too lol but I think it was worth my time.
I hope you like this!
I will see you next time with more awesome work.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency